My Bloody Valentine
EPs 1988-1991


4.5
superb

Review

by Irving Tan STAFF
June 24th, 2012 | 55 replies | 7,373 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A toast - to here knows when.

At this juncture, pretty much everything that needs to be said about My Bloody Valentine – from the swirling, all-asphyxiating toxicity on show in Loveless to the embryonic genius of their debut record Isn’t Anything – has been said at least twice over. Yet, EPs 1998 – 1991, a compilation of the band’s three Creation Records EPs – You Made Me Realise, Glider, and Tremolo – along with the “Feed Me with Your Kiss” single and several other rare and unreleased songs, manages to add a significant footnote to the band’s well wrought legacy.

And that's not just because newcomers “Angel”, “Good For You”, and “How Do You Do It” are perfectly fine additions to the MBV canon. Rather, there’s actual merit to be had in actually being able to string songs like “Drive It All Over Me” and “Feed Me with Your Kiss” back-to-back without having to get up to swap 12 inches on your record player. And who would have thought that a song as sparsely arranged as “I Need No Trust” would still sound so impeccably vital more than a tenth of the way into the 21st century?

Elsewhere, long-forgotten thrills – like the piano-wire garrote of “Instrumental No 1” and the woozy, disoriented pitch-bending of “Glider” – are reincarnated in glorious, crisply remastered form. Those numbers in the compilation’s title are clearly meant to be indicative: even if you have no idea who My Bloody Valentine are, there’s no way that you could mistake this for something released in the past decade. To borrow a cliché that’s as old and well-used as the band itself - they just don’t make ‘em like they used to.



Recent reviews by this author
Caleb McAlpine All Things NewAngel Olsen Burn Your Fire For No Witness
Eternal Summers The Drop BeneathBlood Orange Cupid Deluxe
Yuna NocturnalGhost Avenue Ghost Avenue
user ratings (67)
Chart.
4.5
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2012



17319 Comments


comps are gay

Digging: Monolake - Interstate

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2012



7007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This needed a review - thought I could provide.

Digging: Caleb McAlpine - All Things New

Graveyard
June 24th 2012



5367 Comments


the unreleased stuff on this is pretty sweeeeeeeeeeet

eternium
June 24th 2012



16206 Comments


All the EPs already have reviews except Feed Me.

Digging: Thou - Heathen

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2012



7007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds like a job for eternium!

Graveyard
June 24th 2012



5367 Comments


geek is pretty horrid from what i remember

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2012



7007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just did some math: holy crap this is my ninth review in six months. There was a time when I was pumping out two of the damned things in a week lol.

Tyrael
June 24th 2012



20394 Comments


a short irving review

is the world really ending

maybe the maya's were right...

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2012



48520 Comments


These are good

Digging: More Than Life - What's Left Of Me

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2012



7007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ Tyraelxy:

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/42077/Liz-Janes-Poison-and-Snakes/

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/41114/Bran-Van-3000-The-Garden/

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/48172/Eisley-Deep-Space/

Tyrael
June 24th 2012



20394 Comments


three paragraphs as opposed to just one...

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2012



48520 Comments


Why did you put a bad album in the recommended section?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2012



7007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah man I thought Loveless was balls too tbh.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2012



48520 Comments


Nah that's one of the good ones

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2012



7007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

K I hope you dislike the M83 one then cause if you hate on Halcyon Digest that's a federal crime in some parts of the U.S.A.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2012



48520 Comments


Yeah you win

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2012



7007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

:D!!!!

Tyrael
June 24th 2012



20394 Comments


Well

Microcastle is like a million times better but okay

Rev
June 24th 2012



9291 Comments


oh hey Irving's not dead


and shut up Rob HYWD rules

Tyrael
June 24th 2012



20394 Comments


minus 5 emslash points rev



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy