Loudness
Thunder In The East


5.0
classic

Review

by King Henry VIII USER (63 Reviews)
July 22nd, 2012 | 28 replies


Release Date: 1985 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Classic Heavy metal that's been overlooked.

Holy *** is this awesome! I’ve been recently exploring the Japanese metal scene, because I’ve only heard a very small amount bands such as Galneryus, Sigh, Dir En Grey, and X – Japan and they’ve all been stellar 95% of the way. So I thought that there has to be more awesome bands out there. When I was searching I stumbled upon Loudness, and the main reason that sparked my attention in the first place is because their lead guitarist is considered to be a guitar virtuoso and an awesome shredder. So I did my research, and their album Thunder in the East was suppose to be a classic, and very influential in the Japanese metal scene. So I took a shot at in the dark without knowing what to expect.

Once listening to the first song “Crazy Nights”, my mind was blown!!! Straight up soaring vocals that are catchy as hell, that sing in the English language, rather than their own native tongue (which they do every now and again throughout their discography). Then there’s Akira Takasaki. He is literally one of the best guitarists I’ve listened too in a long time – while his main riffs are always maintaining his signature sound with a heavy upbeat tone to it all, with the constant compliment of pinch harmonics, which makes his riffs so much more tasteful. Then there are his solos, which are ***ing badass. Need I say more? But, that’s not all. Even the bass player can put out some awesome licks as well. For the most part, it’s hardly audible, because your main focus is on the guitars and vocals. But it’s a hell a lot more noticeable then what’s going on in the recent trend of metal bands. Unfortunately, the drums aren’t that impressive, but they’re solid none-the-less.

To conclude, Thunder in the East is an amazing refresher for anyone who can enjoy classic heavy metal. With amazing guitar arrangements, both in the riffs and solos, along with catchy vocals, makes this album an original masterpiece and should be owned by any metal fan. The best part is that there are no fillers what so ever! So go check it out now! And stop listening to your ***ty chugga -chugga deathcore that claims to be progressive!



Recent reviews by this author
Edguy Space Police - Defenders of the CrownPowerwolf Preachers of the Night
Dark Tranquillity ConstructGamma Ray Master of Confusion
Stratovarius NemesisIn the Silence A Fair Dream Gone Mad
user ratings (27)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
FictionalFlames
July 22nd 2012


1516 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

check this shit out!




oh yeah I wrote this in like 20 minutes. If there's a grammar error, point it out and I'll go fix it.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


21377 Comments


Props for reviewing this, band is really good.

TheNotrap
July 22nd 2012


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Need to recheck this Jap classic asap.

Digging: Pink Floyd - The Endless River

FictionalFlames
July 22nd 2012


1516 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

dude it's amazing. it may or may not take some time to grow on you, but it's totally worth the listen.


btw it's on youtube.

TheNotrap
July 22nd 2012


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I had some tracks on cassette back in the 80's, but to be honest I don't remember much...Kinda heavy/speed metal stuff right?

FictionalFlames
July 22nd 2012


1516 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

listen to this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gyVLCeNk29g

TheNotrap
July 22nd 2012


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah track rocks indeed. Akira Takasaki is an awesome guitar player.

Have a pos btw.

FictionalFlames
July 22nd 2012


1516 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks man.

If you like this album I think you should tread into their other stuff.

TheNotrap
July 22nd 2012


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah one of these days I'll dig their discography.
Most famous Japanese metal act back in the days.

FictionalFlames
July 22nd 2012


1516 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah, back in the day. too bad they never caught on in the states or europe.

Venpts16
July 22nd 2012


283 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great job for reviewing this. Like Hell is a great song, so I may check out the rest of this album.

FictionalFlames
July 22nd 2012


1516 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh you must

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


21377 Comments


I remember listening to Soldier of Fortune and Lightning Strikes by these guys a while ago and I think I might have listened to this one too but I don't remember much about it. Need to recheck it.

Good review btw.

RunOfTheMill
July 22nd 2012


1538 Comments


I've been wanting to check this one out for a while :D

Will do!

RunOfTheMill
July 22nd 2012


1538 Comments


Oh, by the way, I've been listening to a lot of X Japan recently, how do these guys compare?

FictionalFlames
July 22nd 2012


1516 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

tbh I'm not too-too familiar with X - Japan, but I know both bands got their connections with each other.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


21377 Comments


X Japan are a lot more progressive than these guys from what I've heard.

FictionalFlames
July 22nd 2012


1516 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the best comparison I can make is that Loudness is either a Judas Priest or Iron Maiden equivalent for Japan.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


21377 Comments


Sounds about right.

Listening to Crazy Nights now. Rocks hard m/

RunOfTheMill
July 22nd 2012


1538 Comments


Sweet, JP and IM are some of my favourite bands. Can't wait to get a chance to hear this m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy