The Aquabats
The Fury of the Aquabats!


4.0
excellent

Review

by Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (109 Reviews)
September 6th, 2012 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Undeniably catchy and fun ska that makes you feel like a kid again.

The Aquabats are not a very conventional band, even in the world of ska. Although they play fun, upbeat music similar to many bands like them in the 90’s, they also wear matching costumes and take on superhero personas. Just a peak at the eccentric album cover of eight grown men wearing masks , and the listener will know they’re in for something different. As if that’s not interesting enough, their breakthrough album, “The Fury of the Aquabats!”, also features longtime Blink-182 drummer Travis Barker who makes a great addition to the band.

Released in 1997, their second full length contains 15 infectious ska songs about everything from fighting villains to two-headed cats. Fronted by “The Bat Commander”, the album starts out with a bang as ‘Super Rad’ is one of the catchiest songs of the bunch. It’s made even better by Barker’s exceptional drum work and its sing along chorus. Thankfully, the vocalist proves to be competent as well with a confident voice that seems to be the perfect fit for the genre. Barker also shines on ‘Fight Song’ which is a minute long instrumental that focuses mainly on guitar and drums. Other songs like ‘Cat with 2 Heads’ or ‘Lobster Bucket’ are just plain fun and show off the bands sense of humor.

Perhaps the hardest thing to digest in this album are its lyrics. While other ska bands like Five Iron Frenzy or Reel Big Fish don’t have the most profound lyrics, they aren’t as downright silly as The Aquabats. In ‘Red Sweater’ we hear, “I met you in the third grade/ I didn’t know that you liked lemondade/ I met you another year later/ You wore a red sweater with an alligator”. It’s no secret these songs seem like they could have been written by a five year old, but that’s kind of the point. Clearly, the band is just about having a good time and they aren’t meant to be taken too seriously. I mean, you got that they are grown men wearing costumes, right?

I’ll admit The Aquabats are an acquired taste but if you aren’t too critical and you accept this album for what it is, there’s a lot to be enjoyed here. “The Fury of The Aquabats” is arguably the bands best release to date. It’s both energetic and playful and it’s bound to make you feel like a kid again.



Recent reviews by this author
The Residents EskimoTrvth Approaching
Agalloch The Serpent and the SphereThe Byrds Mr. Tambourine Man
Somos Temple of PlentyFireworks Oh, Common Life
user ratings (196)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Spence D. (4.5)
...

Clumpy (4)
Catchy Superhero Ska...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


50380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad you liked it

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


50380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The lyrics are supposed to be for kids, they have a kids show now

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


19756 Comments


You mean yo gabba gabba or they have their very own show?
Whether the lyrics are supposed to be for kids or not I still really like this album.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


50380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yo gaabba gabba is just the singer's show, and they have the aquabat's super show on the Hub now and it's pretty rad

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


19756 Comments


Oh haven't heard of it. What's so rad about it? lol isn't it a kids show?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


50380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it's for like the 8-10 range, it's fun to be a kid again

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


19756 Comments


"it's fun to be a kid again"

That's exactly why I enjoy this record and The Aquabats in general.
Cool maybe I'll check the show out sometime although I'd have a better excuse if I had kids haha.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


19756 Comments


This is my 10th review so I'm looking for any suggestions as far as mistakes with punctuation/grammer or just any ideas on how to make the review better.
Any feedback appreciated.

chupacabraisreal
September 6th 2012


211 Comments


I just saw these guys a few days ago. Everyone in the crowd got to be in a Yo Gabba Gabba commercial, then we proceed to skank around.

Digging: Bones - SKINNY

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


50380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn I'll read later

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


19756 Comments


@chupacabra, haha nice.
@Trebor, no worries.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


50380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review
Yeah fight song drums rule

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


19756 Comments


Thanks man

ViperAces
September 7th 2012


12430 Comments


Good review man.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2012


19756 Comments


Ha, thanks man I appreciate it.

Like I said I really doubt you'd enjoy this but thanks for checking out my review ; )

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 6th 2014


50380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you're my gal
I'm your man
I don't care if we live in a garbage can

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 6th 2014


19756 Comments


Lol I think you and I are the only people on this site who care about this band

IleftyspankedU
January 10th 2014


691 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm your man
You're my gal
I'm so glad that we are pals
(Quotes the 33 year old with no kids)

Kris.
January 10th 2014


12345 Comments


charge!! is better!!

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2014


50380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol no



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy