Parabelle
Your Starry Eyes Will Never Make Us Even


4.0
excellent

Review

by Alex Richmond USER (10 Reviews)
September 10th, 2012 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Another solid album from Kevin Matisyn and co.

Band: Parabelle
Album: Your Starry Eyes Will Never Make Us Even



If you don't know who Parabelle is, it's probably best to start with their frontman with the signature voice, Kevin Matisyn. He gained a popular following in the band Evans Blue for their first two albums (see the recommended albums on the side) and was voted out of the band before the third album was completed. After that, he formed Parabelle and focused even more on songwriting. In every album that Matisyn has done vocals for, the lyrics have been a primary focus for most listeners.

Now in the album here, Your Starry Eyes Will Never Make Us Even, Parabelle finds a very smooth balance between musicality and lyricism. There isn't a unifying theme to the album, but rather the typical (typical in terms of Matisyn's writing) themes of love, depression, loneliness, and war. The production quality is excellent, with some nice atmospheric elements to supplement the music. The song tempos are generally similar, but the tone of the music contains plenty of variance (check singing/screaming chorus of "Line of Fire").

Your Starry Eyes Will Never Make Us Even gets better as it goes. The first two songs, "Tear the Blue" and "Blisters and Bad Eyes" are typical Parabelle songs that could've been taken from anywhere in Matisyn's discography, and while decent, they sound fairly similar and don't offer anything beyond that until the bridge in the latter song. "Rise" plays out in a similar vein, but much stronger than two previous songs. The vocals are clearly at the front, and the chorus is perfect in its own simple way.

The 4th and 11th tracks, "In the Shadows" and "My Surrender" are absolutely beautiful, both musically and lyrically. "In the Shadows" is about having low self-esteem in a relationship, where the speaker believes they aren't worth their lover. The chorus follows, "And I will leave you in shadows of where I used to be/You won't be afraid/But I was wrong, I lived so you wouldn't be alone/But you deserve better than this, better than this/Don't you know." The chorus is very dynamic and a large improvement from Parabelle's previous album, Re-Assembling the Icons. The final track, "My Surrender" is another signature Matisyn track with possibly the most poetic one on the record. The song is even more potent than "In the Shadows," and closes the album perfectly.

The drums on Your Starry Eyes Will Never Make Us Even are surprisingly strong, and stand out in a genre where the drums are rarely noteworthy. "Whisper" contains one of the catchiest choruses Parabelle has ever written, and the drums fill in perfectly in rest of the song, especially in the verses. In both "Your Starry Eyes" and "Heaven Like", the drums drive the chorus and offer some unique parts in the verses.

The first single released by the band, "Let It Out", is safe like the first two songs on the record, though with a thundering chorus to help the song stand out. However, the following song, "Line of Fire", may stand out the most on the album. Opening with a dark (albeit basic) guitar riff, the song leaps into this screaming/singing dynamic in the chorus that works in a strange way and opens up a new, heavier direction for Parabelle.

In conclusion, Your Starry Eyes Will Never Make Us Even is a solid effort. Not every song is memorable, but those that are display some of the best work that the band has ever released. They are starting branch into different directions musically and perfecting what they've been doing well for years. If you're already a fan of Parabelle, you'll probably love every song on this album. If you don't know much about them but like mainstream or alternative rock, you'll probably enjoy most of the songs here.


Recommended songs:
Rise
In the Shadows
Whisper
Your Starry Eyes
My Surrender


*Parabelle has had lots of members in and out, especially drummers, so I'm not quite sure of the current lineup*



Recent reviews by this author
Finch (US) Back to OblivionIn The Arms of Providence Lost My Voicebox in a Seaside Town
War Charge New World JusticeMatthew Good Hospital Music
Nickelback The StateJoliette Principia
user ratings (51)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSupernatural
September 10th 2012


1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review, any advice/criticism welcome. I love Kevin Matisyn :D

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Decent review. Drop 'a' in front of 'memorable' in the last paragraph, and what do you mean by 'the tone of the music contains plenty of variance'?

nickg42084
September 10th 2012


88 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I gave it a 4 as I really like every song on this. If I had to come up with a complaint though they
need a ballad or two. The songs are all about typical lengths so some longer instrumentals would be
nice since they sound so good. I believe you gave it a fair review though.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2012


3543 Comments


Nice first review, my only issue with it is you don't really talk about Parabelle's style at all until near the end. I mean I know they're hard rock but it would be helpful for other people. Otherwise have a pos!

As for the album I didn't particularly care for Parabelle's double album although I love Evans Blue so I may as well check this one out. It's streaming on Bandcamp right?

Digging: Nicki Minaj - The Pinkprint

TheSupernatural
September 10th 2012


1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To be honest, I'm not quite sure how to edit this. Can anyone help me?


I think the statement I made about variance in music is inaccurate. It's not that there's no variety, but the music doesn't
dramatically change at all in the album. I didn't really criticize much, but I'd like to add that it bothers me how many
songs start with similar guitar parts. The first six tracks all start with simple guitar riffs that tend to turn me away
immediately ("Blisters and Bad Eyes" starts with bass and sounds a little different, but still uses an identical build up).


@nickg Well I thought In the Shadow and My Surrender were near ballads, just a bit faster and electric. In the Shadow is
like a combination of Beg and Q, which are both fan favorites. It's actually my favorite on the album. The length of the
songs does disappoint me a little too, I wish they would've added a bit more in the instrumentals.


@Brostep I actually love Parabelle's double album, though it took some time getting into. A Drop in the Ocean and Blur
have unique structures, but I love that about them. And yes, the album is streaming on Bandcamp.


Edit: After listening to "Tear the Blue" and "Blisters and Bad Eyes" again, they're still pretty good songs. The former
brings has a strong chorus and bridge, while the latter builds up really well.


greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

In order to edit your reviews enter 'my profile' then under your avatar you should find 'Edit My Reviews/Albums' button, click on it.

TheSupernatural
September 11th 2012


1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Okay, thank you!

nickg42084
September 16th 2012


88 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Supernatural- I kinda have to disagree with Q and Beg as those are two of my least favorite EB songs w/ Kevin. I don't like his more poppy songs near as much as the harder stuff. In The Shadows is good but probably my least favorite track on the cd, for some reason everyone seems to like that song the most and I still haven't figured out why(still love it though) and My Surrender is amazing of course and I think is the perfect closer. I just think some of their guitar effects and drums were so good that I would have liked to hear some longer instrumentals thrown in. Like the guitar solo on Let it Out was quite awesome why not some more of that? Perhaps they could only afford so much space on the cd though as they are an Indie band and pay for their stuff out of pocket.

TheSupernatural
September 16th 2012


1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite Evans Blue song is Painted and I got attribute it to how epic the bridge/solo was. A Cross and a Girl Named Blessed was my favorite on "The Melody...". But I'd still say Q and Beg are fan favorites (I've had both stuck in my head at times), though not the strongest songs. EB w/ Kevin is my favorite band of all time, and Parabelle still hasn't quite reached that level. They moved in the right direction with this album, but what I'm waiting for is a concept album where the lyrics and music can truly weave together to make one epic masterpiece. Kevin's lyrics tell stories lots of the time, but I feel like he's got more to say.


Just talking to myself at this point, but I wish they'd put out an an album that expanded a story they've started before, like A Drop in the Ocean or Kiss the Flag, really put some effort into the music. Not just songs that sound good live, but songs that leave a lasting impact. I think Parabelle has the potential to put something out as good, if not better than Brand New's "The Devil and God...".


Also, I live in California and have never seen Kevin or Evans Blue live : kinda sucks not living in Houston, where nearly every good band plays

nickg42084
September 17th 2012


88 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had the pleasure of seeing Evans Blue when Kevin was in the band. It was 1 month before he was removed from the band back in July 2008 in Detroit Michigan. I get what you are saying about Kevin putting out a concept anthem. I see some progressive music undertones in his work, but I think he is holding a bit too tightly to what he knows best. I'd like to see him branch out with his heavy/soft style songs like Line of Fire. That song really surprised me and I'd like to see more of this style. We know Kevin can jam out and let out some mean growls why not more often? I love his singing voice but when he lets out a scream it's definitely just as good.

TheSupernatural
September 17th 2012


1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Line of Fire really surprised me too. There's actually a bit more growling/screaming in this album than I expected, but it's definitely welcome. Maybe I can be their future drummer! Lol

nickg42084
September 18th 2012


88 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol I highly doubt that, but good luck! H-Bomb Davis (also formally with EB) is their touring drummer right now and I'd be willing to bet he will take the job. He is quite good too! I'm not sure if he did the drums in the actual album but it wouldn't surprise me since they are stellar.

Havey
December 4th 2012


9809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

pretty fun album

Digging: Billie Holiday - Lady Day: The Best of Billie Holiday

CaptainDooRight
March 27th 2013


30334 Comments


dam would i like this

Havey
March 27th 2013


9809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lowered rating cos eh this isn't really my thing

dunno cap, if you like modern hard rock like evans blue you'd probably find something to enjoy here but somehow i doubt it

TheSupernatural
April 3rd 2013


1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Parabelle is one of the top alt rock bands around, but I get the feeling they're being held back by refusing to tour as a support band.

Listen to "Rise" if you want a good idea of whether or not you'll like it. It's not the best song, but it's probably the most accessible.

Mnstorm99
January 7th 2014


34 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To me, not a bad song on the album. I would say I prefer A Summit Borderline over A Drop Oceanic, and this album seems more in line with a better production quality. As much as I love Matisyns voice and lyrics, I hope the writing continues to evolve past this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy