Omar Rodriguez-Lopez
Saber, Querer, Osar y Callar


3.5
great

Review

by Hernan M. Campbell STAFF
July 1st, 2012 | 20 replies | 5,154 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Another venture into electronica, only this one is Omar's most cohesive effort yet.

Omar has developed an obsession with electronica. Of course, we have seen him venture into the genre several times in the past, but his interest with this musical style has become much more prominent in his latest works. Ever since the release of Un Escorpión Perfumado in 2010, we have been seeing him divert further and further away from his usual Progressive rock and Jazz influences, while beginning to embrace a much more restrained sound. Lacking all of the musical spontaneity and instrumental explorations that once made his music so distinguishable. In albums like Un Escorpión Perfumado, and in the latest effort by The Mars Volta, Noctourniquet, we found Omar regressing into a musical style that is much more reminiscent of his days in the Dub-Reggae act, De Facto, as electronic decorations have become the central element in his music.

Last month, Omar had released Un Corazón de Nadie, yet another exploratory album where he experimented with different orchestral techniques using electronic soundscapes. The album was an exact incarnation of one of his previous efforts, Minor Cuts and Scrapes in the Bushes Ahead, as the musical content was approached with a similar agenda in mind. And though both albums contained their moments of impressive songwriting, they were, for the most part, an experiment with digital sounds than actual conscious efforts. Un Corazón de Nadie was certainly a frustrating experience to see Omar regress back into an experimental approach that served no further purpose than to be an experiment. The music was completely one-dimensional, lacking any sense of emotion. A mere orchestration of sounds that flowed through our senses without delivering anything new to captivate our enthusiasm. Saber, Querer, Osar y Callar, on the other hand, follows a different philosophy. It uses the electronic sequences of its predecessors, while fusing them with Dub and Rock elements much like in Un Escorpión Perfumado, a coalescence that induces a deranged psychedelic atmosphere.

“Home Lost” opens the album, and immediately it releases a very simple rhythmic groove. The music is instant, almost anxious to begin. There are no excessive barrages of psychedelic flourishes that bombard our senses, a once familiar aspect that now feels like a distant memory. This is indeed a new Omar. An artist that has cast aside his past enthusiasm for lengthy instrumental voyages, to focus on condensed ambient grooves. The musical style of this album is very lethargic. “Compartir (Sharing a Bus)”, for example, uses its slow momentum to induce a hypnotic trance. The sound is so delicate and alluring, like the sensation of descending into a dream. The music is flowing with gentle atmospheric textures that are very reflective to that of Downtempo.

“Angel Hair” is another highlight. It begins with a mellow soundscape, leaving us to lose ourselves in a sensually ambient melody. And as the song progresses, it steadily grows more dynamic, evolving into a more powerful delivery in its climax. It has certainly been an interesting experience to see Omar’s aspirations for electronic music evolve throughout time. And we, the loyal fans who have followed Omar through all of his past trends and ventures, we know that this is just the beginning of a new phase. It’s Omar’s personal incessant quest to a better understanding of the esoteric language of music itself, and fortunately, we have a front row seat to witness it all.



Recent reviews by this author
Broken Bells After The DiscoSound and Fury (FI) Pulsacion
Jail Weddings Meltdown: A Declaration of Unpopular EmotionChick Corea The Vigil
Pond (AUS) Hobo RocketBlack Sabbath 13
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
July 1st 2012



15200 Comments


As always, good work.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2012



4382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks, Gyro.

review was originally posted here:
http://www.thealtreview.net/2012/06/27/omar-rodriguez-lopez-saber-querer-osar-y-callar/

Tyrael
July 1st 2012



20740 Comments


Good that someone's paying attention to his solo work ;]

fine job as always man

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2012



4382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey Ty. Thanks for the feedback.

Azazzel
July 1st 2012



134 Comments


This dude could never hold my attention but you make it sound like he's turned over a new leaf.

I'd love to see a writer review one of his albums with same approach Omar takes to his music.

CaptainDooRight
July 1st 2012



28353 Comments


Great review bro. I gotta say if it weren't for you I wouldn't be as acquainted as I am with Omar. Gotta here. Pos.

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

CaptainDooRight
July 1st 2012



28353 Comments


Just heard Spellbound, Home Lost, and Angel Hair. All solid and would sound excellent stoned and even sober are nice chill relaxing tracks. Cool stuff man.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2012



4382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey Captain.
And yeah Omar's music is always trippy as hell wich makes for a good experience to smoke to.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



3336 Comments


Paperback's guide into Omar Rodriguez Lopez continues. Great review, pos. I haven't managed to listen to this album either. There are so many of them. I like this album's artwork, it's somewhat similar to Noctourniquet.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



4382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey, insomniac.
He has a lot of albums without reviews so I've kind of taken it upon myself to review them. Thanks for the feedback, and I agree about the artwork its has similar bubbles on it.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



3336 Comments


I'm getting this right now, because I said the same with Un Corazon de Nadie and never got to listen to it. Last year, I started reviewing My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult's discography because I was really into them, but lately I've been distracted by others. I have to finish it sometime in the near future.

Satellite
July 2nd 2012



20687 Comments


lol people still listen to omar's solo albums?

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



4382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I recommend getting this, but not Un Corazon, I didnt really like that one. But I dont know how you would see it.
I've never heard of My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult. Would you recommend them? And if so what album/song?

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



4382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He's got some really good albums, and others that are pretty bad. IT really depends on the kind of music you're into.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



3336 Comments


They're "sleazy" techno/industrial pioneers, a lighter version of KMFDM. The band's really cool, you should check 13 Above The Night (somewhat conceptual, about drugs,hookers,dealers,occult,etc.). Another great album is The Filthiest Show In Town which is more lounge tinged and Sexplosion! (it has their biggest hit Sex On Wheelz). From their early output, check Kooler Than Jesus, which has more occult themes.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



4382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They sound interesting, I'll check these guys out. Thanks.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



3336 Comments


They aren't that big, but they're really cool. If you live in the US you should definitely go and see them live. I hope you like them.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



4382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm listening to "Starmartyr" from 13 Above on youtube, and its actually really cool. they have a really good sound.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2012



3336 Comments


Yeah, check the title track from 13 Above The Night, Blue Buddha, Badlife or Dirty Little Secrets. There's a lot to love on each of their albums, plus they're really consistent.

ZedO
July 2nd 2012



1096 Comments


nice reads as always brother, I don't listen to this yet, but I'm sure I will check it out



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy