Revocation
Teratogenesis


3.5
great

Review

by Jesse Knight USER (5 Reviews)
October 1st, 2012 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Teratogenesis EP brings to the table great components of a death metal release, and more.

While mainstream popularity is not exactly the name of the game for a death metal band, Revocation continues to receive positive feedback from a wide spectrum of metal fans. For me, the reasons are obvious. The music has a lot of character, it's to the point, and the musicians are very talented all around. The fact that the Scion A/V project sponsored this as a free download is a give and take, but it certainly does not seem to have anything to do with what they are laying down on the tracks. Teratogenesis EP contains five songs, with a total listen time of 21:38. In a way, this release does not afford the time to get bored with the music. For that reason, and potential fans should give Chaos Of Forms (their most recent album) a listen.

What this set of songs lacks in time it makes up for in memorable guitar riffs, blazing fast drumming, and highly original material. Teratogenesis EP, does best what most of their music has done thus far. David Davidson's unique style of guitar playing, fusing jazz elements with inventive, heavy-hitting, technical riffs has been a recipe for success. Paired with Phil Dubois-Coyne on drums, the music is as brutal as any metal fan could ask for, without drowning them in a sea of blast beats and dissonant chord structures. Unfortunately the bass is practically irrelevant the majority of the time; undoubtedly the result of dropping founding bassist Anthony Buda for Brett Ramberger. The most disappointing aspect of this EP is that despite adopting a second guitarist, Dan Gargiulo, the music is still driven by a single guitar. The only song that really makes use of rhythm harmonies is The Grip Tightens, and evidence of such is still very minimal. Moving on. As anyone would have noticed, the instruments take a lot of time to show off, which has both its benefits and disadvantages. Having no real lead singer is probably the biggest weakness of the band; however, as far as I know about death metal, the vocals are not too bad. Still, the focus is clearly on the music, which is clearly instrument driven. The result of that has left Revocation in a pretty good place still, and does not seem to have stopped them from laying waste to most other bands in their subgenre when it comes to popularity.

The title track, Teratogenesis, is arguably the best song on the entire album, just ahead of The Grip Tightens. It really embodies the concept of the album, as it should, and brings out a lot of "eww creepy bug thing" emotions. In addition to that, it contains some very solid writing with interesting sections that keep the listeners attention. Songs like Spurn The Outstreched Hand and Bound by Desire showcase a lot of technicality that sums up pretty well what kind of consistency they are capable of putting out. Maniacally Unleashed is by far the weakest track, with only one catchy breakdown section worthy of mention above the other songs.

Overall, this EP is really solid, and deserving of a good rating. Personally I think that it should be a full album given it's quality. As far as the band goes, it is a small step, but definitely in the right direction. What makes this release worthy of it's rating is the combination of an already good set of songs on paper, coupled with good theming, and a vibrant performance on the tracks. Taking into account the things that detract from the music, there is undoubtedly room for improvement. What has my attention at the moment is the potential for what could come in the future from these guys.

Recommended track: Teratogenesis


user ratings (168)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Benjamino Jackanory (4)
An E.P that fizzes with invention and leaks thrash and death sensibilities; short and sweet....

Michael Snoxall (3.5)
Revocation stay relevant....


Comments:Add a Comment 
thijsvanleer
October 1st 2012


172 Comments


poopy band agreed

ianjulian
October 1st 2012


637 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and more.



Digging: Job for a Cowboy - Sun Eater

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2012


18859 Comments


sucks

art is cool tho

Digging: Substance / Vainqueur - Reverberation / Reverberate

LarryArms
October 1st 2012


250 Comments


actually its good youre wrong as always aoty

knightj9508
October 1st 2012


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Someone should post a comment criticizing the writing in my review, and responding why you agree/disagree with some of the things I said.

Thanks.


bloc
October 1st 2012


34993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This EP could have been better I think.

But the lead guitarist is easily one of the better young metal guitarists today.

Digging: The Birthday Massacre - Superstition

GiaNXGX
October 1st 2012


4867 Comments


Their drummer is badass as well.

Butkuiss
October 1st 2012


4249 Comments


Every second metal fan I talk to these days makes these guys out to be spearheading some sort of thrash revival or something, but I've never been able to get into them.

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

MichaelSnoxall
October 1st 2012


12163 Comments


The title track, Teratogenesis, is arguably the best song on the entire album, just ahead of The Grip Tightens.

lol it's like you wrote the review before you heard the last track.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012


20063 Comments


Can it snoxall, good review man pos

Digging: Trophy Eyes - Mend, Move On

NonApplicable
October 2nd 2012


2003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Rank

1. The Grip Tightens
2. Bound by Desire
3. Teratogenesis
4. Spurn the Outstretched Hand
5. Maniacally Unleashed

Bound by Desire. EVOKED BY NAME!

Digging: Skyharbor - Guiding Lights

MuhNamesTyler
October 2nd 2012


4382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excited to hear this

knightj9508
October 2nd 2012


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@snoxall, I had listened to the entire thing 20 times minimum. I just wasn't that impressed with Bound By Desire. I continue to stand by my opinion.

Wizard
October 2nd 2012


19607 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I wish this was good but hey, it was free.

Digging: Full Of Hell & Merzbow - Full Of Hell & Merzbow

BlackLlama
October 2nd 2012


1705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're review is fine, and I agree about the bass being less present on this release (usually what happens when you drop your bass player).

Also, I think the EP format is the way things are going to start being. Seeing that 90% of the metal releases out there are usually 4 or 5 "decent" songs and then a crap ton of filler, I actually like it better this way.

I'd rather see them put out another 4 or 5 song EP in 10 months than release these tracks and add on 5 or 6 shitty songs to rush out an "album".

knightj9508
October 2nd 2012


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You bring up a good point, BlackLlama. I'll have to look at things differently now.

knightj9508
October 2nd 2012


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

*Updated information in review*
I knew about the bassist but just never thought to say anything about it.

NonApplicable
October 2nd 2012


2003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd rather see them put out another 4 or 5 song EP in 10 months than release these tracks and add
on 5 or 6 shitty songs to rush out an "album".


I don't know about this. I love this ep but it is a bit short. I could use one or two more tracks.
There is enough music out there that I don't mind waiting a couple years for 11+ solid tracks. Plus,
Revocation haven't really ever suffered from poor songwriting anyway.

Seeing that 90% of the metal releases out there are usually 4 or 5 "decent" songs and then a crap
ton of filler


Sounds like you've been listening to a lot of metalcore

bloozclooz
October 3rd 2012


1770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is pretty damn good

DeadGuy
October 4th 2012


406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sick as fuck like always

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me in the River



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy