Abel (NY)
Make It Right


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Knott EMERITUS
September 11th, 2012 | 86 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A supremely confident and passionate alt-rock album packed to the seams with anthems and positively buzzing with energy.

There's a point midway through opening track "I'll Be Waiting" when it becomes apparent that Poughkeepsie outfit Abel are the sort of band not just capable of surprising you but dead set on it. What it foreshadows is an album in Make It Right which soars and shrinks in a lot of beautiful ways, finding the melodic threads of Thrice and accentuating them to craft a compelling but immediate alt-rock record which sounds just as assured in the soft balladry of "Come Home" as in the siren-like riff of "Fine Lines". Never content to rest on its laurels, it harbours that ever-elusive blend of hooks and energy, one which comes to the fore on lead single "Daughter" in a gorgeous pre-chorus which comes apart at the seams in a shouted refrain, only to morph back into an affecting post-chorus, at which point I start to lose track of the song's structure and just drown in the beautiful guitar tone.

Abel never step anywhere close to the boundary between rock and punk, even when they're at their most chaotic, but this is no criticism; the wordless chants of "A Grief Observed" are insatiably catchy, the entirety of "Fire Walk With Me" another example of the band's poise and confidence, delivering on a mid-tempo drumbeat which often invited mediocrity but here sounds momentous and engaging. Make It Right is the sort of rock album that feels as though it should already be in the absolute mainstream, a dynamic-sounding record easily capable of reaching the back of arenas if it were given the chance. "An Ultimatum" proves so, its dramatic second verse declaration that "it's me or your voice, that's one hell of a choice" a genuine contender for moment of the year, and the song as a whole standing as a microcosm of Abel's song-writing talents. There's real emotion in every chord and word, but it's nothing close to sappy; it takes at least a couple of unexpected twists, but never loses itself; and it just absolute thunders, energetically and dramatically, through a superb hook. It's tough to shake the feeling that there are big things ahead for a band this accomplished.



Recent reviews by this author
Mumford and Sons BabelThe Gaslight Anthem Handwritten
Motion City Soundtrack GoSigur Ros Valtari
Silversun Pickups Neck of the WoodsiLiKETRAiNS The Shallows
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Mike Denison (3.5)
Not quite right yet....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
September 11th 2012


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is honestly absolutely awesome. Pretend this is a DaveyBoy review.

ProjectFreak
September 11th 2012


1443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds like something I will absolutely love. Great review, will look for this.

ProjectFreak
September 11th 2012


1443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

is it streaming anywhere?

Ponton
Emeritus
September 11th 2012


5820 Comments


youtubing

things going well adam?

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

chambered49
September 11th 2012


1727 Comments


when it becomes apparent that Poughkeepsie



WHAT

thats where i live/am from :/ stalker knott

Knott-
Emeritus
September 11th 2012


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

im sorry i know im all british and everything but the name of that place is fucking stupid

things are good jared how bout u

@ProjectFreak: i'm not aware of a stream anywhere right now but i'll keep my eyes out.

klap
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2012


10585 Comments


yo knott review stars

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

thejared
September 11th 2012


213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

From the two songs I've heard so far its shaping up to be a solid alt rock album. "Lesser Men" was one of my favorite albums of 2010 so well see if this one can top it. From what I've heard so far I think it will!

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2012


4507 Comments


sputcore lives

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Woh, a 4.5.

I wanted to have a sound-off or comment ready to back Adam up, but I got distracted... By their earlier album, among other things!

Knott-
Emeritus
September 11th 2012


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i don't know of a stream but i'll keep my eyes peeled

im good jared how bout you?

i know im dead british and whatever but poughkeepsie is a stupid name for a place

album is amazing

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2012


16948 Comments


Would I like this Adam

I mean I'm going to listen to it anyway, but I don't want to deal with the suspense

Digging: Low Roar - 0

ABjordanMM
September 11th 2012


1453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

listened to the two songs on their bandcamp and pre-ordered immediately. That almost never happens.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2012


7159 Comments


Damn there's been a lot of great alt-rock this year.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2012


7159 Comments


Yeah these 2 bandcamp tracks rule, and "Fire Walk With Me" is awesome for being a twin peaks reference.

Willie
Moderator
September 11th 2012


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is an awesome album. Glad you got around to reviewing it.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

Eko
September 12th 2012


2119 Comments


woah I've listened to these guys casually in the past and thought they were boring, guess I'll try again

iswimfast
September 12th 2012


1346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds awesome. Wish I could find it somewhere.

ProjectFreak
September 12th 2012


1443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this reminds me of Make Do and Mend...i hated MD&M's latest

but this...this sounds good. hopefully i'll get the whole thing soon, and I hope it holds up for a whole album.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2012


7321 Comments


i know im dead british and whatever but poughkeepsie is a stupid name for a place

My mental image of you Knott (despite me having you on Fb and all) is basically Frank Turner in an England/Team GB jersey.

So yeah.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy