Cap'n Jazz
Shmap'n Shmazz


5.0
classic

Review

by Ethics USER (5 Reviews)
October 2nd, 2012 | 28 replies | 1,959 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Kitty Kitty Cat!

Remember the innocent days? Back when your largest problem was finding a way of winning a game of knockout on the old street? When there wasn't social networking potentially eating up everyone's day and instead you and all your friends invested time in your favorite game on the N64? Shmap'n Shmazz - in a way, kind of reminds me of that. Lighthearted, packed with energy, lyrics that (to the sane) don't make the least amount of sense, creative, and actually fun. Not 'high-school prom' kind of fun. The honest to goodness race your friend to the next block, winner gets a dollar kind of fun. Cap'n Jazz had the intelligence in musicianship and still possessed that sense of spirit to create it. Ranging from the ages of nineteen to twenty two years old, a pair of brothers and close friends formed together and created a roller-coaster ride of an album. Almost as if it was their way of still embracing the times of being young and alive then and there and not really worrying about anything that may happen later on.

The album is colorful, alive, honest, and has just this insane sense of charm that can be a little weird at times but always feels right. Some may throw this album aside, claiming it to be immature or lame.. and yeah, it kind of is. But that's what I believe may make it so special for some, because similar to those old days on the street - honest emotions like this that glorify our adolescence may never be captured again.


user ratings (306)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
William Lim (5)
The cacophonous collision of a collective musical prodigy and raw punk spirit....

Hogan CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Those playground kickball games never felt so far away....

Joe Schmoh (4)
Complex it is not, but if you want upbeat punches of emo, than yes, Cap’n Jazz is about as good as...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2012


19743 Comments


Hello my fellow nintendo fan. Good job but pos'd for the N64 reference alone. ;)

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

MeatSalad
October 2nd 2012


14528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Horse? Better listen

Ethics
October 2nd 2012


4112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Equal in my book. And thanks Atari!

PuddlesPuddles
October 2nd 2012


4772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good stufff

I remember playing Goldeneye for hours and duct taping a kitchen knife to the end of a woodenstaff I carved and daring the other kids to step forward and accept their deaths

The 90's

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2012


50345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cat

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Masked Dancers

Adabelle
October 2nd 2012


4257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I approve

Jash
October 2nd 2012


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Great review for this album, Pos'd times ten

MalleusMaleficarum
October 2nd 2012


14322 Comments


great album nice review all that good stuff based life

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2012


9034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're an incredible writer

sniper
October 4th 2012


19049 Comments


great review. can't imagine why you got negs other than length maybe? but idk why people think reviews need to be wordy anyway.

Ethics
October 5th 2012


4112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks! and it doesn't really bother me at all, people can neg/dislike something for whatever
reason... especially if it's mine lol

im glad some of you guys enjoyed this though, thanks for the feedback

sniper
October 5th 2012


19049 Comments


this album is so awesome

Ethics
October 5th 2012


4112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

agreed, it's really really great stuff.
everyone should check this out if they haven't already. fits any mood well

sniper
October 5th 2012


19049 Comments


plus the argument could easily be made that many of my favorite bands wouldn't even exist without the influence of this band/record. not that that's the only reason this rules, the music is fantastic obv.

MeatSalad
November 6th 2012


14528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album, also pos'd

ethixx
July 16th 2013


1170 Comments


plz watch

http://youtu.be/HyDuUcRDNaM

sniper
July 16th 2013


19049 Comments


cool

zxlkho
July 16th 2013


3463 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

whoa that's cool


ethixx
July 16th 2013


1170 Comments


cool cool

dimsim3478
July 16th 2013


5008 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your thesis on the album's childhood touch captures the album to tee. Short but very sweet review. Pos.

Digging: Little Big League - These Are Good People



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy