Sacred Reich
Independent


2.5
average

Review

by Drew Tyler USER (69 Reviews)
July 18th, 2012 | 18 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The gradual decline of the Reich begins.

Sacred Reich was a second-tier thrash band that formed in Phoenix, Arizona in 1985. Despite coming up in a crowded genre, by 1993 the Reich had released two exceptional albums and participated in some extensive tours, thereby claiming their spot in thrash metal history. Known for their brutal and heavy brand of thrash and politically charged messages, the Reich were one of the most bitter and politically poignant bands from the late 80's. Like many thrash acts, the early 90's were not kind to Sacred Reich. With an aging fan-base and the grunge explosion, the genre was largely gone by 1993, with a few holdout acts such as Overkill and Testament stubbornly carrying the torch. Although the Reich never officially disbanded until 2000, 1993 marked the beginning of the end for the band.

With the critical acclaim and moderate success of 1990's "The American Way", it’s hard to imagine that the Reich would falter, but due to label issues and a lack of interest in thrash, "Independent" came and went quietly. It’s probably best that it did, since the band decided to yet again to change their sound in favor of a broader heavy metal style. Gone is the full out technical thrash found on "Ignorance", as it is replaced with simple riffing and stale songs that seem to drag on endlessly. The tracks show little variation from each other. One gets the sense that the band isn't quite trying with songs like the slow and boring "Just Like That" being a prime example of how repetitive and stagnant the band had become. Also, many songs such as the aptly title "Do it", fall flat, failing to make an impression. Although the songs are slower, many of them aren't very memorable or catchy, with only a couple exceptions.

The album does boast a couple memorable moments, with the opener "Independent" being hands-down the best track on the record. The title track displays the energy the band is known for and contains some catchy riffing and fantastic soloing. Another stand-out track is the similar "Supremacy" that does a good job capturing the heavier side of the album. What little variation the record does show comes from an epic ballad of sorts called "I Never Said Good-bye" that showcases a more melodic and slow style than anything the band had ever done before, and it is quite enjoyable in its own right. Despite many flaws, the band still retains the same approach to lyrical content and subject matter. Politically charged songs with bitter and confrontational lyrics about social issues are abundant, albeit with a much less sharper edge than in the past.

The album as a whole can be quite tame in comparison to the aggression found one the band's other works, and the intense approach to songwriting is a thing of the past. This album is mediocre at best, and is sure to displease fans of the band's earlier works. What little compelling parts this album contains, are buried beneath stale and repetitive songs. If your seeking your first Sacred Reich record, you might try "Ignorance" or "The American Way", as this album will satisfy only the most stubborn of Reich fans.

RECOMMENDED TRACKS:
- Independent
- Supremacy
- I Never Said Goodbye



Recent reviews by this author
Ne Obliviscaris CitadelSavatage Fight for the Rock
Witherscape The InheritanceBlindead Absence
Artillery LegionsOverkill I Hear Black
user ratings (30)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Venpts16
July 17th 2012


283 Comments


Once again, you deliver a great review. I never heard of Sacred Reich, but this sounds like a pretty boring album; I'm certainly not going to check this one out.

ThrashTillDeath94
July 18th 2012


617 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for the feedback. If you want to give this band a chance, i suggest their 1987 debut "Ignorance". I gave that a 4 if its any indication of how exceptional that album is.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

ThrashTillDeath94
July 18th 2012


617 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Never posting a review at night again. I'm already at the bottom of the front page. This is crazy.

Venpts16
July 18th 2012


283 Comments


Finding more thrash metal is always good! Thanks for the suggestion, and I may listen to that sometime. Nice dig by the way; Kreator's new album is really good.

As for the review thing, I'm really surprised with how many reviews there have been tonight. I don't remember nights being typically this active, and I dislike when relatively recent reviews get pushed off quickly. I hope this doesn't happen again with a future review of yours.

Killerhit
July 18th 2012


5381 Comments


> The gradual decline of the Reich

Implying they did anything else after their last album, and this is their second to last.

Still, stellar review you did. It's about time this band got some recognition.

ZedO
July 18th 2012


1096 Comments


good review drew, probably won't check this out, i only have few songs of this band

ThrashTillDeath94
July 18th 2012


617 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Don't really see how it was invalid. Ignorance, Surf Nicaragua, and The American Way were all good
releases. And the gradual decline doesn't necessarily always have to do with material released. It
could also be due to a lack of interest in the band and a a lack of activity.

grad·u·al/ˈgrajo͞oəl/
Adjective:
Taking place or progressing slowly or by degrees.

I used the word gradual to describe the bands slow decent into obscurity, for all of those who
really care that much about my dumb little summary.


"> The gradual decline of the Reich"

"Implying they did anything else after their last album, and this is their second to last."

I said that because starting in 1993, the band gradually faded into obscurity until finally
disbanding in 2000. That's seven long years, which is quite gradual...

I don't really see what one sentence has to do with my whole review, and why people seem to care so
much about my choice of words. (which are valid) Riff if you think you can do better, write your own
damn review.

KILL
July 18th 2012


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

damn so many reviews posted last night didnt even see this

sweet review i mean this isnt great but that groove

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

ThrashTillDeath94
July 18th 2012


617 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The album certainly has its merits. I was genuinely debating on a 3 or a 2.5, but the negatives outweighed the positives in this case. In my humble opinion of course.

ThrashTillDeath94
July 18th 2012


617 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was quite surprise when i saw this didn't have a review. Had to change that.

And yeah there was an abnormal amount of reviews last night.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


6339 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review, pos, correct rating.

Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

ThrashTillDeath94
July 18th 2012


617 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for the feedback, glad you liked the review.

ThrashTillDeath94
July 18th 2012


617 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm really amused that you care at all about my review. Its actually quite flattering that you would
look into it as much as you have.

Your wasting your time here riff. I could care less what you have to say about thrash because i have
heard the same crap from you a million different times. Kindly heckle someone else's review if you
would.

philrind
September 19th 2012


6 Comments


"...stale songs that seem to drag on endlessly".

Obviously not your favorite record of ours. I like it though. I think the production sounds good and I like the songs. "Free" is my favorite.

At least you didn't say we were "selling out". That's one thing in reviews that bugs me. Questioning a bands intentions when you don't know them is rather presumptuous.

Riff....what can I say? Put on Ignorance!

Thank you all for listening to SACRED REICH!

ThrashTillDeath94
September 24th 2012


617 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Obviously not your favorite record of ours."

Admittedly no. Though I must say that I like the rest of your releases.

"At least you didn't say we were "selling out"."

To me, your band has never "sold out", but far be it from me to judge. Still, just because someone changes their sound doesn't mean their music isn't genuine.

As a side note, I must say that it is very easy to review a bands material and be objective about it, until you realize that they may actually be reading it, lol. Don't get me wrong, I did not care for this particular album, but to me your band is one of the best to come out of the thrash movement.



philrind
September 27th 2012


6 Comments


But Riff, I like your band soooo much!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2013


20158 Comments


I know I'm 6 months late but great review.

Opening track is pretty cool

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

KILL
February 8th 2013


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gr00vy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy