AxeWound
Vultures


3.0
good

Review

by Mark James Irwin USER (8 Reviews)
October 2nd, 2012 | 43 replies | 6,657 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's not entirely metal as f**k as promised, but it's a start.

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

In an interview in October 2011, Matt Tuck of Bullet for My Valentine announced he was working on a "metal as f**k" side project, a project that would ultimately be revealed as AxeWound in May 2012. Fronted by Liam Cormier of Cancer Bats, AxeWound was said to have a heavier and aggressive feel not heard in Tuck's main band. Said Tuck, "We wanted to go in there with kind of like a Slipknot attitude of just everything. Like the 'Iowa' album - just f**king violent. Let it all out. No holds barred." But while AxeWound claims to be "violent", Slipknot's Iowa had the genuine anger to support its claims. I can't seem to picture what sort of things Tuck, Cormier, and company have to be angry about (I guess I'd feel pretty steamed too if I had to listen to Fever all the way through again).

Nevertheless, the group unleashes its debut album, Vultures. To its credit, AxeWound has plenty of good guitar work to spare throughout the record, thanks to Tuck and Matt Kingswood of Glamour of the Kill. The thrashier moments of BFMV are recalled here, but in an album that promised violence, they are delivered in kind. Almost all of the riffs are chaotic and heavy as promised, and the guitar solo near the end of "Burn Alive" is well-placed and hard-hitting. The title track also features a solo from Synyster Gates (Avenged Sevenfold), and while it's not different from many of his other solos, it fits the song well and is only complimented by further soloing from Kingswood. The drumming from Jason Bowld is – for lack of a better term – hyperactive at best, with the Pitchshifter skinsman providing frenetic fills. The harsher vocals are to be commended on this record, as Cormier and Tuck take turns growling and screaming like their careers depended on it. It's a far cry from the more melodic approach we're used to hearing from Tuck, but it's a welcome change nonetheless.

The softer moments on Vultures prove to be detrimental to the group's sonic onslaught, however. The clean vocals of Tuck on songs like "Cold" and "Exorchrist" do nothing to separate the group from countless other modern metal bands today, with "Collide" being the worst example (AutoTune can be noticeably heard in the verses). Another flaw of the album are the needless breakdowns, which serve no other purpose than to get the listener's hopes up for nothing. If this was supposed to be "metal as f**k" as promised, why not go all out instead of relying on breakdowns to pad out the album? Throw in the inaudible bass guitar (which is a shame, because Joe Copcutt provided Rise to Remain with unique basslines) and a couple of cliched lyrics ("I against the world, so f**k me, f**k you, f**k everything"), and it's an accurate snapshot on what sort of problems plague the modern metal community today.

But while AxeWound may not have been entirely the ultra-violent album Tuck had hoped for, Vultures is still an enjoyable listen that (for the most part) shows off their strengths very well when they can. The guitar work is a lot more interesting than the last two BFMV albums, and the harsher vocals are well-delivered. It isn't a complete success, but AxeWound presents enough energy and interesting ideas that deserve to be expanded upon with future releases.

Recommended Tracks: "Vultures", "Burn Alive", "Blood, Money, and Lies"



Recent reviews by this author
Kid Rock Rebel SoulSolace (CAN) Call & Response
Emmure Slave to the GameGhost Machine Hypersensitive
Indorphine Glowsticks For Clubbing Baby SealsBury Your Dead Mosh n' Roll
user ratings (72)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
thumbcrusher (2)
All too formulaic and predictable...

NeoSpaz (1.5)
Br00tal....


Comments:Add a Comment 
NeoSpaz
October 2nd 2012



4518 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Is there a stream for this?

BaseballJames
October 2nd 2012



371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I couldn't find one, other than maybe YouTube. It was released in the UK today though.

NeoSpaz
October 2nd 2012



4518 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The album starts with a breakdown...

Oh god, this is gonna be a fun 40 minutes.

NonApplicable
October 2nd 2012



1951 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I feel gross when I listen to this.

NeoSpaz
October 2nd 2012



4518 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yay my review is done.

This is such a horrible, horrible album

Timmons
October 2nd 2012



561 Comments


the drummer must be sick of vulture themed albums

NeoSpaz
October 2nd 2012



4518 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Poor bastard, goes from Rise to Remain and their City of Vultures, then ends up with these nitwits.

BlackLlama
October 2nd 2012



1653 Comments


Will check this, I do enjoy at least something from every member of this band....

the drummer must be sick of vulture themed albums +1

Digging: Stigmata - Do Unto Others

chambered49
October 2nd 2012



1727 Comments


lol at the band name

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 2nd 2012



3442 Comments


terrible band name

NonApplicable
October 2nd 2012



1951 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like the band name. It's pretty witty IMO

EyeForAnEye
October 2nd 2012



1692 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Axewound is a slang term for a vagina, which is exactly what this band is. A huge vagina.

chambered49
October 2nd 2012



1727 Comments


lol


at least this gets more glorious the more i listen

NeoSpaz
October 2nd 2012



4518 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I would have given them bonus points if they somehow fit the name into each song.

I'm going to destroy your axewound would be lolzworthy.

zaruyache
October 3rd 2012



6284 Comments


The more thrashier moments
The more thrashier moments
The more thrashier moments
The more thrashier moments
The more thrashier moments

Fix plz.

Digging: CHVRCHES - The Bones of What You Believe

FrozenVain
October 3rd 2012



2412 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Decent album...could be worth a 3, but I intensly hate that Bullet for my valentine guy. Good review.

BaseballJames
October 3rd 2012



371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@zaruyache Done!

DatsNotDaMetulz
October 3rd 2012



1749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

My summary of this album is pretty much this: This album is what happens when a bunch of established scenesters decide they wanna do metal.

Bullet B-Side tracks like Exorchrist are terribad. Rest of the album is OK.

DatsNotDaMetulz
October 3rd 2012



1749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Also it's the BASSIST that was in Rise to Remain, who release "City of Vultures" last year and "Vultures" with AxeWound now.

NeoSpaz
October 3rd 2012



4518 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

huh, so it is. I read the wiki article wrong.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy