Pink Floyd
The Wall


4.5
superb

Review

by Hudson Echo USER (14 Reviews)
August 1st, 2012 | 22 replies | 3,265 views


Release Date: 1979 | Tracklist


1 of 1 thought this review was well written

The eleventh studio album by progressive rock band Pink Floyd, released in 1979, is a concept album, like the previous three albums released by Pink Floyd. The album is about a character named Pink. His father was killed during World War II. He was oppressed by his mother. He had abusive teachers. All of these events are "bricks in the wall." As Pink becomes a rock star, his marriage crumbles, and he deals with drug abuse. Once the wall is complete, Pink is isolated from humanity.

With 26 tracks, you'd expect there to be some filler, and there is. There are also a few tracks that stand out, and are much better than the rest (Another Brick In The Wall, Comfortably Numb, Hey You, Mother, etc.). Many tracks could have easily been left off the album, musically, but because of the concept, some of the tracks are needed. Almost all of the songs on the wall segue into the next track, so some tracks seem to blend together. The Wall is pretty much one 81-minute song broken up into 26 parts. The more I think about it, the more sane it seems. The Wall really could have been released as a Thick as a Brick, epic, one gargantuan song album.

There's a lot of experimentation on this album, with a lot of speech fragments and sound effects. Sonically, The Wall is very strong. The mood is a little erratic, but The Wall flows so well. The songs go hand in hand with one another.

There's one song I have to talk about on The Wall, and it's Comfortably Numb. It's definitely the best song on the album, and it serves as a sort of climax of the wall. It's the longest song, also. The verses are great, with very good lyrics, and the chorus soars. The best part of the song for me, though, is the solo/outro. It's one of the greatest solos I've heard. It's just so epic.

While it isn't Pink Floyd's best, it definitely has it's moments, and it's a cohesive piece of art. The concept is great and relevant, and it's a little experimental. The Wall's strongest moment, Comfortably Numb, is brilliant.

This album is Pink Floyd's last great album. It's a great, great piece of art, and it completes the tetralogy of the best albums put out by the best space rock band of all time.



Recent reviews by this author
Radiohead The Best OfBig Star #1 Record
Wu-Tang Clan Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)Weezer The Green Album
Nick Drake Pink MoonKanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
user ratings (3941)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
MO
August 1st 2012



18509 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album's overrated

johnnyblaze
August 1st 2012



2602 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

agreed. too often this album sacrifices musical quality for the sake of it's concept.

TheNotrap
August 1st 2012



8035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"The best part of the song for me, though, is the solo/outro. It's one of the greatest solos I've heard. It's just so epic."
The greatest in my opinion.

Album's an absolute masterpiece, have a pos.

Digging: Savage Grace - Master Of Disguise

mindleviticus
August 1st 2012



8220 Comments


Highly underrated

johnnyblaze
August 1st 2012



2602 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that solo is incredible. didn't Gilmour have next to nothing to do with this album, though? besides Mother and Comfortably Numb I don't think he gets any songwriting credits... i could be mistaken though..

MO
August 1st 2012



18509 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Highly underrated"

wtf

yea tell that to the millions who flock to this album all because roger waters whores the shit out of the live show

mindleviticus
August 1st 2012



8220 Comments


Yeah roger waters kind of took the job as leader for this

TheNotrap
August 1st 2012



8035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah this is basically a Roger Waters album.

Storm In A Teacup
August 1st 2012



12702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol //underrated wtf????? idiom

mindleviticus
August 1st 2012



8220 Comments


Lol that doesn't make the album any less of a masterpiece

mindleviticus
August 1st 2012



8220 Comments


And I was being sarcastic lOl

Musicface42
August 1st 2012



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Now that I see it, the review looks very short...oh well

evilford
August 1st 2012



22349 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"This album is Pink Floyd's last great album"

I saw this discussion up there...technically this is almost all Roger. imo PF, as a cohesive, creative entity ended after Animals.

in any case, The Final Cut is better than this imo. tells the story much better

still a great album tho.

Digging: Spina Bifida - Ziyadah

Graveyard
August 1st 2012



5699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the madcap laughs....

Digging: Total Control - Typical System

YoYoMancuso
August 1st 2012



11006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review but a bit short.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2012



4409 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

We dont need no education....

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

KILL
August 1st 2012



71392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome album

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

MeatSalad
August 1st 2012



14437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey look a 3

Digging: Mr. Bungle - California

Da11thMytrillSphere
August 1st 2012



546 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hey Teachers, leave the kids alone.

KILL
August 2nd 2012



71392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

meatgaylad



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy