Judas Priest
Sad Wings of Destiny


5.0
classic

Review

by Aaron CONTRIBUTOR (110 Reviews)
September 22nd, 2012 | 69 replies


Release Date: 1976 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The perfect Judas Priest album.

Few bands in metal are as important or influencial as Judas Priest. Most would agree that Iron Maiden is better, but the fact of the matter is Priest came first. It's quite possible that Maiden would not exist if it wasn't for Priest. They layed the foundation for countless of British metal bands that would eventually attempt to re-create their style. Their first album, "Rocka Rolla" was released in 1974, but it was two years later they would put out their absolute masterpiece. "Sad Wings of Destiny" is one of the best metal albums of all time. Period.

The album is amazing, but the stellar production raised it to a level of success the band probably didn't think was possible. Of all the bands releases, none of them show off the talent of metal icon Rob Halford like "Sad Wings" does. 'Dreamer Deceiver' contains some of his most beautiful vocals to date. If it's not the best metal ballad I've heard, it's surely in the top five. Other songs like 'Genocide' and 'Deceiver' have a nostalgic black sabbath feel to them. The albums most badass track, however, has to be 'The Ripper'. The song's packed to the brim with excellent guitar work, well timed solos, and Halford's high pitched screams. Thanks to production, he sounds great whether he's singing in a lower key or letting out his high squeals.

From the impressive opener 'Victim of Changes' to the albums final track, we are given a hearty dose of good old fashioned metal. Each song is great and due to the variety on the record it never becomes stale or repetetive. Although their entire discography may not be as impressive as lets say Iron Maiden's, albums like "Sad Wings of Destiny" prove Judas Priest are a force to be reckoned with. This is a real metal staple here, folks. It has a nostalgic feel to it that will please fans of Black Sabbath or earlier 70's metal. If you enjoy Priest's other work and you haven't heard this, you're in for a real treat.



Recent reviews by this author
New Found Glory ResurrectionThe Residents Eskimo
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
The Byrds Mr. Tambourine ManSomos Temple of Plenty
user ratings (962)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
Brendan Schroer (4.5)
...

Matthijs van der Lee (5)
An undeniable old-school metal classic....

Priestmetal (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
YoYoMancuso
September 22nd 2012


11153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review, although there's a strange lack of apostrophes



Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@thanks, where at man? I'll edit it.

Digging: Transit - Joyride

KILL
September 22nd 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Some may argue that Iron Maiden is better, but the fact of the matter is Priest came first.


true but that doesnt necessarily make them better

best album ever but why didnt you mention dreamer deceiver? best fuckin metal ballad ever

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


50568 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maiden are infinitely better

KILL
September 22nd 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

3.5 what the dick

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@KILL, dude I did mention dream deceiver!! I said it's one of the best metal ballads I've ever heard in the review.

also, why is the format all messed up? I was just editing it and it looked fine???

YoYoMancuso
September 22nd 2012


11153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The albums most badass
track,

If you enjoy Priests other work

The songs packed to the brim


all those spots

KILL
September 22nd 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what the fuck you added that in lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah that was there man. also I like Maiden more but this is a sweet album.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I didn't add it in. You were probably just too lazy to read the whole review. ;)
I'm guessing you skimmed through it.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

By the way agreed that Maiden > Priest.

I'm just saying they probably influenced Maiden so they're an important band.

LifeAsAChipmunk
September 22nd 2012


4854 Comments


Atari, I love your new avatar!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks pal

Tyrael
September 22nd 2012


20901 Comments


best priest right here even though it pains me to say it because I end up listening to Painkiller more often

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like Stained Class slightly more but this is definitely a masterpiece.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ya stained class is in my recommended by reviewer section.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh ye just notice "albums like "Sad Wings of Change" might wanna change that

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


19926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Menawati, Fixing it now

Detritivore
September 22nd 2012


271 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Classic album, regular review.

Digging: Cro-Mags - Alpha Omega

YoYoMancuso
September 22nd 2012


11153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i remember one time when I was watching The Matrix on TV, they censored 'Jesus Christ' as 'Judas Priest'



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy