Yellowcard
Southern Air


4.0
excellent

Review

by Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (105 Reviews)
August 9th, 2012 | 98 replies | 5,165 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All expectations aside, "Southern Air" is another great effort from Ryan Key and Co.

When Yellowcard announced they would release "Southern Air" this summer, fans everywhere began to form unrealistic expectations of what the bands 8th album should sound like. Some had the notion this would sound like last years release or "Ocean Avenue", while others were eagerly hoping the band would re-create the feel of "Paper Walls" or "Lights and Sounds." Whichever category you fall into, "Southern Air" has enough variety to appeal to any Yellowcard fan.

Within "Southern Air" lie ten new tracks full of energy, great vocals, and of course, the violin. I mean let's face it, that violin helps give the band a fuller sound thanks to Sean Mackin who has been around since the formation of the band. Luckily, the other bandmates manage to impress as well. The drums are as always, much better than the average pop-punk group. Just go spin the eccentric "Sleep in the Snow" and it will become apparent just how much the drummer brings to the table. The guitars are also as pleasing to the ears as in the past, especially when accompanied by Key's signature vocals and that heavenly violin. Hell, even the bass can be noticed on some tracks which is saying a lot for this genre.

The album starts with "Awakening." At first this song doesn't seem overly exciting, but after repeated listens it's catchy riffs and hooks will win you over. Next up is "Surface of the Sun," which contains verses that are equally as catchy as the chorus making it a very enjoyable track. This is immediately followed by two more great tracks, "Always Summer" and "Here I Am, Alive". The latter of the two may seem a bit poppy at first but it's a grower and has to be one of the catchiest songs they've ever written. Another stand-out track is "A Vicious Kind," which has a darker tone to it as Key sings " I want you to know that I'm not sorry at all, you can't buy forgiveness or blame me for the fall." This song sounds like it would have fit perfectly on "Lights and Sounds."

Unfortunately the last four songs can't quite match the quality found in the first half of the album but they are still good tunes. "Rivertown Blues" is sure to become a fan favorite and "Southern Air" brings the album to a satisfying conclusion. Those expecting another Ocean Avenue or Paper Walls may be disappointed, but if you listen closely, you will hear influences from every Yellowcard album on "Southern Air." They aren't reinventing the wheel or even progressing but that doesn't keep this album from being what it is. Simply enjoyable.



Recent reviews by this author
Somos Temple of PlentyFireworks Oh, Common Life
A Slow Descent On GanymedeThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
Agalloch The WhiteThe Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
user ratings (393)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know this was just reviewed but I couldn't help myself. Can't get these songs out of my head.

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

Calc
August 9th 2012



10874 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Couple things:
1. don't start sentences with the word "but"

2. putting parenthesis around someone's name is weird, especially if you're doing that to the songs already

3. there's a couple misspellings, try to proofread or write the review in microsoft word first.

but as a fellow 4 review writer myself this ain't bad i may give this a try someday soon

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback Calc. I'll be editing this some wrote it kind of fast.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know people say they use italics for the Album names..how do I do this?

Calc
August 9th 2012



10874 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ha fuk if I know.. the programming isnt worth the outcome since i read how it doesn't work half the time people try anyway

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, anyone see commas where a semicolon should be? School was ages ago and I wasn't sure where I need to put them.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Calc okay as long as people aren't throwing fits about me having parenthesis around the album names AND the songs names.

breakingthefragile
August 9th 2012



2935 Comments


This is streaming already?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@breaking ya man check it out under the music news titled Yellowcard Album Stream

nash1311
August 9th 2012



1752 Comments


I don't agree with your rating exactly and I definitely don't agree with what you said about the tracks. Awakening is a phenomenal song and "Sleep in the Snow" is the best track on here and you didn't even mention it. Well written review though.

pos

nash1311
August 9th 2012



1752 Comments


As for italics its [ i ] what you wanna say [ /i ] but without the spaces

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Nash, yeah Sleep in the Snow is a great song I just didn't want to go into details about every song. I did mention the album has great drumming but maybe I should refer to Sleep in the Snow.

IamInExile
August 9th 2012



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is a 4.5... best track imo sleep in the snow

nash1311
August 9th 2012



1752 Comments


I mean there are only 4 paragraphs you could have gone into detail about the presentation of the album and used tracks as support. But regardless, you were accurate in what you said

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess we'll have to agree to disagree about Awakening though : P. Not a bad song by any means but certainly not phenomenal.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Nash and IAmInExile...I'm gonna add something about Sleep in the Snow in a bit.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Added something about Sleep in the Snow. The drumming is great and it's a good song but still not my favorite.

Calc
August 9th 2012



10874 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol maybe I should start reviewing shyt people have heard of so I can get some feedback too

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2012



18620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha calc I got hardly any feedback on my last 3 reviews

nash1311
August 9th 2012



1752 Comments


I prefer to review things that don't have one. Because it needs one and because there is no competition and stuff



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy