Swans
Cop


4.0
excellent

Review

by Liles, Hugh USER (20 Reviews)
September 5th, 2012 | 54 replies


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The aural equivalent of an ass-kicking.

The music of Swans' early period has been said to be "really like little else on the planet before or since" by Allmusic reviewer Ned Ragett, and the statement is truer than you might think. Nothing perhaps better personifies this uniqueness than their 1984 album Cop. Cop takes the crushing brutality of Filth and takes it into overdrive. The songs here are slower, sludgier, heavier and dirtier than anything they had done previously, and it packs a ***ing whallop. Listening to Cop is much like the aural equivalent of kicking someone's ass and having your ass kicked at the same time; it is a primal, satisfying experience, but it can also be an intensely painful one.

The switch from the faster tempos of Filth to the slower, sludgier ones found here is demonstrated quite well by the first track, "Half Life," and Cop only gets better from there. Songs like "Why Hide," "Your Property," and "Cop" are among the most primal, savage recordings the band ever made, and they paint a portrait of a dark, hopeless, and grueling industrial world where you are the slave and he is your master. You will submit, goddammit, or die trying.

Cop is one intense and fulfilling experience of an album. It has been called "one of the most brutal albums ever made" by some, and they are not lying. This is the human psyche at its most raw, disturbing, and violent, and consequently, in some twisted up sort of way, its most beautiful. If you haven't heard anything from Swans' early period yet, you're doing yourself a disservice.



Recent reviews by this author
Weezer Everything Will Be Alright in the EndDemon Hunter Extremist
Samiam ClumsySkyhill Run With the Hunted
Ninja Sex Party Strawberries and CreamSwans Children of God
user ratings (246)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lakes.
September 4th 2012


28396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thought i'd write this up because it didn't have a review.

Digging: Scott Walker and Sunn O))) - Soused

Idnuf
September 4th 2012


1491 Comments


who are these quotes supposed to be attributed to?

also one of your initial claims is that Cop is their most 'unique' album and then for the rest of the review it's explained to be Filth but slower and heavier

mindleviticus
September 4th 2012


8292 Comments


I would love to listen to more Swans, but..

I just don't really feel like listening to them. The Seer was enough for me woowee.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2012


50553 Comments


"who are these quotes supposed to be attributed to?"

abraham lincoln


Lakes.
September 4th 2012


28396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"also one of your initial claims is that Cop is their most 'unique' album and then for the rest of the
review it's explained to be Filth but slower and heavier"

i meant that their early period is unique to itself, as in very little else is like it

Idnuf
September 4th 2012


1491 Comments


ok your quick revisions have sort of improved the review, at least in clarity regarding the 'unique' bit

then again now we know you actually quoted an allmusic reviewer in the first sentence of your review which is overwhelmingly lame

eternium
September 4th 2012


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not my favorite Swans but still rules.

ThroneOfAgony
September 4th 2012


3485 Comments


Haven't heard this one yet but Filth ruled hard

Lakes.
September 4th 2012


28396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"then again now we know you actually quoted an allmusic reviewer in the first sentence of your review which is overwhelmingly lame"

eh, this was a 5 minute write-up, can't really be arsed lol

Lakes.
September 4th 2012


28396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Haven't heard this one yet but Filth ruled hard"

this is like filth but slower and heavier

sideburndude
September 4th 2012


2782 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Public Castration...

KILL
September 4th 2012


71955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dude review filth too!

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Lakes.
September 4th 2012


28396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'll do it and prob greed and holy money

ILJ
September 4th 2012


6710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

*drum fill*

DUNDUN DUUUUN DUUUUUUUUUUN SQUEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL

Lakes.
September 4th 2012


28396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

listen to this!

Calc
September 4th 2012


12250 Comments


I just don't really feel like listening to them. The Seer was enough for me woowee. [2]

Sowing really created a monster with his review...


Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

Lakes.
September 4th 2012


28396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Sowing really created a monster with his review..."

yeah he did, i now have 10.4 hours of swans in windows media player!

MGMTBoys
September 4th 2012


272 Comments


You don't deserve to listen to Swans.

Lakes.
September 4th 2012


28396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm sorry mr. deck.

MGMTBoys
September 4th 2012


272 Comments


Figures you'd only hear of them now you little bastard.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy