Alkoholizer
Drunk or Dead ...


4.0
excellent

Review

by Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (109 Reviews)
October 9th, 2012 | 47 replies | 1,766 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Better than an ice cold beer.

Everything about Alkoholizer’s debut album Drunk or Dead… screams 80’s thrash, including it’s ridiculously cool cover. This is misleading however, because the album was actually released in 2009. Considered to be a thrash revival band, Alkoholizer are surely one of the most promising new bands in the genre.

I’ve heard Havok and a few other revival thrash metal bands which proved to be decent, but not in the same league as Alkoholizer on the impressive Drunk or Dead.... It has all the elements I’ve come to expect from good old fashioned thrash, but it has more of a bite to it than I was expecting. The vocalist is in prime form and lets out some of the most blood curdling, heart stopping screeches I’ve heard in thrash. At times his voice reminds me of the vocalists of Razor or Exodus, but he also has his own sound entirely. The high pitched screams are timed perfectly and not overdone making them more effective. The music itself is thrash at it’s finest. Heavy riffs, frantic drums, and jaw dropping solos are in every song and there’s hardly a dull moment. As you may have guessed, the lyrics are often about alcohol and are full of humor. With song names like ‘Alkoholic Metal’, it’s obvious the band isn’t meant to be taken seriously. It’s just a damn good time.

Unfortunately the band may never get the attention they deserve since they borrow most of their ideas from the kings of thrash. Nothing is worse than a bad copy cat band, but Alkoholizer are nothing of the sort. The execution is nearly flawless and all the members in the band clearly know what they’re doing. Little is known about the band other than the fact that they formed in Italy in 2006 and Drunk or Dead... is the only album they have released to date. I’m crossing my fingers that they continue to make music, because this is one of the best thrash revival bands I’ve had the pleasure of hearing.



Recent reviews by this author
The Residents EskimoTrvth Approaching
Agalloch The Serpent and the SphereThe Byrds Mr. Tambourine Man
Somos Temple of PlentyFireworks Oh, Common Life
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
ImTheOnlyThugInTheBuildin (4.5)
Thank you, Atari85, for putting me onto this absolute gem of an album...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012


19743 Comments


Super short review. Here's a stream:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E6cOrVLsrn0

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012


50342 Comments


That's partyin

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Masked Dancers

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012


19743 Comments


@Pestiferous, I found it first lol I was gonna review it before skeletor

auberginedreams
October 8th 2012


6033 Comments


lol is this supposed to be like the opposite of a straight edge band or something?

KILL
October 8th 2012


71750 Comments


k stuff but yea tankard did it 30 years ago b00m

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012


19743 Comments


lol i meant i found it before skeletor, made a list and said I was gonna review it and 10 minutes later he posted a review! haha

BlackLlama
October 8th 2012


1666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wow, kill invokes the name of Tankard!

We were shit-faced! relieving stress is so much fun!!!!



Digging: Stigmata - Do Unto Others

BlackLlama
October 8th 2012


1666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCB37xMc7ms

KILL
October 8th 2012


71750 Comments


gettin sick and thrashing rooms amirite

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012


19743 Comments


@Pestiferous, you could always review it too man, 2 reviews is nothing compared to most the bands on this site.

BlackLlama
October 8th 2012


1666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gettin sick and thrashing rooms amirite

Riffs and beers. Fucking metal.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012


19743 Comments


@skeletor, I don't mind man! It was just funny how fast u reviewed it! But u did a good job ;)

south_of_heaven 11
October 8th 2012


5433 Comments


halfway through the stream

it's meh/alright/I'd rather listen to something else.

ViperAces
October 9th 2012


12428 Comments


Grant arent you dead?

ffs
October 9th 2012


4873 Comments


im an alcoholic and i like thrash but this looks pretty gay

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2012


19743 Comments


Grant?

south_of_heaven 11
October 9th 2012


5433 Comments


Grant arent you dead?


nah I'm alive

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2012


19743 Comments


@pestiferous, yeah lol it's fun. Eventually I will run out of super nintendo games though!

Calc
October 9th 2012


12185 Comments


if u put secret of mana up there me love you long time

Digging: Jizue - Shiori

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2012


19743 Comments


@Cald, ive never had the pleasure Of playing that game



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy