Jeremiah Jae
Raw Money Raps


4.0
excellent

Review

by PorkchopExpress USER (37 Reviews)
September 1st, 2012 | 20 replies | 3,091 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Jeremiah Jae delivers the most unique hip-hop album of 2012, and likely well into 2013.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Experiments, no matter how well intentioned, don't always end well. In fact, sometimes when they don't work, they end in disaster. While the stakes in experimenting with music obviously don't carry the weight of life-or-death, they can end/derail a career very quickly. I'm sure Chris Cornell had nothing but good intentions when he was making Scream, which was the definition of "disaster". The shadow of that album hung over him for years, even up to today. So it takes a brave soul to push limits as much as Jeremiah Jae does on his debut album, Raw Money Raps. Moving from Chicago to LA and signing to Flying Lotus' Brainfeeder label (after the two became friends online a half decade ago) certainly helps his chances of success, since Brainfeeder is a typically outside-the-box label as is, but even by those standards this album is really out there. However, Jae is a legit talent, and for the most part the experiment work.

The album makes its statement right from the opening track, "Guns Go Off". With a chugging, twitchy beat produced by Jae (who did a majority of the production on the album), the vocals sound like they're drowning in the beat. This is a common thing on the album, and something that works both for and against it. Jae's lyrics are abstract--and very good--but the beat suffocates them on a lot of tracks. This invites two things, which bring us back to the "work for and against" part. One is frustration, and the other is curiosity. Frustration due to not being able to easily make out what he's saying a lot of time, and curiosity because it makes you want to hear what he's saying, which leads to closer listening, and this is an album that requires it in many ways. It's an album that begs to be heard through a good pair of headphones.

All of this isn't to say that Jae doesn't show that he's adept at creating more common-sounding hip-hop at certain points. Tracks like "Greetings", "Money And Food" (which takes large swipes at radio hip-hop), as well as two album highlights--"Seasons" and "Cat Fight", play it slightly safer. The former still lowers the vocals, but the structure of the beat is more accessible. I've seen other reviews bag on "Cat Fight" (which was produced by Lotus himself) as being too much like Madlib, but I fail to see how that's a detriment. Using chipmunk-distorted soul samples, it's easily one of my favorite tracks on the album.

Obviously, his technique doesn't always work. But aside from one track, "Guerilla (Evolution Pt. 1)", they're all interesting enough to keep your attention for multiple listens. Essentially, they're the kind of tracks that could be skip-able depending on the kind of mood you're in when you hear them. Either way, it's an album that deserves to be heard, especially by fans of weird hip-hop. And while it definitely isn't going to be an album for everyone, to those it is for it's quite a revelation, and one that gives a lot of excitement as to where Jae can go from here.



Recent reviews by this author
Da Mafia 6ix 6ix CommandmentsSurfer Blood Pythons
Onyx All We Got Iz UsMikal Cronin MCII
Alexander Spit A Breathtaking Trip to That OthersideTiRon & Ayomari A Sucker For Pumps
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2012



3347 Comments


Good review, have a pos. One thing people may complain about is "most unique," but personally I find it acceptable because we don't really have another commonly-used word like "unique" that means the same thing. As far as the music, I'll give this one a listen (I think) since Flying Lotus is awesome.

PorkchopExpress
September 1st 2012



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks! And yeah, I was going to go with "one of the more unique" instead, but I honestly can't think of an album that sounds quite like this one that's been released this year.

Jash
September 1st 2012



4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Finally a review for this, hopefully it'll get more attention on here. Such a great album, so hazy. "Money" is one of my fav tracks so far this year

PorkchopExpress
September 1st 2012



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've been meaning to review this for a while, but I got really busy with work and other writing. Then my laptop sh** the bed, so I was without a computer for a few weeks. I figured someone would have gotten to it by now, so I was surprised to see it didn't have one. But I also hope this gets it some more attention.

Jash
September 1st 2012



4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was thinking about writing one just so people would check this out but I haven't put my writing shoe's on for a while and didn't want to do the album any injustice through my review. More people should be gettin on this after reading your review

PorkchopExpress
September 1st 2012



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Honestly, this was a tricky review to write. Now, this could also be because I hadn't written one in a few months, but I wrote the opening probably 4 times before I came up with one I liked. After that it wasn't so bad, but I wasn't sure how to go at this one at first.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2012



3347 Comments


After listening to "Money and Food", I don't really see how this is different from a lot of other rap. It's got a repetitive synth, drums, and bass and the rapper sounds slightly stoned. Am I missing something?

PorkchopExpress
September 1st 2012



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"Money and Food" is easily the most common sounding song on the album. Check "Guns Go Off" or "Tourist" instead.

Tupik
September 1st 2012



671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds very nice, will most definitely check out. Very nice review too, good job

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2012



3347 Comments


Welp, there you have it. "Guns Go Off" is absolutely sick, it sounds kinda like Flying Lotus with a rap track over it. It's fantastic

PorkchopExpress
September 1st 2012



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ha, awesome. I'm glad you came back and said something instead of just listening to "Money and Food" and giving up on it, because that's probably the least representative song of the album on the whole thing.

@Tupik Thanks, and I hope you enjoy it

Calc
September 1st 2012



12036 Comments


if there's one thing I like its originality, I'll give this a listen

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

Kiran
Emeritus
September 2nd 2012



6000 Comments


waaaaaaant

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

PorkchopExpress
September 2nd 2012



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Geeeeeeeeeet

WashboardSuds
October 10th 2012



4984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 21st 2013



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

really need more hip-hop to be like this and noyork

YankeeDudel
February 21st 2013



9305 Comments


ehh

Digging: Black Moth Super Rainbow - Dandelion Gum

PorkchopExpress
February 21st 2013



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Sobhi Jeremiah Jae and Oliver the 2nd put out a free mixtape called Rawhide a few weeks ago. It was free for download in Mediafire until like 4 days ago. I'm sure it's still available via other sources. It's worth checking out if you like this.

plane
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2013



6085 Comments


This does not hold together all too well but props for trying. Not terribly original but he's toeing an edge.

Rev
July 29th 2013



9383 Comments


dude just signed to warp



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy