Senses Fail
Still Searching


4.5
superb

Review

by Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (108 Reviews)
August 16th, 2012 | 51 replies | 5,707 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Drink up your Loneliness

To truly relate to this album, one has to first understand the human condition. At some point, most of us have dealt with loneliness, despair, or even addiction, but we usually don't like to talk about it. Thankfully, we don't have to as frontman Buddy Nielsen does all the talking for us on the bands sophomore release, "Still Searching". It's more than just an album, it's a head-first dive into our darkest fears and insecurities.

Not only are the lyrics painfully honest, but the music is heavier as well. There are still tracks that will please fans of the bands debut, but as a whole this is a completely different listening experience. The album opens with 'The Rapture' in which Buddy sings "I wont be saved" and "we're destined to all die alone". Next up is the fast paced 'bonecrusher' which is about Buddy's struggle with alcoholism. In these songs the band showcases how they can take dark lyrical themes and turn them into upbeat and memorable tracks.

The listener is given an emotional break with the more accessible 'Calling All Cars' and 'Can't be Saved'. Although these songs aren't quite as heavy they are undeniably catchy and manage to adhere to the albums somewhat depressing topics. Some may recognize 'Can't be Saved' from Guitar Hero 3. With it's impressive guitar work and sing-along chorus it's not hard to figure out why they chose this song.

This brings us to the second half of the album which contain some of the best songs Senses Fail have ever written. The title track is the most personal song on here and it portrays feelings of addiction and isolation perfectly. In the second half of the song Buddy sings "My best friend is a man, with a lab coat and a grin, I put out my shaking hand, and he gives me medicine".
The honesty in these lines definitely captures what it feels like to be in the midst of full blown addiction. This song is topped only by the albums final track.

Without a doubt, 'The Priest and the Matador' takes the cake for best song on the album. It's also the closest thing to a ballad to be found here. 'Negative Space' precedes the closer but both songs should be heard back to back. At just a minute and a half in length the song has no vocals but features the same guitar notes as 'Priest and the Matador' which sets the mood for the grand finale.

We all face consequences for our actions and the final track shows how devastating those consequences can be. In the song is a man who has lost all his faith and decides to take his own life. It's a fitting conclusion to an album that so flawlessly portrays the inner-conflicts of the human mind. Anybody who has ever felt hopeless or alone should be able to relate to this album. It's aggressive, thought provoking, and remains one of the bands best releases to date.

Recommended Tracks:

Negative Space/The Priest and the Matador
Still Searching
Bonecrusher
Can't be Saved
Calling All Cars



Recent reviews by this author
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
The Byrds Mr. Tambourine ManSomos Temple of Plenty
Fireworks Oh, Common LifeA Slow Descent On Ganymede
user ratings (837)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Ian (4.5)
Senses Fail has made a gambit with this "Still Searching"; they lost a lot of fans with "Let It Enfo...

guitarhero45 (4)
Senses Fail, All Grown Up...

Understanding In a Crash (4)
...

MrJimmyBrown (4.5)
The third release from Senses Fail doesn't disappoint as the guitars get heavier, the drumming gets ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Spec
August 16th 2012



27051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mean.

SCREAMorphine
August 16th 2012



1751 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All The Best Cowboys is still worth a listen.

Used to love this album.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2012



19395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ya that's def a good song. Album is amazing

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

SCREAMorphine
August 16th 2012



1751 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm the arrow, shot straight to hell.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2012



19395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

BY THE BOW OF WILLIAM TELL!

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2012



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In my opinion, a 4.5 review is the hardest to write because you have to justify why it's close to and not worthy of classic status. Your review kind of failed in that respect. I already know this album is sweet, tell me what parts aren't.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2012



19395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the feedback. Ya, I thought about rating it a 4 for the review but I decided to just give it 4.5. I might try to think of something negative I could add but honestly I like every song on here

nononsense
August 16th 2012



3322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The bonus tracks on the deluxe are good too.

Digging: Jason Lancaster - As You Are

Recspecs
August 16th 2012



9820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let It Enfold You is still their best by a long shot, although this still kicks ass.

Calc
August 16th 2012



11940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this new avatar fad is annoying...i hope everyone hops on. and this album was quite good, didn't notice how "dark" it was though

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

Recspecs
August 16th 2012



9820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Annoying? Are you heterosexual?

nash1311
August 16th 2012



1754 Comments


"Let It Enfold You is still their best by a long shot, although this still kicks ass."

I think I love you. Didn't know anyone else agreed with that but me.

This album, while it seems to be most people's favorite, isn't as good as LIEY nor The Fire imo. I also think I'm in the minority that likes the first half of this album better than the second.

Review was fine. Didn't think anything positive or negative regarding it

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2012



19395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ya, I still love Let it Enfold You but I could relate to this album on a more personal level. The Fire is great too especially due to improved vocals. I like every Senses Fail album though.

JackSparrow
August 16th 2012



1686 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like Let It Enfold You better too but this album is great. The last 3 tracks are so powerful

nash1311
August 16th 2012



1754 Comments


LIEY > TF > SS > LINaWR = FTDoD

imo

JackSparrow
August 16th 2012



1686 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would put it LIEF > SS > TF > FTDOD > LINaWR

Waiting Room is just not good, and the EP has Stephen and 187

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2012



19395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their next album has potential to be their best album if they make more songs like "War Paint".

nash1311
August 16th 2012



1754 Comments


Yeah It's gonna be sweet.

nash1311
August 16th 2012



1754 Comments


I don't agree at all about Waiting Room though. I remember hating it at first when I first listened to it but I think it's a solid album now. It is almost a 4 for me. "Yellow Angels" into "Chandelier" is just plain awesome

nash1311
August 16th 2012



1754 Comments


But as far as I'm concerned this band can do no wrong



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy