The Lawrence Arms
Apathy and Exhaustion


4.5
superb

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (96 Reviews)
September 28th, 2012 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: But don't forget to forget you forgot me, When I show up at your door. I'm gonna remember that you are my friend, and fall asleep on your floor."

From the first few seconds of the album opener "Porno and Snuff Films" it's apparent that The Lawrence Arms are back with a vengeance with catchier tunes and better production, the song title also makes it clear that the sense of humor and scathing social commentary is still there as well. Coming off of the band's less than stellar first two albums, Apathy and Exhaustion is where the band finally found their sound, and this record would set the standard for all of their future releases. A lot can be learned from the second track as well, "The First Eviction Notice" has Chris finally singing lead on his own song, and yikes that is some blatant obvious auto-tune, but hey, if it took auto-tune to make Chris finally comfortable with his voice and his style than I'm cool with that because his major presence was the biggest component missing from the band's first two records. Chris also contributes the band's first iconic song, the ever so tender ballad "Your Gravest Words" (Its also the track that super user Satellite got his name from.) This song, along with his three other contributions "First Eviction Notice," "Brick Wall Views," and "Right As Rain Pt.2" tend to be more serious in tone and break up Brendan's break neck tales of drunken disorder quite nicely making the band a formidable two headed beast.

Apathy and Exhaustion is the first amazing record by The Lawrence Arms that finally lived up to Chris and Brendan's old band The Broadways; with Brendan's hopelessly infectious tracks "Navigating The Windward Passage," "Boatless Booze Cruise," and "Corpse of My Motivation;" along with Chris' tender ballads make Apathy and Exhaustion one hell of a ride. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll want to have a beer with these dudes because that's the biggest strength of the band, their highly relatable and well crafted lyrics and music that make you feel like you're just one of the boys, getting drunk and having a good time in sweet sour home Chicago.



Recent reviews by this author
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereModest Mouse The Lonesome Crowded West
Modest Mouse This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think AboutViper the Rapper You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack
Have Mercy A Place Of Our OwnPianos Become the Teeth Keep You
user ratings (149)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Nick Greer EMERITUS (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My experiment at a 2 paragraph review
Next Larry Arms review will be long as fuck so enjoy this one

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


20158 Comments


Nice. Does this mean I have to write another review now?

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

LifeAsAChipmunk
September 28th 2012


4854 Comments


maybe I should listen to these guys

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wrote this like 2 days ago so idk

Tyrael
September 28th 2012


20974 Comments


neat

pos

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


20158 Comments


what do you think of Oh! Calcutta! Trebor?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh! Calcutta! is most people's favorite but it's my second favorite


menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


16131 Comments


easy to read your reviews are (thats a compliment just in case it's not clear)

but

"Navigating The Windward Passage,"
hmm that means something rather..um..buggery related here in the UK..not sure if same in USA but over here that's a hilarious song title

pos'd anyway

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


20158 Comments


what does it mean?

yeah I've only heard oh calcutta and the greatest story but i like them both.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah I'm very interested in what it means
These guys have the best sense of humor


menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


16131 Comments


In the UK if you call someone a 'Navigator' it's short for 'Navigator of the Windward Passage" which basically means a homosexual. Not that I would ever use such homophobic terms :P

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


20158 Comments


interesting i would have never known that.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"when i'm gone you won't miss me.
you're dying to fist me (honestly, now!)
out of the close and into the fire.
out of these dumb little quips that inspire.
outright outrage enrages you now. you're lifeless and sticky."


menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


16131 Comments


haha

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite serious lyric from these guys:

i've got some older pictures
of people i see once every couple years
intrigued or unamazed
you were so much different back in those days


LarryArms
September 28th 2012


250 Comments


Should be a 5

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Next one is

LarryArms
September 28th 2012


250 Comments


I will enjoy that

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Two negs what the fuck

LarryArms
September 28th 2012


250 Comments


Stop



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy