The Amity Affliction
Chasing Ghosts


2.0
poor

Review

by James Versluis USER (3 Reviews)
September 6th, 2012 | 225 replies | 17,271 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tried, tested and tired.

8 of 21 thought this review was well written

Formulas often work. Pythagoras made a pretty good formula, The Smiths used a formula of honesty and inner reflection to make their music shine and Alice Cooper used a formula of shock to gain attention. Sometimes, however, formulas and plans fail to work as well as well as they appear on paper. On paper, The Amity Affliction is a great band. Their 2010 release entitled “Young Bloods” debuted at number 6 on the ARIA Charts, they have received countless praises from both Australian and overseas publications, and, as I experienced firsthand, they put on a great live show. This being said, a band must evolve to survive. Nobody wants to listen to the same record twice. This is, unfortunately, where I see The Amity Affliction’s downfall. Don’t get me wrong, I have sung along to “Anchors” in my car and even had “I Hate Hartley” as my ringtone. I adored The Amity Affliction.

“Chasing Ghosts”, the title track of the album, is uninspired at best. The electronic breakdowns feel forced, the guitar work isn’t anything we haven’t heard before. In general, the song feel tried, tested and tired. “Life Underground” begins marginally different to any predating Amity song, however it soon dissolves into the same old. Not to trivialise the issues that The Amity Affliction are trying to discuss, but the emotional backdrop that each lyric seems to require to have is nothing short of bland.
“RIP Bon” is again, just more of the same. The chord progression is the same, the structure of the song is the same, and the lyrical direction is, yet again, nothing new. It begs the question whether or not, since signing to Roadrunner, The Amity Affliction are being directed to continue with a formula that has seemed to work for three albums, that Amity don’t actually feel comfortable with anymore.

“I Heart HC” was the next song that actually stood out amongst the mess. While the song does devolve into the same formula, yet again, at least they’re trying something new.

I couldn’t begin to tell you how many times I heard the words “I”, “heart” and “have” in this album. The Amity Affliction have targeted adolescents in this release through coercing as many emotional words as possible out of the lyrical material. Unfortunately, I do not fit into this adolescent market.

This album is like 10 shades of black. Sure, it changes slightly throughout the runtime, the album is essentially the same song 10 different ways. Ahren’s voice sounds overproduced, the album feels rushed and the whole formula essentially feels stale. Some people will love it, some people will hate it. I really wanted to like this album, if not for The Amity Affliction, but for Australian hardcore. Whether or not it is the abundance of Australian hardcore bands these days that have killed the scene, or this album is actually terrible, I will never know. If you’re looking for an album that sounds exactly like Youngbloods, you will relish this release. If you are looking for a matured, evolved and progressed version of The Amity Affliction, steer clear.


user ratings (261)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
phishing
September 6th 2012



395 Comments


rating distrib is wtf

teethoftheshark
September 6th 2012



21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah, it certainly is a bit strange.

nononsense
September 6th 2012



3359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I agree that it sounds like Youngbloods and Ahren's vocals are overproduced, but you will change your mind about the lyrics once you read Joel's explanations for them. I loved Youngbloods so much that I don't mind that this sounds like it, but if their next album is on the same path as Chasing Ghosts, then I will share your opinion.

nononsense
September 6th 2012



3359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Flowerbomb is the best song they have ever wrote.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 6th 2012



3406 Comments


Why is the rating on this a 4.2 if you gave it a 2.0? I mean, what makes it so popular for everyone else?

amrito92
September 6th 2012



16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I disagree with this review, yes it sounds similar to Youngbloods but were you hoping for something completely different if you loved Youngbloods? It was an amazing album and I'm glad they've kept to that style cos its proven to work and Amity fans will love it. Also the lyrics HAVE evolved and so has the incredible keyboard work, they have taken the symphonic elements to a whole new level, definitely evolved from Youngbloods. Every song is great on here imo, and even the only 'problem' is the lack of 'evolution' why the 2/5? You shouldn't compare to other albums anyway, it's an individual album, let it be and praise it for how it sounds. A lot of bands change style and just ruin themselves. It's great they are KEEPING IT REAL! Brilliant album imo.

ps - you don't need to 'evolve to survive' what about AC/DC?? They are still massively successful and I bet their 2013 album will be the exact same style but still cherished by the masses.

TooLateToGoBack
September 6th 2012



1758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A 2? Nah.

sspedding
September 6th 2012



4752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gonna get flamed here for that but i shall reserve judgement. Review is decent.

Bakemono
September 6th 2012



1 Comments


lol at all the 5's. but hey if it's already a classic..
As for the review i agree, i used to listen to Severed Ties a lot but this is average.

phishing
September 6th 2012



395 Comments


too many fanboys itt

Nikkolae
September 6th 2012



4820 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

yeah a 2.5 seems about right, i fucking hate the over production of the vocals, both here and on Youngbloods.

Digging: Clipping - CLPPNG

RosaParks
September 6th 2012



14826 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yea i dont see this being anywhere near the last album, which was generic, but catchy at least. What I've heard from this wasn't even catchy

KSK1
September 6th 2012



4077 Comments


This band is so average to me and the cleans are absolutely grating to my ears. I will probably never listen to this because of them.

GiaNXGX
September 6th 2012



4867 Comments


Haven't heard this, I want to... Not expecting something better than Youngbloods.

JackSparrow
September 6th 2012



1686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The cleans have worn off me so much since Youngbloods but the rest of the music is up to par with it. Would have liked a song as awesome as Anchors or HMAS Lookback but so far not hearing one.

nononsense
September 6th 2012



3359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@JackSparrow Flowebomb is that song.

JackSparrow
September 6th 2012



1686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Havent gotten that far yet in the album but cool I look forward to hearing it

Nikkolae
September 6th 2012



4820 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

yeah flowerbomb is pertty cool

JackSparrow
September 6th 2012



1686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is it like some stupid inside joke they have that on each release there's a song called "RIP..." or "I Heart..."?

NorwichScene
September 6th 2012



1415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

RIP Bon and Open Letter are awesome songs. I'm gonna be listening to this solid for the next few days

Digging: Twin Atlantic - Great Divide



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy