Linkin Park
Living Things


3.5
great

Review

by paulosullivan USER (1 Reviews)
September 4th, 2012 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The sound of a band beginning to understand their own musical direction

Living Things is the sound of a band that, after several years of unsure experimentation, has reached a more solid creative grounding. Linkin Park have clearly emerged stronger from the murky depths of musical uncertainty. The records predecessor, A Thousand Suns, has proven to be a pivotal stepping stone in the direction of Living Things. The band has taken the general change of direction evident on A Thousand Suns as well as all of its strongest elements and rebuilt them on a much stronger foundation.

The record sees a return to more familiar lyrical themes from the bands back catalogue, such as disillusionment, anger and oppression. However, while some have viewed this as the band shying away from lyrical advancement in favour of familiar territory, this is not the case. While recognisable themes are weaved in throughout the record, there is a noticeable shift in the bands attitude toward these issues.

“And I’ve come back unshaken, let down, I’ve lived and let go, so you can let it be known, I don’t hold back, I hold my own” –Lost In The Echo

“I’ma be that nail in your coffin, sayin’ that I soften, I was duckin’ down to reload, so you can take your petty explanations, I don’t have the patience…” – Lies Greed Misery

These are just two examples of the band addressing similar issues as before, but from a very different place, from a place of strength and constructive anger. Any accusations that the band have relapsed into safer lyrical territory are unfounded. There is an overarching sense of maturity that can be felt throughout the album.

Complementing lyrical maturity is the equally important musical maturity, another box the band has ticked on this record. This is the most together album the band has released since Meteora, with Minutes to Midnight and A Thousand Suns starting to seem almost like transitional records. These records were of a high quality but they cannot match the all-round strength of Living Things.

The albums opening track, Lost in the Echo, is a balls to the wall techno-rock hybrid vocally shared by Bennington and Shinoda. It acts as a fine introduction to the album and demonstrates the bands ability to experiment with sound without losing musical integrity. They will undoubtedly face backlash from fans of their early days because there is less focus on guitar, but what they have recorded carries the same power, though it is expressed through different means.

Personally I feel that Linkin Park have gone down the right road. Some view their experimentation as “selling out”. I see it as a band exploring different sounds and styles while holding on to the power and energy that makes their music what it is. Their songs carry the same weight they always have even if the formula itself has changed somewhat.

Many songs, such as I’ll Be Gone and Burn It Down, demonstrate this. However, there is great diversity to be found on this record. Roads Untraveled and Castle Of Glass show the bands softer side. Located between these tracks is the short Victimized which is a very interesting song. There is no way to describe its tempo or structure. It begins with a modest vocal line, followed swiftly by Bennington screaming himself into cardiac arrest, which leads into a rap from Shinoda and finishes with what can only be described as an angry-as-*** instrumental and vocal.

Some tracks on the album carry with them memories of albums past, with Lies Greed Misery being reminiscent of Blackout for example. It is almost a celebration of all things past and present. The band has drawn on their old sounds and blended them with a new and exciting change in direction. It really sounds like they have hit their creative stride and now, on their 5th album, they are really beginning to understand their craft. It is an exciting time to be a Linkin Park fan.


user ratings (1214)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
MeatSalad
September 4th 2012


15089 Comments


People are still reviewing this?

Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs (And Around in Your Heart and on

Lenix
September 4th 2012


793 Comments


shit

EvoHavok
September 4th 2012


1500 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Please stop reviewing this...

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

kwill15
September 4th 2012


134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm actually surprised no one has given this more than a 4.

TheLast7thVermicide
September 4th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm actually surprised no one has given this more than a 4.

Not trying to be rude kwill but the maximum note for this album is a 3,5. Is good but it has some notable flaws( lies greed misery and skin to bone are really bad). Only their old works for me deserves a note of 4 and more.

TheLast7thVermicide
September 4th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also is not a secret for anybody that a lot of people in places like sputnik and rate your music can't stand this band. Despite of the big fanbase that Chester and company have. They are hated among a lot of people ,specially by the rock and metal purists, and certainly their 2 previous inconsistent LP's didn't help.

chambered49
September 4th 2012


1727 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

whats the best band ever made

Youtellme
September 4th 2012


1351 Comments


Hybrid Theory, and even then that's average

TheLast7thVermicide
September 4th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hybrid Theory is for me a sentimental classic that was responsable for my musical taste nowdays, but I can understand why a lot people don't like that album.

Youtellme
September 4th 2012


1351 Comments


Yeah i have a bit of a sentimental side for it too, but from an unbiased perspective, i see it as nothing more than average.

TheLast7thVermicide
September 4th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The only problem I saw was that forgotten instrumentation was similar to break stuff and that the bass of phoenix was forgetabble , only I could save part of his work in a place for my head. But the rest is good as fuck, Is catchy, has an universal appeal, lyrics are far better than the typical work of fred durst or jacboy shaddiz and mike and chester have very good vocal performances.


truekebabpower
September 4th 2012


639 Comments


"The record sees a return to more familiar lyrical themes from the bands back catalogue, such as disillusionment, anger and oppression."

That's a nice way to put it.

TheLast7thVermicide
September 4th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't get me wrong, I like Hybrid Theory, I think it is a solid album. But considering how much my music taste has evolved since 12, I just have no need for it anymore

I know, things have changed a lot.

huguitoescorza
September 4th 2012


133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Linkin Park Sux

kwill15
September 4th 2012


134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@TheLast7thVermicide

Yeah, I see where you're coming from (but I disagree about Skin to Bone, it's a really cool track). I am not a rock or metal purist and I personally love electronic elements in music, and I did enjoy their last album, so this is a great album for me. I feel like I'm the only one though, so I feel stupid about liking this.

Youtellme
September 4th 2012


1351 Comments


If you feel stupid for liking something, then you ARE stupid.

kwill15
September 4th 2012


134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's not really what I meant. What i meant to say is I wish i wasn't one of the only ones on the site who likes this. I sometimes read other reviews of it, then I put this on, enjoy it, and my rating stays stable anyway.

that's really harsh. chill ._.

Youtellme
September 4th 2012


1351 Comments


Harsh? rofl, you haven't been on this site enough, it seems.

I wasn't even saying it to be a dick, i meant that you shouldn't stupid for liking your music.

kwill15
September 4th 2012


134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't feel stupid about liking this band or album. I just wish everyone didn't hate it as much as they do. Well, I guess that's just sputnik being sputnik

TheLast7thVermicide
September 4th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Kwill. I like a big part of material released by this band, even I enjoy a bunch of tracks of their albums. Also I like electronic , experimental electronic, industrial, breakbeat, trip-hop, the opinion of a lot of rock and metal purists is worthless and most of the purists in music are just a fuckin joke. You shouldn't feel bad if you enjoy linkin park or another band or artist that is not well received by some people in rock, metal ,rap and electronic circles. Taste are subjective and everybody has a different conception, also everybody has a different personallity and the things on the mind of the people are not the same. Just relax and enjoy.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy