Alanis Morissette
Havoc and Bright Lights


1.5
very poor

Review

by Joseph Viney STAFF
August 27th, 2012 | 98 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Worse than rain on your wedding day

Towards the end of the track “Celebrity”, Morissette appears to claim that she is “a tattooed, sexy, dancing monkey.” The lyric is indicative of just what is wrong with Havoc and Bright Lights. The angry, scorned young woman of Jagged Little Pill has finally given way to a confused, insipid and self-obsessed harpy. “Celebrity”, probably established as a wry aside at the nature of fame, is far more anonymous and plain than its intended targets. It is a trend that continues throughout the LP and is about as helpful and welcome as having the ***s on your wedding day.

Since we’re on the subject of defecation, let’s talk some more about the music. Morissette has now veered completely away from the acerbic, concise barbs upon which she made her name. Instead her flag is well and truly planted in the territory of the vague and ambiguous; one word titles so lacklustre even Pearl Jam would think twice before using them. “Havoc” is instead a paragon of boredom; a Tori Amos b-side in new clothing. “Spiral” winds its way into a landfill of musical proportions and “Til You” doesn’t make sense in any shape or form.

Perhaps this is to be expected after all. Just how long can you keep the fire of inspiration lit? Sales of Jagged Little Pill ensured that Morissette would be quaffing quail eggs and swan’s blood for the rest of her life, so why should she bother? It’s a little ironic (finally!) that you will be asking yourself the same question after two or three songs of this record.

Not even some admittedly slick production can drag this out of the mire. If you view your life through Thelma & Louise specs, convinced of your independence and strong-will in a tough, mad, bad world then this is the record for you. Roll the top down on your rusty car and drive off into the horizon as the end credits spill over the sub-standard rom-com your life has evidently become.



Recent reviews by this author
Morrissey World Peace Is None of Your BusinessArchie Bronson Outfit Wild Crush
Manic Street Preachers FuturologySweet Apple The Golden Age of Glitter
Parquet Courts Sunbathing AnimalSKATERS Manhattan
user ratings (22)
Chart.
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


20857 Comments


"Well, life has a funny way of sneaking up on you, when you think everything's okay and everything's going right"...

& then Joseph reviews your album!

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


31401 Comments


She looks happy

This can't be good

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

MO
August 27th 2012


18897 Comments


lol great conclusion

Ire
August 27th 2012


41805 Comments


& then Joseph reviews your album!


lol

Steoandnoodles
August 27th 2012


2832 Comments


Too much production. =/
It's so clean.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2012


19963 Comments


What happened to her? I loved Jagged Little Pill.

Digging: Grouper - Ruins

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2012


23924 Comments


I had no idea Alanis had a new album coming out. Jagged Little Pill raised me, so it's too bad this is (allegedly) awful. I can't say I'm surprised though.

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

HighandDriving
August 27th 2012


3288 Comments


What happened to her?

She got old and started to suck like everyone else.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2012


23924 Comments


this review is so so so good. honestly, jviney might be one of the best reviewers on this website.

your move, Skoko

someguest
August 27th 2012


20929 Comments


I thought only angsty young women listened to her.

^Oh, right.

Digging: Dexter Gordon - Our Man in Paris

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


7423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think this is her best album since amazing Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie. There's some great pop song craft on this and the album's more stellar than her last couple of ones... I especially enjoy Woman Down, Celebrity, Lens, Spiral, Numb and the title track.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


7423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ooops... double post. The review doesn't convince me, but everyone is entitled to his opinion.

MagmaWalrus
August 27th 2012


243 Comments


The lyric about how it's ironic like rain on your wedding day bothers me because that's not ironic at all.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


322 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nT1TVSTkAXg

KILL
August 27th 2012


71981 Comments


she always sucked

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

someguest
August 27th 2012


20929 Comments


a woman's job

KILL
August 27th 2012


71981 Comments


all theyre gd at agreed

Willie
Moderator
August 27th 2012


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So, what kind of sound is she going with. The alt. rock of the earlier stuff or the electronic style of Flavors of Entanglement.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


322 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

More the latter overall.

MagmaWalrus
August 27th 2012


243 Comments


That video sums up all my thoughts on her, awesome



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy