Heroin
Heroin


3.5
great

Review

by Adam S. USER (6 Reviews)
August 6th, 2012 | 15 replies | 1,770 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The discography of one of the forefathers of screamo.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Heroin formed in 1989, during the oft-called emo explosion that took place on the East coast of America. Yeah that’s right, the oft-called emo explosion. Anyway, around this time, a number of bands were taking the stylings of the hardcore punk scene in a new direction. Yells and screams as opposed to shouts and singing were in more common usage and there was a development of more melody, etc into songs.

This release is their discography, containing the tracks from both their EPs and their self-titled full-length. First up are the six songs that were on their All About Heroin EP with my highlight being the opener, ‘Headcold’. Personally, I think that EP is the best example of Heroin’s work. Every song is an excellent representation of their energetic, angsty style, with relatively simple song structures but punchy vocals and strong guitar lines. Tracks like ‘Leave’, from their second EP, maintain these ideas, which for the time, were fairly innovative. The songs from Heroin (the LP that was released in 1993), are effectively a development of the songs from their EPs. I suppose you could say the guitars are more tuneful but to me, the bass is less weighty and their sound is less appealing than it was on the EPs. I’m not saying the tracks are bad, far from it, they just tend to be less memorable.

Heroin’s straightforward approach to what was a new direction for hardcore punk at the time would prove to leave a huge influence on the scene. The vocalist would later be a member of Antioch Arrow, another band whose very original, sometimes bizarre style lead to more development in the genre. Listening to Heroin’s discography in full would take you less than an hour and would probably be a very good listening experience for most, but I’ll forgive you if you decide to pass and just listen to their first EP, All About Heroin.



Recent reviews by this author
Morpheus Descends Chronicles of the Shadowed OnesWooderson Let The Man Speak
Saetia Demo CassetteKukim Live Morgantown Sound Radio Show
Yaphet Kotto The Killer Was in the Government Blankets
user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adabelle
August 6th 2012



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

V. late soz guys.

CaptainDooRight
August 6th 2012



26557 Comments


weed is better, but good rev pos.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

Adabelle
August 6th 2012



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the interest, did this review for WeepingBanana's review thingy.

Have listened to a few Undone tracks but not any full releases, need to though. I'm making a huge list of French emo/screamo and they're a sizeable part of the beginning! Solid stuff man

Hep Kat
August 6th 2012



14028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great band. i went through a phase about 2 years ago where i listened to these guys constantly

Digging: Fucked Up - Year of the Dragon

Adabelle
August 6th 2012



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I really like them, but for me it's usually just play through All About Heroin a couple of times and then go listen to Honeywell or something

WeepingBanana
August 6th 2012



9902 Comments


fuck yeah, nice review

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2012



48593 Comments


sweet

Digging: Banner Pilot - Souvenir

bungy
August 6th 2012



8843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool

FilupLees
August 10th 2012



344 Comments


I started a review of this at one point but ended up scrapping it. I think they actually formed in '89, which is kind of important, as it explains their influence on the rest of San Diego even more.

Also, one (or more?) Of their members was in Clikatat Ikatowi, who made some crazy, chaotic post-punk/emo without being particularly hardcore. Really great stuff,and way ahead of their time considering when they existed.

Adabelle
August 12th 2012



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah i found it quite hard to write. Didn't know they formed earlier, i'll edit the review, cheers dude.

I've heard of Clikatat Ikatowi but never tried them out, description sounds sweet, gonna check at some point.

eternium
August 12th 2012



16213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just a 3? Come on.

Adabelle
August 12th 2012



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Literally just noticed that, I'll bump it up a bit

Spec
August 12th 2012



26848 Comments


very nice

demigod!
March 30th 2013



41002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im loving heroin so far!

spookynewghostfriend
February 5th 2014



2765 Comments


illegal

Digging: Friendzone - DX



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy