Green Day
¡UNO!


2.0
poor

Review

by Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (108 Reviews)
September 25th, 2012 | 67 replies | 3,103 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It seems Green Day has fooled you all.

Let me start out by saying Green Day’s new album “Uno!” is NOT any better than "21st Century Breakdown", nor is it a return to their roots. Instead, it’s a complete mess of an album from a band who seem to be losing their identity. Rather than adhering to a certain sound or direction, the record is all over the place and fails to be anything more than painfully average. Due to certain songs sounding reminiscent of their earlier work, some may be fooled into thinking the "old" Green Day is back, but I'm not buying it.

Standouts like ‘Nuclear Family’ or ‘Angel Blue’ would be more enjoyable if we hadn’t already heard the exact same riffs on “American Idiot” or “Warning”. Perhaps if the band would focus on one direction they could have given us a more cohesive record. At least “21st Century Breakdown” knew what it wanted to be, even it if did falter at times. Unfortunately the same can’t be said for “Uno!”. Even its better tracks feel out of place, almost as if the band threw them on the record just to please fans of their older work. In between these supposed better tunes, however is one of the worst songs the band has ever written. ‘Kill The DJ’ is laughably bad, both lyrically and musically. Other songs like ‘Oh Love’ or ‘Sweet 16’ are slightly better, but still too poppy and radio friendly for my taste. Unfortunately, the album is also filled with some of the cheesiest lyrics I've heard from the trio.

Much like My Chemical Romance’s “Danger Days”, this album fails because it’s extremely inconsistent. It might have two to three better than average songs, but they are sandwiched in between some of the most embarrassing and incoherent tracks they’ve ever put to record. I’m a fan of Green Day’s older work, but this just didn’t do it for me. If they want to make a nostalgic record similar to “Dookie” or “Minority”, the band needs to shift all their energy and focus towards that goal. Instead, they try much too hard to please everybody, which it turns out, pleases nobody (or at least not me).



Recent reviews by this author
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
The Byrds Mr. Tambourine ManSomos Temple of Plenty
Fireworks Oh, Common LifeA Slow Descent On Ganymede
user ratings (867)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



19497 Comments


Really short but wanted to post the first accurately rated review.

Digging: The Who - Tommy

ViperAces
September 25th 2012



12377 Comments


Good review, finally a correct rating.
Double-check it though, some unnecessary commas and other stuff here and there.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



19497 Comments


Thanks Viper and I don't doubt it I wrote this kind of fast.


Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



19497 Comments


which commas shoudn't be there? I removed one but not sure If I'm missing something...

ViperAces
September 25th 2012



12377 Comments


There is one n the first sentence. You got the other one I was talking about.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



19497 Comments


you mean the one after the word album?

LifeAsAChipmunk
September 25th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

good review, rating is too high

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



19497 Comments


lol sorry andcas it's how I feel. 21st breakdown isn't much better though.

ViperAces
September 25th 2012



12377 Comments


Yep thats the one.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2012



3336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It doesn't matter if your opinion is wrong or right, you need proofreading man.

"21st century breakdown had like 4 decent songs. this has 3 bad songs."
this is so true.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



19497 Comments


@insomniac,

Sorry bro I wrote it kind of fast. what are you seeing that needs fixed?

ViperAces
September 25th 2012



12377 Comments


3 bad songs? dont you mean 12?
21st had 18 bad songs though so I dont know about which is worse.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



19497 Comments


Name one song on 21st century breakdown that's as bad as Kill the DJ.


insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2012



3336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Small mistakes like "Nulcear Family" (nuclear) , "even it's better tracks" (even its), the first time you mention "21st century breakdown" (put it in capital letters, because you have it right in the second paragraph), "Oh, love" (should be "Oh Love" and "every body" in the last paragraph (everybody reads better). These show you wrote it in a rush.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



19497 Comments


@Insomniac, damn my bad already fixed Nuclear cause I caught that but I'll fix the other mistakes.

Also, I'm not denying that I wrote it fast ;)

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2012



3336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

21 Guns is worse than Kill The DJ. Also, Know Your Enemy is bad enough. No problem, man, stay as long as you need when writing a review, because there will always be people who won't agree with you. I don't agree with your rating, because I consider this as a fun record, but hey it's your opinion.

ViperAces
September 25th 2012



12377 Comments


Without 21 Guns elementry school bands would have nothing to play at the graduation!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2012



3336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Viper Aces - They already have Good Riddance so they'll be OK.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



19497 Comments


I don't think 21 guns is worse than kill the DJ. It's too radio friendly and it's not very good but kil the DJ is even worse.

Owantjaaaa
September 25th 2012



3206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3.5's represent!

Digging: 411 - This Isn't Me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy