Scorpions
Blackout


4.0
excellent

Review

by RunOfTheMill USER (6 Reviews)
September 4th, 2012 | 44 replies | 5,916 views


Release Date: 1982 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “You know what album is the ***ing sh*t, people?”

9 of 9 thought this review was well written

By the early 1980s, rock 'n' roll music had been through many phases. Emerging from folk and pop music, it went through experimental, psychedelic phases that were popular during the 1960s, and became heavier and more technical in the 1970s with the first wave of heavy metal and the emergence or punk and progressive rock. Heavy music was underground, and was rather unconventional. However, the early 1980s proved how hard rock and heavy metal could be mainstream. During a time when people were fed up of the fear-riddled events of the 1960s and '70s, '80s pop culture was all about feeling good. The doom and gloom of heavy music transitioned to a more light-hearted approach. The Scorpions are a perfect example of this attitude, with 1982's Blackout being the embodiment of perfect cross between pop and hard rock.

Starting off guns blazing with its title track, Blackout has many fast-paced guitar riffs to go around. Likening to releases such as In Trance and Lovedrive, the Scorpions perform straight-forward hard rock throughout the album. Whether it be the sheer energy of “Now!” and “Blackout”, or the grinding heaviness of “China White” and “Dynamite”, it has enough content to satisfy any headbanger's needs.

With this base comes the rest of the album. Supported by simple, but catchy guitar riffs, and minimalist rhythm, the band infuse pop perfectly with their hard rock sound. Tracks such as “Can't Live Without You” and “Arizona” focus mostly on Meine's vocal melodies and guitar fills, and are ultimately fun and catchy. It's no wonder that lead single “No One Like You” is such a classic, with it's immensely catchy chorus and trademark guitar solo!

However, with pop comes cheese. Throughout the album, listeners are treated to very simple lyrics about boys chasing girls, and how awesome rock 'n' roll is. For example, the first verse of “Now!” goes:

Quote:
Like it played loud
Powerhouse sounds
My body wants to rock and let it out
Really high born
Morning till dawn
I'm going all the way just on and on
It's gonna be wild, it's gonna be wild
It's gonna be wild
Now!
Though album closer “When the Smoke Is Going Down” takes a bit of deeper mood, the album's lyrics are very corny, and not meant to be taken seriously for the most part, and listeners ought to let the music speak rather than the words.

Though you will not likely find the meaning of life by listening to Blackout, it's diverse set of songs, accessibility in sound and energetic feel will surely entertain almost all audiences. Simple in its conception, and effective in its aim to be a “feel-good” record, the Scorpions appeal to the masses, producing what may be called near perfection of the mainstream formula for hard rock.

Klaus Meine - vocals
Rudolf Schenker - guitars
Matthias Jabs - guitars
Francis Buccholz - bass
Herman Rarebell - drums



Recent reviews by this author
X Japan DahliaUnisonic Unisonic
Scorpions In TranceUnisonic Ignition
Scorpions Lonesome Crow
user ratings (220)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
John Marinakis (5)
A glorious rampage and Klaus Meine’s personal victory....


Comments:Add a Comment 
RunOfTheMill
September 3rd 2012



1424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Numero cinco :D

I didn't know how to start off the review, so I asked my friend, and thus appeared my summary!

Here's "No One Like You", though you've probably already heard 1000 times if you listen to your local
classic rock station.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q34pUPTy5Dk

Also, HOW WAS THIS NOT REVIEWED YET

YoYoMancuso
September 3rd 2012



10777 Comments


aren't you that guy who commented on my maudlin review?

anyway nice review, this definitely needed one. congrats on 5 reviews, it only gets easier from here. pos'd

RunOfTheMill
September 3rd 2012



1424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, that would be me! That was ages ago ("ages" - a month), I'm surprised ya remember.

Well thanks for reading and the pos :-)

Fluttertrank
September 4th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this didnt have a review before? wtf!

CaptainDooRight
September 4th 2012



28297 Comments


solid review bro Pos'd

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2012



19900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of my favourite Scorpions albums, although I've mostly been listening to the Uli Jon Roth era lately. This is defintely my favourite of their 80's albums though.

Great review bro, pos'd.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2012



1836 Comments


My personal favourite Scorpions album up to now, although it may well change when I listen to every one of the band's albums again. Good review too.

KILL
September 4th 2012



70310 Comments


queef

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2012



19900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

KILL have you heard their 70's stuff? I'd be surprised if you didn't at least like some if it. The stuff they did with Uli Jon Roth is awesome, I mean even Jethro and Angel dig it.

RunOfTheMill
September 4th 2012



1424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the positive feedback everybody :3

ViperAces
September 4th 2012



12374 Comments


I was wondering for some time now where to start with them?

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2012



1836 Comments


I personally would start with something popular like 'Love at first Sting' or this album if you want the best example of Scorpions' classic sound, but any of the 70's albums are pretty damn good too.

RunOfTheMill
September 4th 2012



1424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a solid start, along with Love at First Stinng. Their '70s stuff is quite different, so you could also go there. Their '00 albums are similar to their '80s stuff as well.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2012



19900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Viper: It really depends on what side of their sound you're most interested in. They're 70's albums (particularly the ones with Roth) are a lot more experimental than they're later more mainstream sound.

ViperAces
September 4th 2012



12374 Comments


I guess Ill start with this one, Somone Like You is one of the coolest songs I ever heard.

TheNotrap
September 6th 2012



7959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Album rules damn hard, one of my favourites.
Have a pos man.

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

KILL
September 6th 2012



70310 Comments


KILL have you heard their 70's stuff? I'd be surprised if you didn't at least like some if it. The stuff they did with Uli Jon Roth is awesome, I mean even Jethro and Angel dig it.


only virgin killer but i didnt dig it, i'll give em another go soon

RunOfTheMill
September 6th 2012



1424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the pos Notrap :D

And I do hope you do give them another chance, KILL. Maybe try Fly to the Rainbow, it's more proggy than anything else, and it has the same drummer as Eloy.

DavidScott
May 11th 2013



37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

bump&pos



rockandmetaljunkie
May 22nd 2013



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great stuff, definitely their best 80's record. I like how metallic this album sounds, I really dig it.

Also, pos my friend you did a fine job reviewing this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy