Judas Priest
Sad Wings of Destiny


5.0
classic

Review

by Atari CONTRIBUTOR (117 Reviews)
September 22nd, 2012 | 76 replies


Release Date: 1976 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The perfect Judas Priest album.

Few bands in metal are as important or influencial as Judas Priest. Most would agree that Iron Maiden is better, but the fact of the matter is Priest came first. It's quite possible that Maiden would not exist if it wasn't for Priest. They layed the foundation for countless of British metal bands that would eventually attempt to re-create their style. Their first album, "Rocka Rolla" was released in 1974, but it was two years later they would put out their absolute masterpiece. "Sad Wings of Destiny" is one of the best metal albums of all time. Period.

The album is amazing, but the stellar production raised it to a level of success the band probably didn't think was possible. Of all the bands releases, none of them show off the talent of metal icon Rob Halford like "Sad Wings" does. 'Dreamer Deceiver' contains some of his most beautiful vocals to date. If it's not the best metal ballad I've heard, it's surely in the top five. Other songs like 'Genocide' and 'Deceiver' have a nostalgic black sabbath feel to them. The albums most badass track, however, has to be 'The Ripper'. The song's packed to the brim with excellent guitar work, well timed solos, and Halford's high pitched screams. Thanks to production, he sounds great whether he's singing in a lower key or letting out his high squeals.

From the impressive opener 'Victim of Changes' to the albums final track, we are given a hearty dose of good old fashioned metal. Each song is great and due to the variety on the record it never becomes stale or repetetive. Although their entire discography may not be as impressive as lets say Iron Maiden's, albums like "Sad Wings of Destiny" prove Judas Priest are a force to be reckoned with. This is a real metal staple here, folks. It has a nostalgic feel to it that will please fans of Black Sabbath or earlier 70's metal. If you enjoy Priest's other work and you haven't heard this, you're in for a real treat.



Recent reviews by this author
Downfall of Nur Umbras de BarbagiaRed City Radio Red City Radio
Runaway Brother MotherGalar De Gjenlevende
You, Me, And Everyone We Know DoggedDaisyhead The Smallest Light
user ratings (1047)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
Matthijs van der Lee (5)
An undeniable old-school metal classic....

Brendan Schroer (4.5)
...

Priestmetal (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
YoYoMancuso
September 22nd 2012


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review, although there's a strange lack of apostrophes





Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


20694 Comments


@thanks, where at man? I'll edit it.

Digging: Senses Fail - Pull the Thorns from Your Heart

KILL
September 22nd 2012


73904 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Some may argue that Iron Maiden is better, but the fact of the matter is Priest came first.




true but that doesnt necessarily make them better



best album ever but why didnt you mention dreamer deceiver? best fuckin metal ballad ever

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


51419 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maiden are infinitely better

Digging: Main Attrakionz - 808s & Dark Grapes III

KILL
September 22nd 2012


73904 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

3.5 what the dick

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


20694 Comments


@KILL, dude I did mention dream deceiver!! I said it's one of the best metal ballads I've ever heard in the review.

also, why is the format all messed up? I was just editing it and it looked fine???

YoYoMancuso
September 22nd 2012


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The albums most badass

track,



If you enjoy Priests other work



The songs packed to the brim





all those spots

KILL
September 22nd 2012


73904 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what the fuck you added that in lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


20694 Comments


nah that was there man. also I like Maiden more but this is a sweet album.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


20694 Comments


I didn't add it in. You were probably just too lazy to read the whole review. ;)
I'm guessing you skimmed through it.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


20694 Comments


By the way agreed that Maiden > Priest.

I'm just saying they probably influenced Maiden so they're an important band.

LifeAsAChipmunk
September 22nd 2012


4854 Comments


Atari, I love your new avatar!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


20694 Comments


Thanks pal

Tyrael
September 22nd 2012


20989 Comments


best priest right here even though it pains me to say it because I end up listening to Painkiller more often

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


16389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like Stained Class slightly more but this is definitely a masterpiece.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


20694 Comments


ya stained class is in my recommended by reviewer section.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


16389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh ye just notice "albums like "Sad Wings of Change" might wanna change that

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2012


20694 Comments


Thanks Menawati, Fixing it now

Detritivore
September 22nd 2012


285 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Classic album, regular review.

YoYoMancuso
September 22nd 2012


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i remember one time when I was watching The Matrix on TV, they censored 'Jesus Christ' as 'Judas Priest'



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy