Grace Cathedral Park
In The Evenings Of Regret


4.5
superb

Review

by Maarten USER (7 Reviews)
July 23rd, 2012 | 23 replies | 3,119 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Post-rock for romantics who are not afraid to admit it

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

This is music for the broken ones and the tender hearted. Grace Cathedral Park are a post-rock outfit that focus on the more romantic side of the genre. As their name suggests, their style is actually a very graceful one. Unlike their peers the typical post-rock base structure is inapparent, in fact they choose to adapt a more gloomy style.
Gloomy is exactly what their product sounds like, slow and some lengthy tracks that leave you with a numbing effect. GCP uses acoustic elements as well as the traditional post-rock equipment which they steer to create a pseudo crescendo that keeps their cart on the rails and gives the impression that the songs speed up. They handle this fairly well, I could imagine myself coming back with the car on a rainy day with this playing while I drive faster and faster to the point where I abruptly would be awakened by horn signals.
The guitars often howl which adds to the dramatic, the folk elements (yes, acoustic guitars in post-rock) create the romantic touch.
This type of song structure isn’t quite easy digestible, with which I mean it can take a while to fully appreciate the layering and build-up of the music. Although those familiar with the genre will instantly notice that this isn’t your average post-rock band.

From the above, one could discard that ‘In The Evenings of Regret’ is an album that requires your full attention. Not really, it serves both as an attentive listen or as background music. It would take quite the apathetic person (and even I enjoy it fully) to not be immersed in the understated sound that has such a distinct effect on its listeners.
I would like to try and draw comparisons to other bands, but I can’t really think of anything else that sounds really similar. If you’d insist I’d say to try vision a more subdued Yndi Halda while Mark Kozelek brings his guitar to the crew.
If you’re a fan of post-rock , slowcore, neo-classical or any other form of dramatic music without a hint of tackiness, then be sure to look into these guys. They really are a treat.



Recent reviews by this author
Rinoa An Age Among ThemImbroco Are You My Lionkiller?
Aurore Rien Sedative for the Celestial BlueCarissa's Wierd You Should Be At Home Here
Carissa's Wierd Ugly But Honest: 1996-1999Ashen Pull And Repel
user ratings (12)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
bakkermaarten007
July 23rd 2012



3289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This probably deserved a longer review, but I think I captured it quite well. Just wanted to expose
these guys a bit as I feel they belong in most 'best of post-rock' lists.

Fluttertrank
July 23rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hmm, i should check this out. also good review

bakkermaarten007
July 23rd 2012



3289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you.

Fluttertrank
July 25th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn, this album rules hard

bakkermaarten007
July 25th 2012



3289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, a 4,5? Wasn't expecting that , although mine could go up in the future. Very glad you enjoy it so much flutter.

Fluttertrank
July 25th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bro, thanks for reviewing this. so glad i saw this review dont know why but when i saw the album in got my attention.

bakkermaarten007
July 25th 2012



3289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You were destined to notice this =) . No problem man.

Turtlestlker
September 17th 2012



820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well since all two people thought this was good maybe I should get this.

bakkermaarten007
September 17th 2012



3289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, you should. This needs more exposure, I even rated this too low in my review.

Turtlestlker
September 18th 2012



820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll be sure to get it when I get home.

Turtlestlker
October 11th 2012



820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Are these guys still active, can find almost no information on them on the internet.

AStableReference
October 11th 2012



1844 Comments


Couldn't help but notice the Red House Painters inspired name. I'll have to check them out.

bakkermaarten007
October 12th 2012



3289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, there' no info on that. It's likely it is inspired by Red House painters but since I couldn't find a decisive answer I decided not to put it in the review.

bakkermaarten007
October 12th 2012



3289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@turtlestlkr: it's quiet around this band. I guess they called it quits, would be awesome if they came
up with a new album, but I don't put my hopes on it.

Turtlestlker
October 14th 2012



820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well that blows.

Fluttertrank
December 28th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is still some of the most sad songs ive ever heard.

SucDePortocale
April 17th 2013



68 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is wonderful. Had a very blissful walk with this playing in my headphones

bakkermaarten007
April 17th 2013



3289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad you like it. Still haven't heard anything similar.

SucDePortocale
May 28th 2013



68 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

more people need this in their lives

bakkermaarten007
May 28th 2013



3289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy