Danko Jones
Rock and Roll Is Black and Blue


3.4
great

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
September 28th, 2012 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Danko Jones deliver yet another ferocious take on punk-infused vintage rock.

There's something really appealing about the simplicity of Danko Jones' style. Conventional song structures, minor chord progressions, sing-along choruses and hilarious lyrics about sex, love and break-ups are the trio's signature features that have been omnipresent on their subsequent albums since the onset of the last decade. Unlike many retro rockers, Danko Jones have always proven capable of maintaining top form throughout their career delivering one remarkably consistent record after another. Rock and Roll Is Black and Blue continues the streak of excellent LPs that nevertheless fail to match the amazing songwriting of 2003's audacious We Sweat Blood.

Danko Jones' sixth album marks another line-up change: drummer Dan Cornelius has been replaced by Atom Willard of The Offspring fame. In normal circumstances this would bring some major alternations to any outfit's sound, but here it changes virtually nothing. The fixed style of the trio still revolves around lean, no-holds-barred party rockers that bear a close resemblance equally to fast-paced punk and sleazy classic rock. Thus, the album feels totally in line with the vast majority of the material Danko and his collaborators have recorded so far. It's a downright appeasing conclusion given the group's aptitude for crafting captivating robust rock tunes is in a class by itself.

Similarly to the previous releases of the band, Rock and Roll Is Black and Blue feels like a one-man-show type of record due to the dominant presence of the charismatic frontman. Danko (aka Mango Kid) delivers his most assuredly melodic vocal performance which abounds with infectious harmonies and hooks. His lyrics remain wonderfully irreverent exploring perhaps all-too-familiar topics with unabashed swagger. Another distinguishing aspect of the record is slick guitar play that ranges from crunchy chugging riffs to filthy soloing that's reminiscent of blues. The rhythm section is also as audible as ever with corpulent bass lines and dynamic drum fills making the sound of the trio complete.

Even though Danko Jones are evidently on top of their game, Rock and Roll Is Black and Blue is basically a rehash of their last two albums combining playfulness of Never Too Loud with a heavier approach of Below The Belt. The sole slightly surprising moments come with classy Led Zeppelinesque hard rock of "You Wear Me Down" and blasphemous "I Believed In God" which features a gospel choir. This is still a routinely ferocious and enormously fun spin on punk-infused vintage rock. However, it's somewhat underwhelming that the group as experienced as this refuses to progress beyond their safety zone. No matter how well performed, their style may become obsolete in next to no time.



Recent reviews by this author
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
So Slow DharaviMastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
Fire! Orchestra Enter!Ought More Than Any Other Day
user ratings (24)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
amakir
September 28th 2012


26 Comments


These guys are great live.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2012


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

I'm a huge fan of theirs, but they're repeating themselves here.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2012


3450 Comments


Nice review, have a pos. The genre is fantastic but I don't know what to think of these guys...

drewcordova
September 28th 2012


705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

When I saw this on the front page, I KNEW it'd be a Greg Fisher review. Here's a pos. Good work. Band does nothing new, but doesn't need to. They do what they do well. Album is solid.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2012


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Why? It's the first time I've reviewed Danko's LP. Anyway, it's their 6th record. Goddamn it. I expect every band to evolve at least a bit or change the direction. In this regard, this is a letdown. Otherwise, I agree this is a solid album that's well worth checking out.

drewcordova
September 29th 2012


705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Because the summary was done professionally, and was concise (and it's another band that flies under the radar). Anyways, I agree that it's best that a band evolves. Otherwise, why listen? Realistically, you can pick up an album from anywhere in their discog and know what they're about. But, if you can't execute a new idea well, then you might as well stick with what you know.

mindleviticus
September 29th 2012


8232 Comments


This album really isn't that good :p

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2012


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

All right. I perhaps have too high expectations when it comes to these guys. Their previous records have a thing or two that distinguish them from one another. Never Too Loud is their most pop-oriented album. Below The Belt has some stoner rock moments. I just failed to find that something here.

drewcordova
September 29th 2012


705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed. There really isn't a lot of variety here. I just don't really expect a lot of these guys; aside from a little consistency and Jones' bombast. On those two counts, for me, it succeeds.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2012


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Definitely. Plus, the record grows on you with every new spin.

scissorlocked
September 29th 2012


3510 Comments


great work Greg

won't think I'll dig this though

Jethro42
September 29th 2012


12440 Comments


Great review, Greg. I'm not sure if I'm interested to approach this one.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2012


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Thanks guys.

If you enjoyed some of their previous work, you should definitely give it a spin Jethro.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2012


16023 Comments


nice review and thx for the plays, will check them out

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2012


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

You're welcome. It makes for a really fun listen.

Nagrarok
September 30th 2012


8247 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their last one was fun and I'm sure I can expect the same from this.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2012


6110 Comments


Good review, pos.

Have heard some separate songs from this band, solid stuff.

Digging: Disasterhate - Sacrifice To Eclipse

TheSupernatural
September 30th 2012


1181 Comments


I like these guys, but I haven't listened to anything new yet. 3.5 usually means it's a good listen in this genre, so I'll check it out

Digging: xSPONGEXCOREx - How Tough Are Yah?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2012


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Thanks. Here's my top 5 tracks that are essential to check out:

1. You Wear Me Down
2. Get Up
3. The Masochist
4. I Believed In God
5. Don't Do This


Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review Greg (should've caught it without you shoutboxing me tbh, but I haven't been on sputnik much lately). I knew these guys were coming out with a new record this year, but wasn't aware when. Now that I know that it has dropped, I'll be sure to look it up and give it a spin real soon.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy