Dads
American Radass (This Is Important)


4.0
excellent

Review

by C.F. USER (18 Reviews)
August 28th, 2012 | 89 replies | 11,740 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Twinkle hard.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

So, Algernon Cadwallader just broke up. Bummer. Like their cohorts before them, they stuck around for a few years leaving behind a limited catalogue and developing a passionate following in the process. I mean really passionate. While Algernon were around, they provided any sweaty kid that cared to listen with a show in any smelly basement that cared to let them play, shouting their greasy faces off and basking in their unshowered glory. Never before has this reviewer seen such a devout fanbase for a band with such a short tenure. But as the genre suffers this blow, who will carry the torch? New Jersey duo, Dads, with their album American Radass show that they can dazzle our ears with intricate guitar melodies and melt our hearts with intense catharsis with the best of them.

Every song on this album is teeming with pure, unbridled emotion. Dads leave the impression that they care because they want to care. It's emotion for emotion's sake, and nothing is wrong with that. Between the fuzzed-up noisy onslaught of "Get To The Beach" and the slow burners like this album's 7-minute centerpiece "*** Twins", every feeling that each song portrays seems to exist on its own accord. Proclamations like "Turns out you're right / and I'm not sorry / blood, sweat and tears / that's what's keeping me here" show that this album is not burdened by emotion but rather celebrates it, boiling down to one of the most feel-good albums of the genre. Even in its moments of melancholy, American Radass is never painful to listen to or bogged-down. As shown in "*** Twins" the lofty, paper-thin orchestration provides any sorrow that Dads' want to deliver with a vehicle in which to float into the hearts of whoever wants to listen. Nothing is strained, nothing is forced; everything is natural and everything is what it wants to be.



Recent reviews by this author
Screaming Females What If Someone Is Watching Their TV?Milk Music Cruise Your Illusion
Dicks Hate the PoliceBlack Pus All My Relations
Dillinger Four Midwestern Songs Of The AmericasFind Him And Kill Him You Can't Fuck With the Kids
user ratings (193)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
WeepingBanana
August 28th 2012



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Every song on this album is teeming with pure, unbridled emotion.


seriously the most generic sentence to ever be used in an emo review

anywho, i wrote this a tad tipsy at work. rad album, needed a review, hard. check it out

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2012



7762 Comments


Shit review, fire your editor

Digging: The Menzingers - Rented World

WeepingBanana
August 28th 2012



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fanks m8

Ninjask
August 28th 2012



178 Comments


Good band, sweet review.

WeepingBanana
August 28th 2012



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

man, the outro to Aww, C'mon Guys is so good

Spare
August 28th 2012



5223 Comments


excellent band

auberginedreams
August 28th 2012



5981 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this is a good album, although i prefer emo that's just a little less upbeat usually.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



9463 Comments


Dude sweet review, I've wanted to see a review for this for awhile.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

WeepingBanana
August 28th 2012



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks man, have you heard it?

LifeAsAChipmunk
August 28th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, this is a good band.

AbyssalCreation
August 28th 2012



2023 Comments


Big Bag of Sandwiches

A How I Met Your Mother reference? I think so.

This better than Brush Your Teeth? Thought that was kinda meh.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



9463 Comments


Weeping, I heard a decent amount of this once and was a little underwhelmed. It seemed like a 3 then, but I had a feeling it just wasn't the right time to listen to it properly.

WeepingBanana
August 28th 2012



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i haven't heard Brush Your Teeth. Omaha, it definitely takes a few listens to get into, like most emo (i find at least)

i'd also like to point out that from Sept 1st to Nov 10th, Dads are playing a show every single day. that's 71 goddamn shows in a row

WeepingBanana
August 28th 2012



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nvm they have sept 5th off, my bad. what pussies

lacesout39
August 28th 2012



47 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Shit Twins is soooo good

Adabelle
August 28th 2012



4155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Would probably enjoy this but too lazy, pos'd though, i like your reviews

scottscharinger
August 28th 2012



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Scott from Dads here, thanks for the kind words y'all. Big Bag of Sandwich is not a HIMYM reference, you can read about that here: http://www.sanctuaryreview.com/2012/08/track-by-track-dads-american-radass.html
We're actually extending our tour to mid-December, we just haven't really posted about it or posted the dates, but yeah. It'll be about 110 dates total.

WeepingBanana
August 28th 2012



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks Adabelle.

awesome scott

marksellsuswallets
August 28th 2012



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Flannel Gurl is probably the best newer label around right now, everything they've put out this year is solid.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2012



48520 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn I haven't heard this yet

Digging: More Than Life - What's Left Of Me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy