KRS-One
Return Of The Boom Bap


5.0
classic

Review

by snoopdogg6969 USER (11 Reviews)
October 8th, 2012 | 120 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Return of the Boom Bap means just that, it means return of the real hard beats and real rap.

This album was overlooked in 1993 because it was compared to the sounds of WU-TANG’s 36 chambers, Tribe Called Quest’s Midnight Mauraders, or even Cypress Hills Black Sunday. Noticeably all groups, probably reflecting fans thirst for more diversity and sociability in rap. Yet, what rap groups gain in sound they usually sacrifice in a cohesive and deep message- as every band is obviously made up of a number of members who have different opinions and tastes. Whereas a solo artist’s message is much more cohesive but can sound too plain after a while.

In Return of the Boom Bap KRS-ONE wasn’t able to match WU-TANG’s sound, but he was able to make an album that was multiple times more meaningful than 36 chambers that still has a good sound on most songs. In this album KRS-ONE alternates from smooth jazz raps to incredibly rough hardcore tracks (see below). Most artists would group these very different sounding tracks at separate parts of the album, but instead KRS alternates, making the album harder to listen to from start to finish but sending a certain message throughout the album that KRS-ONE clearly didn’t want to sacrifice for the sound. This overall message is only really understood at the last song of the album, where the messages of the other tracks are brought together in a concise final track. Somewhat like what Pink Floyd did on Dark Side of the Moon’s last track Eclipse.

The root message is to get back to hip hop’s roots. This might sound unoriginal and uninteresting but that is before you hear KRS-ONE’s history lesson on the hip hop movement throughout this album, hear him prophetically describing all of the world’s major problems almost 20 years ago in 1993, and listen to him coherently lay out a plan for how hip hop can be used to bring justice to the world. The way he does this and makes it entertaining is so impressive it’s beyond words, and is why this album is a classic. This kind of hip hop is probably how kids will be taught in the future; no one in history has been able to match KRS-ONE’s combination of education and entertainment.

THE SMOOTH TRACKS
2. Outta Here
4. Mortal Thought
6. Slap Them Up
8. Mad Crew
11. Return of the Boom Bap
13. Stop Frontin'
14. Higher Level

THE ROUGH TRACKS
3 Black Cop
5. I Can’t Wake Up
7. Sound of Da Police
9. Uh Oh
10. Brown Skin Woman
12. P is Still Free




OVERALL BEST TRACKS (Sound and lyrics):
Mortal Thought
Slap Them Up
Mad Crew
Stop Frontin
Higher Level

EYE OPENING TRACKS:
Sound of Da Police
Uh Oh
Brown Skin Woman
Higher Level



Recent reviews by this author
KRS-One Adventures In EmceeinKanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
Method Man Tical 0: The PrequelEarl Sweatshirt EARL
KRS-One Prophets Vs. ProfitsBoogie Down Productions By All Means Necessary
user ratings (90)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
thecreative0ne (5)
The best KRS-One album....

Francis Jones (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Can't believe KRS-ONE is not getting more reviews on Sputnik... why ignore the best artist in the genre of all time? Study your history whoever don't I pity the fool like MR. T

intotheshit
October 8th 2012


3639 Comments


As bad as your reviews are(including this one), at least you got the rating correct this time.

snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

comin from someone with no reviews thats really meaningful

YoYoMancuso
October 8th 2012


11189 Comments


no reviews is better than 11 unnecessary bad reviews.

snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

they are necessary to people who aren't into "Grunge and Death Metal" and 7% hip hop you clown

Youtellme
October 8th 2012


1351 Comments


I was expecting a bad review when i saw the user name.

Whaddiya no?

It sucks.

MunsuLight
October 8th 2012


567 Comments


"they are necessary to people who aren't into "Grunge and Death Metal" and 7% hip hop you clown"

I just don't really understand why you said that? Do you really need to have "close-minded" taste to be an authority on something?

At least, you got the rating but the format of this review is awful and you don't really describe the music aside from a comment here and here...

YoYoMancuso
October 8th 2012


11189 Comments


they are necessary to people who aren't into "Grunge and Death Metal" and 7% hip hop you clown

this would be a good comeback if it had anything to do with my review comment

intotheshit
October 8th 2012


3639 Comments


I actually have very highly rated reviews on another account.....

Sorry.

YoYoMancuso
October 8th 2012


11189 Comments


intotheshit i forgot who you were, although my mind is saying FrankRedHot

intotheshit
October 8th 2012


3639 Comments


yeah, i'm frankredhot, but check out another account I had

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/profile.php?name=EuphoricDysphoria81

YoYoMancuso
October 8th 2012


11189 Comments


nevermind that can't be it

YoYoMancuso
October 8th 2012


11189 Comments


oh, turns out it was

random
October 8th 2012


2270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"That's the sound of the police!"

snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

any substantial criticism or just butthurt sputnik trolls?

snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"this would be a good comeback if it had anything to do with my review comment"

it does, you are just too stupid to get how


snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

keep in mind i didn't write this review for people who listen to death metal that follow me around on every comment I post and have to vent their anger online at me

snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I just don't really understand why you said that? Do you really need to have "close-minded" taste to
be an authority on something?I just don't really understand why you said that? Do you really need to
have "close-minded" taste to be an authority on something?"

no you just have to not be a frustrated teenager who calls people screaming music.

snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012


419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"ou don't really describe the music aside from a comment here and here" did you read anything but the first paragraph? this is why sputnik sucks, too many idiots who don't know the first thing about rap can still troll and rate reviews even though their comments are completely stupid

intotheshit
October 8th 2012


3639 Comments


"no you just have to not be a frustrated teenager who calls people screaming music. you also have to not be a butthurt sputnik prick."

I think you're confused as to who is butthurt here.....



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy