The Antlers
Undersea


4.5
superb

Review

by Hernan M. Campbell STAFF
July 21st, 2012 | 63 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lost in a euphoric daydream.

Undersea induces the very kind of sensation that its name implies. It has us floating along in a sea of euphoric ambience, a delicate and alluring atmosphere that easily coaxes us into letting ourselves sink deeper into its musical trance. As the music of "Drift Drive" begins to blossom, it creates this exquisitely sedating environment. The gentle strums of the guitar, the soothing expressions that exude from the saxophone, decorative flourishes that subtly burst out of the synthesizers- all of these components exist around the rhythmic framework of the drums, providing the recipe for a harmonious ecstasy to elate our perception with absolute bliss. And of course, there is the voice of Peter Silberman that serves to guide us through this imaginative descent into psychedelia.

"Endless Ladder" and "Crest" continue to explore a similar theme, but with very different agendas. "Endless Ladder" emphasizes much more on atmospheric textures than the rest of the songs, becoming a medley of ambient sounds that live to merely arouse the senses and distract the mind from its surroundings. "Crest" derives into a very smooth and Jazzy texture that continues on with a similar calming soundscape. Peter Silberman's vocal narratives really stand out in this song, delicate and seductive, he adds a sense of imitate sensuality. Using his words to mystify and allure us into his world. And finally we have "Zelda", which is certainly the highlight of this already joyously opulent journey. The musical structure of "Zelda" is actually quite interesting. As we follow the sounds of a dreary saxophone, we enter into this somber environment. But from there, the music evolves into a more lively display of sounds that leaves us astray in a haze of psychedelic delight.

One aspect that may divert some listeners lies in one of the very qualities that also makes Undersea so enjoyable, and that is The Antlers overly indulging in ambient soundscapes. This can prove to be strenuous to sit through when each song presents itself like a different interpretation of the same exact concept. But then again, that's the idea behind it. Undersea is a musical piece that offers dreamy atmospheres and nothing more. Whether or not you will enjoy this completely depends on your expectations and preferences. To really enjoy this EP, you have to accept it for what it is. Simply give into the spellbinding allure and let it dissociate you entirely from our conscious surroundings as it takes you away into its own realm, where all that exists is you and the music at hand.



Recent reviews by this author
Trioscapes Digital Dream SequenceBroken Bells After The Disco
Sound and Fury (FI) PulsacionJail Weddings Meltdown: A Declaration of Unpopular Emotion
Chick Corea The VigilPond (AUS) Hobo Rocket
user ratings (266)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
HelplessnessBlues (4.5)
"When I was checking vitals, I suggested a smile/ You didn't talk for a while, you were freezing"...

SowingSeason STAFF (4.5)
Take the plunge......

Blair Chopin (4.5)
Suspended...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I uploaded the image on the database, hopefully the Mods approve it soon.
I hope you guys like the review.

Also the album has been streaming on the band's facebook since July 17th.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The EP is good foxxxy, I hope you like it.

YoYoMancuso
July 21st 2012


11149 Comments


amazing review as always i should check this out, pos'd

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks Jack.

@Foxxxy
Well if my opinion values for anything, it will blow you away.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


10273 Comments


Lovely review as always, Hernan. Glad to see I'm not the only one up late tonight! I found a few things with this review
that perhaps you didn't catch.

"And finally we have, Zelda,"

The comma before Zelda is unnecessary, and the song title also needs to be in quotations each time it's mentioned.

"we immediately give up all restrain"

Restraint*.

And you have a knack for writing great descriptions of the music, but occasionally it feels like too much. For instance,
in this review I found some descriptions that are a little unclear.

"the soothing expressions that erupt from the saxophone"

Eruptions aren't soothing - a powerful action's used to describe how delicate something is.

"As the music of "Drift Drive" begins to blossom in our ears"

I'd just ditch the last three words here - it'd read more comfortably that way.

"This is a very impressive EP and it shows The Antlers harnessing a truly captivating sound that leaves the listener
astray in a haze of psychedelic delight."

Sentences such as these could be trimmed quite a bit - it's important to decide what your main point is for each part of
your review. For this sentence, you could probably say "The Antlers' latest EP leaves its listener astray in a psychedelic
haze.", and still get your point across. it was a good review. It's evident that you've been working really hard to
improve, and it's admirable. :]

ZedO
July 21st 2012


1096 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

stellar review as always mate. have no idea about this, hospice is the only the antlers' album i ever heard

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


10273 Comments


Formatting is not on my side tonight. Ugh, what an unattractive comment to read :P

MagmaWalrus
July 21st 2012


242 Comments


Wow, incredible review. Didn't know this was streaming, will listen.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh, thanks Omaha for catching the stuff I overlooked. Yeah I'll fix up some of this stuff up now.

Thanks everyone for the feedback.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


31355 Comments


Lot of artwork bugs lately

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

CaptainDooRight
July 21st 2012


29889 Comments


fuck yeah bro we're twins. Pos

Gonna spark a greeny for good times

Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Unholy Congregation of Hypocritical Ambivalence

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh, mate. This is the album for it.

breakingthefragile
July 21st 2012


2961 Comments


I actually remember hearing about these guys several years back when I saw an advertisement for one of
their albums on the front page of Limewire (when Limewire was still active and I used it back in high
school). Never really got around to looking into them more, but if they're getting praise as high as
this from you Paperback, I'm definitely checking them out now. Pos'd, as always lol.

Schizophrenik
July 21st 2012


842 Comments


I was under the impression that this band was depressing as hell, so your repeated use of the word "jubilant" confuses me a bit haha

great review by the way



CaptainDooRight
July 21st 2012


29889 Comments


Jammin some thrash right

but check I'll check this now if you YouTube right now "seeds of the suffering" by band called suffocation.

And rec me a track off this and I'm on it bro

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


28640 Comments


this review actually isn't that bad except for the first paragraph

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2012


9048 Comments


Only an EP? Bleh

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


28640 Comments


and the last paragraph too

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


28640 Comments


i like the middle paragraph

HitlerIsTheBest
July 21st 2012


1575 Comments


"I was under the impression that this band was depressing as hell, so your repeated use of the word "jubilant" confuses me a bit haha"

Hospice is the only really depressing album they have.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy