Suicidal Angels
Bloodbath


3.5
great

Review

by Drew Tyler USER (68 Reviews)
July 27th, 2012 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Right when you thought the “New Wave” of thrash metal was dying down, this album rears its evil head.

You might be asking yourself, who the hell are Suicidal Angels? The answer is pretty simple. Suicidal Angels are a thrash metal band hailing from Greece. The band formed in 2001 and can be considered part of the “New Wave” of thrash metal. The band plays an extremely technical brand of thrash, and is an up-and-coming player in the “New Wave” of thrash movement. Although very talented, the band has not had as much attention as some of their thrash counterparts. (Havok, Vektor) Despite this lack of attention, they have managed to craft an album that old-timers and new fans of thrash alike can certainly agree on.

Right from the onset, the band displays their aggressive approach to playing, pummeling the listener with Infectious riffing and brute speed. It would seem that the band paid careful attention to play everything ten times faster than necessary, but the speed coupled with technical riffing and drumming is a truly compelling mix. The album manages to be highly technical and tight, while also managing to pump out some truly memorable and catchy riffs. Riffing is extremely varied, with the band carefully spreading them out so as to keep the material interesting and refreshing with each listen. The album also boasts some very abrasive and confrontational vocals that mold well with the music, feeding this beast even more energy. The album is so intense and aggressive that I genuinely question whether thrash can possibly sound heavier these days. This is thrash that would have fit in well with any number of bands from the 80’s

The group does exhibit some occasional melodic tendencies and a couple catchy courses, but the album as a whole is not very progressive as the band does not stray from their brutal thrash approach. The album is not pushing boundaries, and they aren't expanding their sound in any way. From the first track to the last the only breathing room you will experience comes in the form of few carefully placed intros and solos, but the rest of the album is balls to the walls thrash and nothing else. Subject matter also remains painfully typical, consisting of cliché evil topics that have been overdone throughout the years. However the bands intense music makes up for this in spades. The album also fails to distinguish stand-out tracks, with the album drawing its strength in all the tracks working together to give us this solid piece of metal.

Brutally fast and technical thrash awaits you, nothing more, and nothing less. Progressive elitists will certainly be displeased, although rugged veterans of thrash may find this album to be the holy grail of 2012, if you only give it the chance it deserves. This album certainly has restored a bit of my faith in the thrash movement.

RECOMMENDED TRACKS:
- Moshing Crew
- Chaos (The Curse Is Burning Inside)
- Face of God
- Summoning the Dead
- Bleeding Cries



Recent reviews by this author
Savatage Fight for the RockWitherscape The Inheritance
Blindead AbsenceArtillery Legions
Overkill I Hear BlackWhiplash Power and Pain
user ratings (30)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
July 27th 2012


29147 Comments


Sup bro. Good review. Album is solid was gonna rev it at once. For me it's a 3-3.5/5. Pos

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

DeadBeat
July 27th 2012


529 Comments


This is an average thrash band, if you want good modern thrash listen to Vektor or Eliminator. I'll give you a pos though since the review is good.

ThrashTillDeath94
July 27th 2012


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for reading.

Although I like Vektor for their creativity, this particular band is certainly talented and I assure
everyone reading this, they are above average.

TheNotrap
July 27th 2012


8073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Album's pretty solid but the dudes take no chances here.

"This album certainly has restored MY faith in the thrash movement."
To each his own but this is only a thrash revival in my opinion. An interesting revival nevertheless.

Good work, have a pos.

Digging: Lago - Tyranny

ThrashTillDeath94
July 27th 2012


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As i said before they bring nothing new to the table, but this is some very good back-to-basics
thrash, and one of my favorite thrash-revival albums thus far.

Thanks for the response dude.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2012


6110 Comments


Haven't heard anything from this band, but i plan to do so in the near future.

good review, pos.



if you want good modern thrash listen to Vektor or Eliminator

"Good modern thrash" is bands like Grip Inc., Machine Head, Lamb Of God and the like.

Haven't listened to Eliminator, but Vektor are really overrated in my book.


Although very talented, the band has not had as much attention as some of their thrash counterparts.

This is true because Suicidal Angel come from Greece, but these guys have been on the road with critically acclaimed bands such as Exodus many times, they are building their status quietly but steadily.

Digging: Disasterhate - Sacrifice To Eclipse

Darkvoid67
July 27th 2012


383 Comments


This album is nothing but retarded Slayer and Death Angel worship

ZedO
July 27th 2012


1096 Comments


gotta check this out, pos

facupm
July 27th 2012


7698 Comments


good review, you didn't mention the vocals but i pos'd anyway
nevr listened to this band, might do it in the future

jayfatha
July 27th 2012


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Moshing Crew rules but I actually fell asleep listening to this album for the first time

ThrashTillDeath94
July 27th 2012


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe you were genuinely tired? I fell asleep listening to Anacrusis the first time, and they are quite literally one of my favorite bands of all time now.

ShadowRemains
July 27th 2012


20743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is boring, dead again was pretty good though

Digging: Banks - Goddess

ThrashTillDeath94
July 27th 2012


595 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gonna have to check that one out now.

BlackLlama
July 30th 2012


1669 Comments


I haven't rated this, but I liked their previous release a lot more. I downloaded both around the same time and this one, while solid just isn't as good.

Digging: Stigmata - Do Unto Others

BlackLlama
July 30th 2012


1669 Comments


Also, I like Vektor well enough but they've got enough fan boys hanging by their nuts it must be hard to walk around : If I want 'New Wave' Thrash, I'll take Havok any day of the week over them.

jayfatha
July 30th 2012


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yea Dead Again rules

seedofnothing
July 30th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wasn't a big fan of this

BobbySinger
November 14th 2012


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

awesome greek band,old school thrash ../

Dunpeal
January 23rd 2014


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

not bad



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy