The Gaslight Anthem
Handwritten


4.5
superb

Review

by NothingForSomething USER (22 Reviews)
September 17th, 2012 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Handwritten combines the charm of Gaslight's humble beginnings with an arena-filling production and musical direction.

The Gaslight Anthem's fourth LP Handwritten is a natural progression for a band whose rise to the mainstream is nothing short of meteoric. The Jersey four-piece went from playing fifteen minute sets as an opener for punk shows to having Bruce Springsteen sing their songs in packed arenas in one mere album cycle.

And that's precisely what Handwritten is - a reflection of their rise to success. With super producer Brendan O'Brian (whose modest resume includes Bob Dylan, Pearl Jam and Bruce Springsteen) behind the booth, Gaslight has never sounded so...big. Handwritten is less punk anthem circa The '59 Sound and more what “American Slang” strove to be though ultimately fell short of. While this IS a legitimate cause for concern about the band jeopardizing their overwhelming charm and sincerity in exchange for a major label makeover, it is very far from the truth.

It’s the complete opposite, in fact. For how high profile this record is, it is still a Gaslight record through-and-through. Singer Brian Fallon puts it best: "We were definitely trying to make sure the person who was on the other end of the speakers knew we were talking to them". And there is not a single contrivance on “Handwritten”, from the sing-along-of-the-year "45" to the heartfelt "National Anthem" and everything in between there is a real sense that every track is organic, which really lends itself to the theme of the album. Its ability to simultaneously sound so big yet retain all the charm from their humble beginnings is undoubtedly the record's strong suit. Give it a spin.



Recent reviews by this author
Defeater Letters HomeApart From This In Gloom
Turnover MagnoliaSenses Fail Renacer
Vanna The Few and the Far BetweenFrameworks Small Victories
user ratings (611)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
NothingForSomething
September 17th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know this is a short review...more of a simple write-up than anything. I wrote it for insound.com originally and thought I'd post it here as well.

truekebabpower
September 17th 2012


639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think your short review fits an album such as this one actually

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2012


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Gaslight Anthem's fourth LP Handwritten is a natural progression for band

progression for A band.

And that is precisely what Handwritten is.

I know what you're trying to say, but this sentence isn't really a logical follow-up for the previous paragraph

Decent write-up though :]

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

NothingForSomething
September 17th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good catch on the "natural progression" line.

And just to be clear i'm referring to Handwritten as a reflection of their swift rise in popularity on that second part. Maybe i made it sound a little off.

I always like constructive criticism, thanks man!

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2012


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I know. I'd change it to something in the vein of "And that's also exactly what Handwritten represents", or something along that line.

NothingForSomething
September 17th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep. I changed it a bit.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2012


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Perfect :]

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2012


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

TURN THE RECORD OVERRRRRR

Lought
September 17th 2012


87 Comments


soutnds gay s fucking

Tyrael
September 17th 2012


20893 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

lol

Funeralopolis
September 17th 2012


11555 Comments


If I didn't already have a good idea what this band sounds like, this review would have told me absolutely nothing.

Digging: Quicksand - Slip

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2012


19916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sup funeral ha.

albums good but not their best.

Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

Funeralopolis
September 17th 2012


11555 Comments


not too much just distracting myself from doing homework, listening to mcr for the first time.

Solisis
September 17th 2012


370 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"The Gaslight Anthem's fourth LP Handwritten is a natural progression for band

progression for A band."

It would be progression for THE band.

Funeralopolis
September 17th 2012


11555 Comments


the review also didn't tell us how they progressed either.

Solisis
September 17th 2012


370 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

wouldn't know, didn't read

wk;dr

Tyrael
September 17th 2012


20893 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

'the review also didn't tell us how they progressed either. '

that's because they didn't progress at all, they're just rewriting the same songs over and over

Solisis
September 17th 2012


370 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

damn

Ponton
Emeritus
September 17th 2012


5803 Comments


band does a mean baba o'reilly cover

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1lzJ-BUNzLM

NothingForSomething
September 17th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@funeralopolis - The review does, in fact, expand on their progression:. "from playing fifteen minute sets as an opener for punk shows to having Bruce Springsteen sing their songs in packed arenas"

Because this is a review and not a history lesson, that statement serves as no more as context for the rest of the review - and does so successfully as I base the review upon that.

Perhaps it does necessitate at least a little understanding of the bands sound (probably not even, as their producer's prior work should be a bit telling of that) but regardless, your criticism has done nothing other than make you look like you just dislike the band. I'd appreciate something constructive.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy