Jay-Z
American Gangster


4.5
superb

Review

by thecreative0ne USER (50 Reviews)
October 8th, 2012 | 27 replies | 1,212 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the best Jay-Z albums, ever.

1 of 7 thought this review was well written

Before I start the review, I want you all to know that I am 12 years old, no joke. Also, I will be taking any questions you have and I'll answer them. Now for the review.

Critical Responses:
Allmusic: 4/5
The A.V Club: A-
Entertainment Weekly: B+
The Observer: 4/5
Rapreviews: 10/10
Rolling Stone: 4/5
Slant: 4/5
Uncut: 4/5

With this album, Jay-Z was at 11 years into his career, still going strong, and definitely not losing any popularity. With American Gangster, Jay-Z had a gangster persona, that he had never used before, but it would be excellent if he used it some more, than he would make even more classics than he already has made. This album was also inspired by the movie of the same name, which Jay-Z saw an advanced screening of. Now for the track by track review.

1. Intro: Just an intro so I can't rate it.

2. Pray: A classic song. 5/5

3. American Dreamin: A classic song. 5/5

4. Hello Brooklyn 2.0: An excellent song, that features Lil Wayne. The problem with that, is that Lil Wayne is from the south, and not from Brooklyn, still an excellent song though. This song samples the song "B-Boy Bouillabaisse" by The Beastie Boys. 4.5/5

5. No Hook: A classic song. 5/5

6. Roc Boys (And The Winner Is): A classic song. 5/5

7. Sweet: A classic song. 5/5

8. I Know: A classic song, that features Pharrell, who does an exellent job. 5/5

9. Party Life: A classic song. 5/5

10. Ignorant S***: A classic song, that features Beanie Sigel, who does an excellent job. 5/5

11. Say Hello: A classic song. 5/5

12. Success: A classic song, that features Nas, who does an excellent job. 5/5

13. Fallin: A classic song. 5/5

14. Blue Magic: A classic song. 5/5

15. American Gangster: A classic song. 5/5

Overall, I give this album, 4.5/5, 9/10, 95/100, and an "A."

3 Best Songs:
1. Success
2. Ignorant Shit
3. Roc Boys (And the Winner Is)

3 Weakest Songs:
1. Blue Magic
2. No Hook
3. Party Life



Recent reviews by this author
Nas I Am...Boogie Down Productions Sex And Violence
Rakim The Seventh SealKRS-One I Got Next
Kool G Rap and DJ Polo Wanted: Dead Or AliveKool G Rap and DJ Polo Road to the Riches
user ratings (365)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Lewis P. STAFF (3)
Here’s to the man that refused to give up. Here’s to hoping that he actually sounds like it nex...

Cam EMERITUS (4.5)
Hova's back, and he's made one of the best albums of his career....


Comments:Add a Comment 
thecreative0ne
October 8th 2012



78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

BTW: Success samples "I'm Back" by Eminem

intotheshit
October 8th 2012



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I wish your parents would lock you in a cage and throw away the key.

Calc
October 8th 2012



12129 Comments


mega fail of a review....

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

breakingthefragile
October 8th 2012



2955 Comments


Oh man, 2nd review today. You don't spoil us like you used to with 6 reviews a day though. So, I don't really know what to make of you announcing your age in the review. I mean, I can't really say anything, because if you truely are 12, that explains a lot, but you're most likely a troll. I don't want to be too mean if you're really 12, but I don't want to fall into the possible troll-bait at the same time, but either way, I've wasted too much time typing this comment as it is.

Digging: The Blood of Heroes - The Blood Of Heroes

thecreative0ne
October 8th 2012



78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I actually am 12

breakingthefragile
October 8th 2012



2955 Comments


It's the internet. I'd like to trust you, but I can't.

TooLateToGoBack
October 8th 2012



1762 Comments


I'm inclined to believe him.

East Hastings
October 8th 2012



4391 Comments


classic review. 5/5

AutoRock
October 8th 2012



416 Comments


What happend. Why is every third review on this site a friggin joke review?

DutchDevotee
October 8th 2012



37 Comments


What's wrong with thecreative0ne?
Not a 5.0, that must mean this album is pure sh*t.

YoYoMancuso
October 8th 2012



11006 Comments


just stop. that's the only advice i can really give you at this point.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012



15906 Comments


aww

Digging: Nemrud - Journey of the Shaman

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012



19642 Comments


"Before I start the review, I want you all to know that I am 12 years old, no joke."

I lol'd pretty hard.

bloc
October 8th 2012



34761 Comments


American Prankster

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012



19642 Comments


First of all, why would we care what other sites or magazines rated this album? This is YOUR review. Second, it's not even a review. Not sure if you're trolling or not but I think you can come up with a better description for each track than "a classic song"

YoYoMancuso
October 8th 2012



11006 Comments


i see you read his reviews atari.

snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012



419 Comments


Ouch a 12 year old knows hip hop better than most people on sputnik.

YoYoMancuso
October 8th 2012



11006 Comments


ouch we can describe it a lot better than he can.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012



19642 Comments


@yoyomancuso, I had to see if it was really that bad lol but you were right.

snoopdogg6969
October 8th 2012



419 Comments


"With this album, Jay-Z was at 11 years into his career, still going strong, and definitely not losing any popularity. With American Gangster, Jay-Z had a gangster persona, that he had never used before, but it would be excellent if he used it some more, than he would make even more classics than he already has made. This album was also inspired by the movie of the same name, which Jay-Z saw an advanced screening of."

This is by far the best part of the review. Just keep writing like the paragraph above. Dont worry about the butthurt sputnik pricks.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy