Nicolas Jaar
Don't Break My Love


4.5
superb

Review

by Andru Okenuf USER (32 Reviews)
July 22nd, 2012 | 42 replies | 4,164 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Genius

Nicolas Jaar is a man whose stock is on the rise. His crackling and subtle debut LP, Space is Only Noise, was ranked the #1 album of 2011 by Resident Advisor and a handful of others despite its slower pace and ambient feel. While garnering an incredibly loyal and ever increasing fan base, he has also toured at some of the most well-known venues all across the world. Despite being only 22 years old, the Chilean-American musician even owns his own record label, Clown & Sunset.

The chilling two track EP, Don’t Break My Love, provides every bit of the crackling and eerie atmosphere that he’s known for. In both songs, Jaar moves deliberately, drawing things out at his own pace to capture their full essence. By the time the refrain “Don’t Break my Love” repeats itself, Jaar is able to guide listeners to complete awe, admiring the environment he has manifested. He has full command over his strange arsenal of sounds throughout and, while a little grating at first, once the listener adjusts to his style, Nicolas shows unparalleled talent.

But the climax occurs before the eerie, mumbling, “Why Didn’t You Save Me”. After the tribalistic drum has mesmerized us, after the wind chimes and effects have dulled us to nothing, everything is so sad and quiet. Until Jaar’s plea for help, there is no hope, feelings feel very distant, and only once those 5 words are uttered can we continue to breathe, musically delivering us where we need to be. No song that I’ve heard since Radiohead’s “Reckoner” has drawn so much emotion out of me.

The only complaint that can really be filed here is that there isn’t enough, with only 2 fairly similarly structured tracks filling out this release. But its approachability also serves as an advantage, and anyone who hasn’t checked out these two gems should do so. Right now.



Recent reviews by this author
Mylo Destroy Rock And RollThe xx Coexist
The Future Sound of London LifeformsTricky Maxinquaye
Anais Mitchell Young Man in AmericaExoplanet Nothing Divides Us Here
user ratings (57)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
aok
July 22nd 2012


4416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jaar's music is pretty tough to describe but I think you get the picture

Don't Break My Love ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2vUMdem4xwc )
Why Didn't You Save Me ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGwmNtiXd1Q )

O yea, and listen to these songs =]

Digging: Aphex Twin - Syro

WashboardSuds
July 22nd 2012


5007 Comments


nice write up, I still haven't heard a thing by this guy though so I shall check out those songs you posted

Digging: Gas - Nah und Fern

aok
July 22nd 2012


4416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

o kevin you're missing out! this guy's totally up your alley to i'd say

WashboardSuds
July 22nd 2012


5007 Comments


just listened to both tracks in the time it took you to reply, lol. not bad at all, I think I'll check out his full length. also my new review is up if you're interested

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


10407 Comments


nice to see you reviewing a lot

Digging: Literature - Chorus

Ire
July 22nd 2012


41763 Comments


negd

aok
July 22nd 2012


4416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but i ruv u ire xp

Rev
July 22nd 2012


9422 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is definitely some of his best work


I think your new busy review schedule has inspired me to take up writing again haha

WashboardSuds
July 22nd 2012


5007 Comments


do it man

Rev
July 22nd 2012


9422 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but i'm so bad haha

Jash
July 22nd 2012


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really enjoy your writing Andy, looking forward to reading a lot more from you if you keep this output going

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


31157 Comments


Nice work dude, Jaar is still madly overrated though. One thing though: he ain't a dj, just a producer

Digging: Banks - Goddess

aok
July 22nd 2012


4416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wow - no love for jaar .. any similarly veined minimal stuff you prefer dev? personally, the more nicolas jaar running through
my bones the better i feel. was thinking of writing about darkside at some point

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


31157 Comments


No I like him, he's just not the second coming like a lot of people seemed to think he was

aok
July 22nd 2012


4416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

got similarly veined stuff you like as much as nico then dev?

also cheers everybody for your kind words

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


7026 Comments


Yes! This is his best work; Why Didn't You Save Me is unbelievable.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

aok
July 22nd 2012


4416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes. yes it is very incredible =]

Yotimi
July 22nd 2012


6492 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite electronic release of the last 2 years.

HE IS THE SECOND COMING

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


31157 Comments


Overrated sleephouse

Andy: Lee Foss - The Edge
Shonky - Time Zero
Tale Of Us - Upon A Time
Daniel Bortz - Draga
Kotelett & Zadak - Krummel
Art Department - The Drawing Board
Wolf + Lamb - Love Someone

scissorlocked
July 23rd 2012


3509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review dude



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy