Blink-182
Blink-182


4.5
superb

Review

by hybridofsound USER (37 Reviews)
January 14th, 2005 | 116 replies | 14,054 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Artist: Blink 182
Album: Self-Titled
Tom DeLonge - Guitar, Vocals
Mark Hoppus - Bass, Vocals
Travis Barker - Percussion, Drums
Released: MCA/Geffen Records

STOP! Anything you think you know about Blink 182 wether it negative or positive throw it away now. This album is going to suprise you wether you love pop-punk or despise it with fiery hate.

When Blink 182 went into the studio to record their 5th studio album they decided this was going to be different and believe me it is. By now you've most likely heard the pop-punk tune 'Feeling This' drifting around MTV or your local 'Alternitive' radio stations. Let me tell you now that song is a bad interpretation of the rest of the album. So what's changed with Blink? Well their sound mainly. The songs about incest and such themes are gone. This is a serious album. There are only 2 tunes on this album that go with a typical Blink sound 'Go' (Which manages to be Blink but more mature) and 'Feeling This'. So let's go through this album track by track.

Feeling This - Starts off with the spacey drums effect and small guitar riff before booming into the first verse. A resonable Blink song and it is very catchy however gets a bit bland.

Obvious - Well this is where the traditional Blink disapears. It starts with distorded guitars and comes into a verse. When you get to the chorus you will be thinking 'Wtf?'. However Obvious is a good song. Gets speedy at the end and becomes one of the best songs on the album.

I Miss You - Almost sounds like Good Charlottes 'Say Anything' at the begining. This is a slow song using acoustic guitars and piano. Travis plays a cool beat on this song and it's a pretty song. Very different to any acoustic Blink songs before.

Violence - The most unblink song of all time. Here you will be throughly confused as to what band this album is by. No bass, guitars or drums in the verse just singing? It's an experimental song and it pulls it off with a fantastic chorus. Travis has some kick ass fills in this song.

Stockholm Syndrome - Muse also happen to have a song titled this on their latest album and it's the best on the album. Same criteria applies here. Stockholm Syndrome is a classic Blink song. It has emotion in it and is very well preformed. If your a punk pureist or just hate Blink give this a listen and see what you think.

Down - This song has a very spacey sound and sounds almost a little like I Miss You. It could almost be a Box Car Racer song. It's emotional and slower yet again. Lyrically it's one of the best songs on the album.

The Fallen Interlude - An interlude. Nothing you will have ever heard on a Blink album before and it's somewhat intresting.

Go - This is Blink again but they are more mature. It's a **** catchy and fast song and destined to become a single. One of the best on the album.

Asthenia - By now you will have established this album is very different and be confused. Asthenia will probably bring you back to traditional Blink ground a bit. It sounds a bit like it could have been on TOYPAJ but yet like the rest of the album more mature. It's a nice song.

Always - Another nice song. A slow one but yet again emotional. It's catchy and has a traditonal catchy Blink chorus.

Easy Target - Wow. It's another of those Blink songs but more mature. It's one of my favourites on the album and it picks up the pace after 2 slowish songs. Standard catchy chorus and awesome verses.

All Of This - Robert Smith from 'The Cure' provides guest vocals on this song. At first they sound out of place but after a few listens you get used to it. It is another slow song.

Here's your letter - Great song. It's like Go or Easy Target. Blink but more mature. Mark pushes his bass talent on this song and makes quite an intresting bass line. It's a very good song and the 2nd best on the album.

I'm lost without you - A piano opens this song up. You can tell from the start this is going to be an emotional and slow song. It really fineshes the album off well. It's a beautiful song and really one of the best on the album. Travis busts out awesome drums fills at the end.

So overall wow. This album is so much different to anything Blink has previously done. If you love poppy pop-punk this album will put you off, if your a Box Car Racer fan you'll most likely love this album. This will change everyones opinions of Blink. It's an overall slower album but alot more mature. It certanely wont be everyones cup of tea. Give it a listen and prepare to be suprised.

Rating 4.75/5 :thumb:



Recent reviews by this author
Beastie Boys The Sounds Of ScienceThe Movielife Forty Hour Train Back To Penn
Glassjaw Everything You Ever Wanted To Know AboutStrung Out An American Paradox
Lostprophets The Fake Sound Of ProgressThe Movielife Has A Gambling Problem E.P
user ratings (2450)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
sting-ray
November 15th 2003



92 Comments


i heard some of their new songs and was quite amazed with what they've done. Their music has turned more emoish, especially in "stockholm sydrome" and a couple of other songs, i will most likely buy this album because i'm very happy with the way the band has adjusted their style since the last album. I dont really like "violence" though... it sounds way too awkward and the singing isn't at its best. Overall i also think thats its a great CD and i suggest it to all fans of pop-punk.

comment on the review: well done, you analysed each song pretty well :thumb:

my rating: 4/5

ThePapercutFiasco
November 16th 2003



1 Comments


rating: 8/10

i prefer the new album over anything else blink has done

YDload
November 16th 2003



1207 Comments


I don't like the idea that a band is more mature because they're making slower songs all of a sudden. Being immature was Blink's entire gimmick, and I think they did the maturity thing best on "Dammit." Oh well, at least it's an unbiased review (read: not from a bassist).

hybridofsound
November 16th 2003



131 Comments


I'm not saying they are more mature because they are slower i'm saying they are more mature because they are changing the chords they use in their music, their lyrics and suchforth.

peaveyrules
November 16th 2003



4 Comments


I found the album to be extremely unlike most anything Blink 182 has ever done before. It isn't the usual "poppy" sound with guitars like you'd originally think. They're trying something different, whether it works out for them or not, we will not know for a while, but for now, I am enjoying it, despite what is said about blink 182. If you can get past all of the stuff said about blink, and just buy the album, its actually pretty good. Not the best, but still, a good attempt at something new. So far I like-

"I miss you"
"Feeling This"
"Obvious"

Those seem to ring with me the most.

obsoletemind
November 18th 2003



2 Comments


Originally posted by YDload
I don't like the idea that a band is more mature because they're making slower songs all of a sudden. Being immature was Blink's entire gimmick, and I think they did the maturity thing best on "Dammit." Oh well, at least it's an unbiased review (read: not from a bassist).


People grow up - blink have grown up - get over it!

STFDood84
November 18th 2003



179 Comments


All I can say is wow. Blink-182 have finally gained my respect back and done something new and original (well maybe not super-original, I hear loads of Mark's big Bad Astronaut influence in here). I like the new sound quite a bit, although it sounds a little strange in some spots. My favorite tracks are "Stockholm Syndrome" (that's a killer beat in 1:07!), "Go", "Obvious", "Violence", and "Here's Your Letter", but as a whole, I like the album a lot. Thumbs up for the blinkers - they actually grew up and made something different!

My score - 8.5/10

metallica_pyro
November 18th 2003



2 Comments


Originally posted by hybridofsound
Stockholm Syndrome - Muse also happen to have a song titled this on their latest album and it's the best on the album. Same criteria applies here. Stockholm Syndrome is a classic Blink song. It has emotion in it and is very well preformed. If your a punk pureist or just hate Blink give this a listen and see what you think.

****it, I cant find the song anywhere......

hybridofsound
November 18th 2003



131 Comments


Yeah it's bloody hard to download any new Blink. http://www.mtv.com/music/the_leak/blink/blink_182/thanks.jhtml Is a link to the website where you can listen to the new album.

YDload
November 18th 2003



1207 Comments


Originally posted by obsoletemind
People grow up - blink have grown up - get over it!


Meh, I wouldn't call it growing up. They just sort of suddenly realized that they were adults and not fourteen-year-old boys.

jimmymcmahon2001
November 18th 2003



14 Comments


It is a great album. They have that cool, kind of hidden track (you have to back the song up to hear it, or listen to it in full) right before Stockholm Syndrome. Its obviously a letter, but did they write it, or did they get it from somewhere else. The album flows so well too


good review man :thumb:

Paranoid
November 18th 2003



2 Comments


Well I think this is great news, because I was going to get it today, but my guitar lessons were cancelled so I didn't get the car. I'm getting it tomorrow, glad to hear the Blinkers are good.
Rock On

hybridofsound
November 18th 2003



131 Comments


Originally posted by jimmymcmahon2001
They have that cool, kind of hidden track (you have to back the song up to hear it, or listen to it in full) right before Stockholm Syndrome. Its obviously a letter, but did they write it, or did they get it from somewhere else.


It's a letter Marks grandfather wrote to his grandmother during world war two.

Wickacha
November 19th 2003



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I am really liking this album alot and am on my 3rd or 4th listening at the moment.

Definately deserving of a (atleast in my opion)
4/5

schiggy
November 20th 2003



6 Comments


alright,ill give you guys my review of what i think of the new album.ive listened to it at least ten times already.the highest of my ratings are 10

Feeling This - well,this is a catchy typical blink song.i knew there would be a single of this song on the fact that they put it out on the madden soundtrack entitled "action".i am glad that they decided to change the title to this song for the fact of the matter that it makes more sense.song rating 8-10.

Obvious - i like this song.its diffrent from any other blink song.song rating 9-10

I Miss You - the accoustics sound very good mixed in with the bass riffs and drum solos here.8-10

Violence - i really like how this song starts off.it gets better and the lyrics are very well writen to match the name of the song.9-10

Stockholm Syndrome -the letter part is very clever.however,it gets a tad bit boring after you listen to it alot.a first two or three times you'll want to hear it but after you know what it means you get bored of it.it was a good idea to add the letter and to give the song its meaning.song rating 7-10

Down - This song has a very spacey sound and sounds almost a little like I Miss You. It could almost be a Box Car Racer song. It's emotional and slower yet again. Lyrically it's one of the best songs on the album.(i pretty much agree everything that the first review of this.it does indeed sound like a bit like boxcar,and i also like the fact that jack sermen(think thats his name)came in and did an interlude for that song after it was perfomed.song rating 8-10

The Fallen Interlude - An interlude. Nothing you will have ever heard on a Blink album before and it's somewhat intresting.agreed,it sounds alot like a rap song but with a bunch of cool drum riffs travis added into the mix.i like it and its kinda like a chillin out song, but im not a big fan of rap.song rating 6-10

Go - fast and catchy.i do like this song,i just wish they wouldve worked more on it to make it longer.it looks like this could be the next single they may put out.but what do i know?song rating 7-10

Asthenia - this is by far my favorite song on the album.at the begining of the song theres nothing for the first 50 some seconds.then its all put together and starts rocking.very good lyrics,and i liked the fact that tom wrote this song about an astraunut in lost in space.song rating 10-10

Always - . It's catchy and has a traditonal catchy Blink chorus.9-10

Easy Target - this sounds like it couldve been a cover song mixed in with blink lyrics.its a great song and another one of my favorites.9-10

All Of This - this doesnt sound like blink at all,but thats because they added robert smith to the mix.i dont remember mark being in this,but tom has a good deal of vocals in this.im not much of a fan from the cure,but if you like them,then youll like this song.8-10

Here's your letter - Great song. It's like Go or Easy Target. Blink but more mature. Mark pushes his bass talent on this song and makes quite an intresting bass line.i agree with most of this guys saying on his review,but im getting kinda tired of writing.song rating 8-10

I'm lost without you - A piano opens this song up. You can tell from the start this is going to be an emotional and slow song. It really fineshes the album off well. It's a beautiful song and really one of the best on the album. Travis busts out awesome drums fills at the end.im not really into this,its the only song that i dont like that much on the album besides the falling interlude.i have to get a few more listens to like it but it is indeed a beautiful song.song rating 6-10

well that about raps it up on my review.the overall standings gets a 9/10.

Hadji
November 20th 2003



3 Comments


i liked the guiitar in it, but i still cant get passed his voice. it really bugs me. overall for music i would give it an 8 out of 10

Kevin
November 20th 2003



2 Comments


that cd kicks enormous ***, 10/10 I love the guitar, all the effects, (they had some good ideas liek in "Stolkhome Syndrome" they used the shower) and the vocals are great.

Paranoid
November 21st 2003



2 Comments


I really like the album after finally getting it. After the first listen I was like what that's it? But now that i've listened to it more it's grown on me it's probabaly an 8.5 its definitely different and better than Boxcar racer. I think Mark's vocals are a little lacking, I really missed his vocals on BCR and he isn't on this album near as much as Tom is. Tom's voice gets kind of annoying, I think Mark has the better voice, not sure why he doesn't get to sing an equal ammount..?
Great Album nontheless.
Later

RollerQueen
November 21st 2003



209 Comments


I read the review and was a bit skeptic of Blink changing their sound so much, but got the cd since I've been a fan for about 5 years. The lyrics are weak in spots (particularly "Violence"), Mark's voice sounds like it's degenerating in some tracks, and Tom's vocals don't fit in some songs. They did surprise me with their instrumental techniques, though. It's nothing compared to some bands, but I think it's great that they're trying new things and getting more experimental. Also, the fact that they got Robert Smith to sing on one track is an instant brownie point or two. Although it's not revolutionary, I enjoy it and it's good to see that they're not entirely sticking to their old formulae. 3.5/5 here.

SG151
November 21st 2003



1 Comments


Iv listened to blink well for ever they started in 1993 and Iv been listening to them since 1994 they got me into punk Iv watched pretty much their whole career unfold even be for travis who is a much better drummer than scott and just plane amaizing they have grown up I love this album an they are still the insanly imature and funny guys we all love nothing has changed but the music !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy