Minus the Bear
Infinity Overhead


3.5
great

Review

by Alxander19 USER (5 Reviews)
August 24th, 2012 | 22 replies | 1,854 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Combine Omni with Minus The Bear's previous albums, with predictable results.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

What exactly is there to say about an album that is both thankfully reassuring and sadly disappointing? Perhaps the best thing to say to sum up exactly what the problem with Infinity Overhead is, is that it is exactly what I expected it to be: Better than Omni and not as good as any of the albums preceding it. It's almost tempting to deride the band and album completely as being all style and no substance; there's Dave Knudson, doing his signature bending and tapping, off-kilter riffs; there's Jake Snider, with the exact same vocal delivery as always, his warm and always just slightly distant sounding croon thickly embedded; there's Cory Murchy doing-actually, where is he? What is promising is that Erin Tate and Alex Rose have both improved: the synths this time around are for the most part much more comfortably unobtrusive, and Erin Tate (who has always been solid and somewhat overlooked) is groovy and energetic. There's songs like "Diamond Lightning" and "Toska" that recall Planet of Ice, with their atmospheric production and digestible guitar noodling (and don't get me wrong here; Dave Knudson has a fantastic showing on this album, especially on closer "Cold Company", where his finger-tapping chromatics reach dizzying heights.)

In short, there's just not much to say about this album because there is simply nothing new on display. While it may be unfair to compare this so much to their previous albums, it is integral to do so to understand the failing of this effort. Where Omni found Minus The Bear losing their way, this album simply sees them finding their way back, but not at all finding a road to forge ahead. It is still a very fun and musically exceptional album, but perhaps the title of track 7 can most successfully describe the inherent flaw; "Empty Party Rooms." Where Planet of Ice saw the band maturing and mostly moving past the admittedly goofy demeanor of their first two efforts, Omni and Infinity Overhead are content to be merely fun and enjoyable, which is most disappointing. Fans know that Minus The Bear are capable of so much more, and while not nearly as much as Omni, Infinity Overhead still comes sadly close to sounding like an Empty Party Room.


user ratings (249)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Dan H. CONTRIBUTOR (3)
Flashes of brilliance juxtaposed with imperfections....

SwayzeFaced (4)
The drums lay a foundation that the rest of the band dances around like some sort of demon-possessed...

Jacob R. STAFF (3)
Minus the Bear continue the quest for that poignancy they once had in their grasp, and with mixed re...

greencorn5 (3.5)
A very good album worth listening to, but by no means a classic....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Alxander19
August 24th 2012



123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Meh doesn't really read like a 3.5 I guess. And I didn't feel the need to really expound on how the songs sound, seeing as how the summary alone completely does.

mindleviticus
August 24th 2012



8168 Comments


Omni was awful compared to their albums following it.

mindleviticus
August 24th 2012



8168 Comments


Haven't listened yet, but Planet of Ice and Menos el Oso are awesome

Alxander19
August 24th 2012



123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is the first album after Omni.

HitlerIsTheBest
August 24th 2012



1585 Comments


good review, that other one sucked. i wouldnt leave that last sentence in there though, it sends mixed messages.

Alxander19
August 24th 2012



123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought it summed it up pretty well, how does it send a mixed message? I'm always open to constructive criticism.

HitlerIsTheBest
August 24th 2012



1585 Comments


because if its a 3.5 i think it should end on a fairly positive note to reflect the rating. i could see a 3 being fitting of a final statement like that, but not a 3.5.

Alxander19
August 24th 2012



123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I might just change the rating to a 3 to be honest, there are some great songs but this is really disappointing.

HitlerIsTheBest
August 24th 2012



1585 Comments


yeah, this does read more like a 3.

Alxander19
August 24th 2012



123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think you're right Hitler, will change when I'm less lazy, and I think Tate is pretty good on this

darkbunny
August 24th 2012



141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review sums up how I feel exactly. POS'd.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

elephantREVOLUTION
August 25th 2012



2736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review. it's short, but yeah there's really nothing else to say about this album.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2012



10010 Comments


Exceptional review, especially considering its only your fifth. I'm putting ideas together for my review!

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

Alxander19
August 25th 2012



123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very much appreciate the pos's, and though we have the same rating Omaha, I look forward to reading your review I'm sure it will blow mine out of the water haha.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2012



10010 Comments


I haven't written a review in forever so this one will probably be pretty damn awkward haha. I appreciate it though!

fuckthatnoise
August 25th 2012



1479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i wouldn't argue against a 3 tbh.

this is probably my least favorite album of theirs but i still dig it.

chambered49
August 25th 2012



1727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

better than omni!444444447

Masochist
August 25th 2012



7961 Comments


Combine Omni with Minus The Bear's previous albums, with predictable results.


Your summary kinda bothers me. You basically said, "Take their latest album, and then all the albums before it, and you can guess what this album sounds like." That pretty much describes 95% of every single new album to come out ever.

The review itself is good, though.

HighandDriving
August 25th 2012



3261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I want to love this album so much more than a 3.

Blood and Steel has become one of my fav songs of 2012 and at first I thought it was a 2nd rate Incubus song. Plus I can't help but think it's in reference to the novel Crash.

Heaven Is A Ghost Town and Zeroes contain some of the worst lyrics eva. Stop the "subliminal" anti-christian and occupy movement lyrics.

Digging: Nightmares - Suspiria

Spec
August 25th 2012



27062 Comments


Agreed.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy