Lamb of God
New American Gospel


2.0
poor

Review

by Shadows USER (89 Reviews)
January 29th, 2006 | 118 replies | 19,708 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist


15 of 15 thought this review was well written

It�s no surprise when a metal band that invokes a sound that melds thrash-like riffs, grooves, intense vocals, and a deep brutality becomes a hit with the metal world. Fans everywhere bang their heads as they hail them as the leaders of the next extreme metal revolution, and for the most part, people are in conformity about the value of the new band leading the scene. Unfortunately, that band is not always of the highest quality, nor is it always well received by metal fans. In the case of Lamb of God, it seems as though metal has once again been graced with a band providing the masses with unique, enjoyable heavy metal. But alas, once again, a crucial aspect is missing in the metal puzzle, never more evident then on their debut, New American Gospel.

While new Lamb of God is a smorgasbord of brutal riffs, fast drumming, and deep screams, old Lamb of God was in desperate need of maturity and progression. The main deficiency of the album spawns from the lack of substance and variation among the riffs, as well as weak vocals and poor production. Structurally, the band also seems to have been a bit unorganized. Songs are often stretched far beyond what would have done them justice, namely Black Label�s emptiness into a breakdown and the tedious riffing of Pariah. While they cleverly avoid sinking to the predictable verse-chorus-verse style of playing, it�s almost as though the band tried so hard to make the structures different and unpredictable that they intentionally extended the music to the point of languor. Nearly every song is 4-5 minutes long, a trend that does not bode well with the band�s sound, especially compared to the notability of A Warning, a mere two minutes and twenty seconds.

Riffs become rather boring and monotonous very quickly, easily molding into a single undecipherable sound for the album�s entire duration. For a single example, it was nearly impossible to tell the difference of sounds when In the Absence of the Sacred ended and Letter to the Unborn began. Nearly every riff on the album is written in the same vein as the last, uniformity was taken to an extreme. It�s always nice to hear an album that flows as one, but one each song is identical to the last, listeners begin to beg for something � anything � to break the repetition.

To make one final blow to the band�s sound, the production was exceedingly poor. The into to Black Label was immediately off-putting, with Adler�s snare sounding very high and weak. His drums had an annoying click throughout the entire album (topped off by the all-too-prominent bass drum) that definitely subtracted from the overall sound. While the guitars were not vile, the bass comes through louder then most metal, a trait that seems to fall by the wayside in the midst of the album. Blythe�s voice sounds premature with its higher tone, which takes away greatly from the intensity of his deep scream he utilizes later on.

Despite a vast arrangement of negative persona, the album is not without charm. The Black Dahlia features some extremely catchy and headbangable riffs that effectively differentiate themselves from the rest of the nine tracks. The enticing intro of The Subtle Arts of Murder and Persuasion leads directly into a palm muted riff attack. Heads will undoubtedly be banged during New American Gospel, and dedicated moshers will definitely turn live Lamb of God shows into their home away from home.

With their debut, Lamb of God laid the foundation for what they would later expand upon and what would remain unchanged. It is evident how well they have grown over the past years, as New American Gospel is a great display of potential squandered through untimely song writing and harming production. Luckily the band learned from most of their mistakes and expanded their style with future albums, but perhaps they should�ve taken the time to write some truly unique and catchy riffs instead of filling the voids with breakdowns.

Recommended listening:
- Black Label
- The Black Dahlia
- Confessional



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth Blackwater ParkMirrorthrone Carriers of Dust
Cradle of Filth ThornographyTrivium The Crusade
Opeth DamnationBlind Guardian A Twist in the Myth
user ratings (827)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drunken Viking
January 29th 2006



1023 Comments


Meh, I liked this album.

diefamous
January 29th 2006



281 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review, strongly disagree though, and i think your opinions on this review are just a bit bullshit.This Message Edited On 04.30.06

Drunken Viking
January 29th 2006



1023 Comments


I thought this review was great, your just pissed because your favorite band didn't get an above average rating.

Kingofdudes
January 29th 2006



294 Comments


You need to work on your reviews man.. this was crap.

Good job on being mature about this. The review is good, you just can't handle his differing opinion.

Confessed2005
January 29th 2006



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Diefamous is a fool...ShadowsFallen writes some of the best reviews on this site. Ugh...anyways I thought this album had some good tracks. 'Black Label' being the highlight.

Damrod
Moderator
January 29th 2006



1093 Comments


diefamous, I would like to ask you not to put a negative vote on a review just because you disagree with the opinion. Which I strongly suspect here, taking your 4.5 for the album into consideration.

I diespelled your vote on this review. Please think twice and as unbiased as possible before you click on the Yes or No next time :thumb:

Damrod
Moderator
January 29th 2006



1093 Comments


Well written review btw ShadowsFallen :D

Apathy
January 29th 2006



645 Comments


Good review, but I disagree.

Thor
January 29th 2006



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review as usual.

I liked this album for the most part, but this is by far the band's weakest release.

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

Shadows
Moderator
January 29th 2006



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I figured most people would disagree. These guys do have some really great moments, but this is definitely their weakest release. A lot of the riffs seems really tedious, and the production was pretty bad. The Black Dahlia is a good song though.

I'm interested in the re-release though. If they record the whole album over again, it could come out great.

[QUOTE=diefamous]You need to work on your reviews man.. this was crap.[/QUOTE]
If it's crap, then tell me why so I can work on it.This Message Edited On 01.29.06

Shattered_Future
January 29th 2006



1539 Comments


Smashing review.

LOG is good for a song or two, then quickly falls off, as their music does NOTHING to change the patterns.

Thor
January 29th 2006



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think he just didn't like your review because of the rating. It's a great review, and I don't see why anyone would think otherwise.

Shadows
Moderator
January 29th 2006



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thank you very much.

I understand why people would be upset by a negative opinion on a band they like, but realize that I'm not just trying to flame the band and piss people off. This record had a lot of shortcomings that their later stuff improved on.This Message Edited On 01.29.06

Aakon_Keetreh
January 29th 2006



448 Comments


eh i dont like this cd. good review tho

Storm In A Teacup
January 29th 2006



12688 Comments


Very nice review, Shadows. I'm glad it wasn't too long, I didn't feel like reading something that dragged out forever. :p

AlienEater
January 29th 2006



716 Comments


this was a fantastic review. I only have one of their albums, its good, but one is quite enough.

Wizard
January 29th 2006



18773 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Excellent review! I agree with you fully about this album being weak, but I see it as a pinnacle point in Lamb of Gods career. This album opened up the door for them and has spawned a number of other metal bands to take an old school approach to their music, while mixing a bit of the new in it as well. Oh and to diefamous's comment above, keep your biased comments to yourself. Either give some constructive critism to the reviewer or dont give a crappy comment at all. 2/5 for album, 4.5/5 for reviewer

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Cravinov13
January 29th 2006



3854 Comments


Weak moment or not, it still doesn't deserve a 1.5... maybe a 2.5 or a 3, but not a 1.5. Good review though.

Apathy
January 29th 2006



645 Comments


onetwothree

Shadows
Moderator
January 29th 2006



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It strikes me as that kind of album. Their new stuff I wouldn't go this low, but I really dislike this album. It's amazing how much they improved with As the Palaces Burn.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy