Vanisher
Unbound


2.0
poor

Review

by Tim Bartolini USER (11 Reviews)
August 1st, 2012 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The sound of a glimmer of hope being taken advantage of.

Been there, done that: you know the drill. Such is the unfortunate case with Vanisher's rather disappointing sophomore attempt, Unbound. After an already unoriginal and undeniably generic debut, it wasn’t necessarily expected that the follow-up was going to be the next modern metal classic or anything. With predictable melodies and progressions that are far too familiar to go unnoticed, the band’s latest offering ends up falling short of being anything all that interesting. On the bright side, the departure of the Vanisher’s lead vocalist Adam Cody has certainly left a positive mark on their music. The transition from a mixture of harsh and clean vocals to a majority of cleans allows Unbound to be exempt of some of the more unappealing qualities that far too many of their contemporaries seem to share and embrace, and that they have included on their debut. Still, Vanisher quickly shuts the window of opportunities that was opened for them after the vocalist’s departure and choose a path of bland formulaic metalcore sounds carved out by bands like Bullet For My Valentine and Blessthefall. Regardless, Vanisher barely give themselves enough time to do anything innovative with the genre as the record concludes just after the thirty minute mark. The length of the record barely plays a role here, however: the odds are that an additional ten or so minutes would have done little to nothing to improve the quality music, if not just made things worse by adding more pointless and uninspired metalcore jams.

With a limited number of notable moments, Unbound is the type of record that everyone should fear in one way or another – the type of record that could have easily been improved and, to an extent, noteworthy. Sadly, the glimmer of potential and opportunities on the horizon faded abruptly before any of the members had a chance to see it.


Highlights:
Into The Sands
Reaction



Recent reviews by this author
Jack Anthony Cue the CloudsSteve Roach Structures from Silence
Turboweekend Fault LinesRobyn Miller Myst Soundtrack
Gay For Johnny Depp What Doesn't Kill You, Eventually Kills YouHammock The Sleep-Over Series (Volume 1)
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
macadoolahicky
August 1st 2012


1835 Comments


Since it was released on my birthday yesterday, I thought I'd write a review for it

This is my first short and negative review (by negative, I mean below 2.5). Give me some feedback, and blah blah blah stuff like that.

ViperAces
August 1st 2012


12485 Comments


Happy Birthday.
Good review btw. Never heard of the band.

macadoolahicky
August 1st 2012


1835 Comments


Thanks!

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2012


4453 Comments


Very well-written. You give us a great description of the album, but it would have been nice if you talked about a few songs to kind of get sense of the sound of the album- but even still you managed to give us a good heads up on what to expect. You have some great stuff here. POS'd!

macadoolahicky
August 1st 2012


1835 Comments


Thanks! I will take that into consideration for future reviews ^.^

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2012


4453 Comments


Its a very good review, man. I've never heard of this band, but judging by your opinion, Its probaby not a bad thing.

breakingthefragile
August 2nd 2012


2962 Comments


Really sweet review dude, I've been reading your past ones and they are all great, with each review being better than the one before it. You should review more often man, and here, have a well deserved pos as sort of a late birthday present from me lol. Happy bday! :D

macadoolahicky
August 2nd 2012


1835 Comments


Thanks, Alex! I plan on reviewing more often now, might consider being a contrib at some point, who knows ^.^

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2012


16470 Comments


Great review, short and sweet and to the point. Well done.

OMNISCIENT
August 2nd 2012


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like VANISHER's music and have been following their development for many years. I disagree with macadoolahicky's opinon of their music as "bland formulaic metalcore sounds". BLASKO (bassist for Rob Zombie & Ozzy Osbourne) said of VANISHER in an article published in METAL HAMMER, “I was blown away when I heard them. I really like their take on a modern metal feel. The vocals rely on tight melodies and strong hooks, not trendy screaming. Killer heavy yet memorable riffs balanced out by confident vocals with solid hooks. I predict great things for them.” I agree with BLASKO and invite others to check out VANISHER for yourself and not be dissuaded by macadoolahicky.

macadoolahicky
August 2nd 2012


1835 Comments


I am a bit suspicious about your account only having one comment (the one you just posted), and the fact that the one album you've rated is this one, and that you've joined just today.

Regardless, this is just my take on the album. Obviously, everyone is going to have a different opinion, no matter the album. It wasn't the worst album ever, it just didn't offer anything new. Everything I have heard here can be found elsewhere, and in better quality for the most part.

Also, thank you Crysis!

YoYoMancuso
August 2nd 2012


11189 Comments


nice review man, short and to the point which not a lot of people can pull off. album's not terrible but not good

OMNISCIENT
August 2nd 2012


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

macadoolahicky - I appreciate and agree with your comment that "everyone is going to have a different opinon, no matter the album." Further, I also consider the songs "Into The Sands" and "Reaction" to be highlights on this album along with "Destined to Drown".

I have enjoyed following the development of VANISHER and see a marked improvement from their early days as Zero System. Their 3 song EP, "Buired Alone", which was released earlier this year is the companion to "Unbound". I recommend it as well. For more about VANISHER, you may visit them at http://www.thisisvanisher.com

As for your suspicion about my account, I'm guessing that you also started here with one comment on one album on one day like everyone else. Why raise that red herring?

macadoolahicky
August 2nd 2012


1835 Comments


Well, my first comment and rating was a Misery Signals album, but it wasn't my only rating and only comment that day. Plus with your last comment, it kind of seems like you're advertising for the band ^.^ Regardless, I'll check out the Buried Alone EP, and who knows, maybe I'll enjoy it

nothanks704
August 7th 2012


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really guy? What kind of bullshit review is this?
I guess lets get some things out of the way first.

1) I only signed up to this site to respond to this drivel.
2) Yes I'm a fan of the band, I liked the album. Go me.

But Really?

What good does this review do for anyone other than be negative and overly critical. You provide nothing to give insight to the music and just tear it apart and do an incredibly poor job of it at that. The fact that anyone sees this as insightful just alludes to the fact that they are just as much of a bottom feeder as you are or just wouldn't know anything good if it punched them in the face.

It irritates me because I googled Vanisher Unbound and for some reason your article came up first which is a disservice to these guys and their album and I don't want anyone to be turned off because of your hatespeech "Unbound is the type of record that everyone should fear in one way or another"
Seriously? Fuck you.

I've been a fan of these guys for a while and they are doing something amazing which is different and I guess your sophomoric amateur rant just blows my mind that anyone could be this cruel and demeaning.

I guess it is the internet so everyone is entitled to their opinions,
so this is mine in all its glory, hope YOU liked it chief.

Stay in your lonely dark corner and mope and bitch all you want you worthless hack.



macadoolahicky
August 7th 2012


1835 Comments


Awesome! I'll take that into consideration the next time I review something you might bust a testicle over ;)

ViperAces
August 8th 2012


12485 Comments


Oh man featured on Google gz.

CK
March 24th 2013


4947 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This isn't that good

pizzamachine
March 24th 2013


12571 Comments


pretty boring



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy