The King Blues
Long Live the Struggle


3.0
good

Review

by fish CONTRIBUTOR (43 Reviews)
July 9th, 2012 | 35 replies | 4,128 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The King Blues are dead. Long live The King Blues.

The King Blues has certainly had a turbulent life in its eight years. Six years on from their debut Under The Frog and after sweeping line-up revamps and drastic sound changes, the band have seemingly come to implosion, and as such, Long Live The Struggle is their fourth and final album. It’s certainly a far cry from the upbeat ska of their debut Under The Frog and follow up Save The World, Get The Girl, the perfect companion music to a sunny Camden side street. Last year’s Punk & Poetry gave them their darkest and heaviest album yet and a year on it paves the way for Long Live The Struggle, which is even further removed from the gritty music of before. The brass and stringed instruments have been reduced to the bare minimum and the guitars have been toned down, with strong electronic elements taking the helm courtesy of polished LA production.

It’s hard to know what to think of Long Live The Struggle. Fans hoping for a full return to any of their previous sounds will be largely disappointed and the message, especially alongside the allegations of hypocrisy and turmoil within the band, now seems clichéd and hollow. Then again, the polished songs on here are some of the best. “Modern Life Has Let Me Done” boasts an immense chorus, “Can’t Bring Me Down” is a powerful song with Jason Butler upstaging yet another band on their own album with his trademark screams alongside Itch’s rapid rapping, opener “We Are What We Own” is catchy and “We Are The Future”, even though it overdoes its electronics with ecstasy filled giddiness, is fun. “When The Revolution Comes”, with its infectiously upbeat rhythm, is the best you’ll get here if you’re looking solely for buoyant ska.

In some ways, the album’s release is a mirror for the final days of The King Blues. All the stories leaking out now the band have broken up are threatening their legacy and Long Live The Struggle is probably not going to help that. Despite its good moments, much of The King Blues’ soul has been sacrificed in favour of poppy choruses and high production often verging on the overdone (“Wasted Words” and “This Is My Home” are tepid and dull). Punk & Poetry’s sharp bite is pretty much gone (and don’t expect any perfectly executed gems like “The Future’s Not What It Used To Be”) and with the aforementioned exception, the songs further into the album which hint back to their old ska sound are generally underwhelming. By all accounts however, it would be unfair to label “Long Live The Struggle” a failure simply because of a stylistic change and a few duds. The message and integrity of the band may have been lost somewhere between 2011 and now, but The King Blues have still managed to craft some great songs over a wide palette. They’ll be missed, in more ways than one.



Recent reviews by this author
JMSN †Pllajë†Say Lou Lou Better In The Dark
Sky Ferreira Night Time, My TimeM.I.A. Matangi
The Weeknd Kiss LandNK Nothing To Be Gained Here
user ratings (19)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2012



21575 Comments


Settled on a 3.5. Just.

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

Tyrael
July 9th 2012



20737 Comments


Good review but your rating is way too high brutha

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2012



21575 Comments


I was gonna give it a 3 right up until about 10 seconds before I pressed submit when I thought "well, I do quite like about half of the whole album" which is generally a 3.5 for me. I kinda wanted to give it a 3 just for all the shit songs and cos of my soundoff but that would be harsh

Tyrael
July 9th 2012



20737 Comments


Fair enough

I'm just mad that they went out with such a sloppy effort.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2012



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty good review, but yeah, the rating does seem a little kind given what you've written.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2012



21575 Comments


I do praise quite of the songs though, even though it's definitely a step down from Punk & Poetry

ZedO
July 9th 2012



1096 Comments


it's definitely a step down from Punk & Poetry

well, perhaps i will re-listen to their debut ;[

pos

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2012



21575 Comments


It's quite hard to treat some of the music the same way after this though http://scarletfoxx.tumblr.com/post/20280882521/the-danger-of-worshipping-false-idols-the-fall-of

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2012



30873 Comments


Ugh that summary

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2012



21575 Comments


but I just had to

phishing
July 9th 2012



395 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yea review is good but doesn't read like a 3.5.

Album blows. Even Itch's lyrics don't save this from mediocrity.

Sanders
July 9th 2012



2341 Comments


Christ, if half of what's in that blog post's true, he's a massive cunt

phishing
July 9th 2012



395 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

What blog post? o.O

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2012



21575 Comments


my link

phishing
July 9th 2012



395 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Holy moly, and I shook that man's hand and told him I respected his views and shit.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2012



21575 Comments


yeah, it's kinda surprising. although you have to expect that some of these people are douchebags behind all the unwavering praise and hyperbole they get in interviews. I always find it funny how every interview with a musician seems to be about how they used to have issues but have now fixed them. 6 months later, they're back in rehab. yeah, it's all PR bollocks.

Spec
July 9th 2012



27053 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sick didn't know this was out.

phishing
July 11th 2012



395 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

itch wrote a response to his ex's allegations on the king blues' facebook page for those interested in giving it a read.



http://www.facebook.com/thekingblues/posts/10150942585888226

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 11th 2012



21575 Comments


Either way, he's admitted to being an alcoholic and a sex addict. Fuck knows who to believe or to what extent. Hope he just recovers from all that

phishing
July 11th 2012



395 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah man, you can never know whose opinion to trust more than the other in cases like this. However, with all that's happened to the band (the controversial kick-outs/departures and whatnot) over the last few years I can't help but feel Itch has, at least occasionally, been a bit queer.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy