Be'lakor
Stone's Reach


5.0
classic

Review

by SlMBOLlC USER (15 Reviews)
September 27th, 2012 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Beauty and Brutality

Stone’s Reach is first and foremost a journey; a journey through the exploration of a sound. This sound is the sound that Be’Lakor have crafted for themselves, it is the sound beautiful melody and engrossing atmosphere, it is the sound of a band pushing their abilities to the limit.

The musical style found on Stone’s Reach remains largely unchanged from the sound found on their debut album The Frail Tide. The failure of a band to progress their sound from album to album has many times resulted in lack-lustre records that fail to recapture the quality of the previous album/s. With Stone’s Reach, Be’Lakor have avoided this trap by improving the formula found on The Frail Tide , rather than just trying to copy it. Album opener “Venator” displays the improvement Be’Lakor have made by better utilising atmospheric mediums, this is best presented 1:34 into the song where the standard prog death riffing progresses into a melodic doom style sound, with black metal-esque synth. The ability of Be’Lakor to create juxtaposing atmospheres in the form aggressive melodeath guitar work accompanied by dark and depressive synth give many of the track off Stone’s Reach an “epic” feel to them, which is exemplified by the excellence in which the sound is executed.

Whilst it would be difficult to justify any accusation that Be’Lakor is a copy of another band, it is not difficult to pick out their major influences. As with almost all modern progressive extreme metal, the Opethian influence is rooted heavily in this album. The most prominent example of this can be found on “From Scythe to Sceptre”, where the interlude at 4:15 is reminiscent of Blackwater Park, as is the riff at 5:58. Yet this does not make Stone’s Reach another Opeth ripoff. This album retains enough originality, perhaps not to be truly original, but to at least to not sound exactly like any other band.

The only major fault on this album is that some of the songs run too long. Be’Lakor do an admirable job of attempting to keep the songs flowing with new content, yet occasionally it feels as if it would’ve been better of the song length was cut. This, however, is not enough to seriously detract from the album as precision in which Be’Lakor have executed their sound outdoes the slight negativity of song length.

The instrumentation on this album is, for the most part, quite simple. Apart from the melodic riffs, the guitars and bass are used similar to how they are used in black metal (primarily in an atmospheric fashion). This type of atmospheric metal is well complimented by the production on the album. The synthesiser seems as it has been mixed louder than the other instruments, but this helps to maintain the dark feel on Stone’s Reach. The drums are also relatively simple, yet they are played with enough taste and proficiency to not detract from the album, yet they do not add to the album either. Vocals are another strong point, with vocalist George Kosmos delivering an excellent performance. His growls are well articulated without sacrificing their dark feel, and his highs, while used on sparingly, add excellent range and diversity.

All in all, Stone’s Reach is a worthy addition to any metal fan’s collection, particularly those doom or melodically inclined. If you embrace it, this album can truly deliver you some of the best progressive death metal in recent memory. If you let it, it embraces you as well with its darkness, melody and beauty.



Recent reviews by this author
Morbid Saint Spectrum of DeathAversions Crown Servitude
Carach Angren Where The Corpses Sink ForeverCryptopsy Whisper Supremacy
Rings of Saturn DingirThe Beatles Rubber Soul
user ratings (392)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Crimson (4.5)
epic compositions within a progressive death metal context, breathtaking...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SlMBOLlC
September 27th 2012


5190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

first review guys
tell me what you think

DarkSideOfLucca
September 27th 2012


3273 Comments


awesome review, pos'd dude m/

Ethics
September 27th 2012


4112 Comments


great review, especially for your first. pos'd it as well.
get an avatar!

dunksman23
September 27th 2012


215 Comments


Great review. Great album. Pos

Mike08
September 27th 2012


607 Comments


Not bad for a first review, I know how hard it can be to publish work. Keep writing. This being said;

- You are wordy and passive. There are two ways to fix this
1. Highlight all of the prepositional phrases, and delete as many as you can. I will give you one example:

The failure of a band to progress their sound from album to album has many times resulted in lack-lustre records that fail to recapture the quality of the previous album/s.
- I would reword this by stating; A band's inability to advance their sound on subsequent albums frequently yield lack-lustre results on future albums.

You are also passive which is the difference between:
The book was read by Jeane
Jeane read the book.
The second statement is more assertive, and is aesthetically proper in writing.

The musical style found on Stone’s Reach remains largely unchanged from the sound found on their debut album The Frail Tide.
- I would rewrite this by saying; Stone Reach's music style remains largely unchanged from their debut effort The Frail Tide.

Alright last point
If you use the same word too much (in this case SOUND) it gets disinteresting to read. You can use the word twice back to back for stylistic purposes,

- "Stone’s Reach is first and foremost a journey; a journey through the exploration of a sound."
but beyond this you need to look at a thesaurus. Always present different ways to explain thoughts.

Keep writing and good job!

ViralOblivion
September 27th 2012


7679 Comments


I really need to check these guys out

SlMBOLlC
September 27th 2012


5190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ViralOblivion
Yeh dude if ur into prog death/melodeath or doom this is for you

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


19757 Comments


@Mike08, damn why don't u write a review yourself if you're gonna be dishing out that much criticism. ;)

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Mike08
September 27th 2012


607 Comments


Its all constructive. And I have way too much school and homework to be writing reviews. Besides I write plenty enough papers UGH!

As I said before, good of you to write a review on your first day. Here is some things I see could be improved upon, take it or leave it.

SlMBOLlC
September 27th 2012


5190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha I wrote that review in between a biology exam and a chemistry tutorial, you have no excuse ;)

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


19757 Comments


"it's all constructive"

True true

ViralOblivion
September 27th 2012


7679 Comments


Atari your avatar is the shit

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


19757 Comments


Thanks man. Yeah I decided I'm just gonna keep changing up my avatars with my favorite super nintendo games ;)

ViralOblivion
September 27th 2012


7679 Comments


Lol I love it man r u getting black 2?

CaptainDooRight
September 27th 2012


29146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sweet album

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

DarthMann
September 27th 2012


13815 Comments


album rocks

ReturnToRock
September 27th 2012


3448 Comments


Excellent first review! You state your points well and provide examples to back them up, you have good grammar (a bane of newbie reviewers) and you don't succumb to the trap of informality or profanity, like many newbies also do.

One small nitpick is the rating. You do point out a couple of (not major, granted) flaws with the album, such as song length or middling drum performance, which should have perhaps lowered this to a 4.5. A 5.0 has NO flaws whatsoever, or its flaws are too minor to really be worth mentioning.

Definitely pos'd, though. Welcome to the site, and keep up the good work! :D

ChuckyTruant
September 27th 2012


15716 Comments


Awesome review. They only thing I would do to this is clean it up a bit, make it less wordy. Then I would make use of bbcode, for example:

bold for song titles.
italics for the album title and for emphasis on other words.

That's what I do in my reviews anyway to spice things up a bit.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

ReturnToRock
September 27th 2012


3448 Comments


@Mike: careful when telling the kid to use a thesaurus... He might end up like me ;)

CaptainDooRight
September 27th 2012


29146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

man this took a while to get approved



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy