Anvil
Juggernaut Of Justice


3.5
great

Review

by John Marinakis USER (26 Reviews)
June 23rd, 2012 | 21 replies | 3,288 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Canadian rockers, stubborn as they are, show no signs of backing down as they release their 14th studio album.

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

For those unfamiliar with the band, Anvil is a Canadian Heavy Metal outfit from Toronto, Ontario. Formed in 1978, Anvil has been cited as a major influence for many groups, having also played an important role for the development of the Speed/Thrash movement with their first releases in the early 80’s. During the lifespan of their 34 year career, the band has chosen to stay true to their principles and their fans by following a certain musical path. The path of those artists who prefer not to change their musical style without giving a damn about their fame, the public reaction, album sales, or their reputation. This is one reason why these guys never became quite popular. They never sold out. In the mid 90’s, and most specifically in 1996 and 1997, during the time when Alternative Rock had a mainstream popularity, they released 2 albums respectively, titled Plugged In Permanent and Absolutely No Alternative to hint what they profess. Of course, Anvil are not the only ones who followed this path. AC/DC, Motorhead, Slayer, are all primary examples. However very few groups managed to remain consistent over the years. Anvil and Motorhead are the exceptions. There isn’t a single album in their whole discography that sucks completely and my friends, that is a noteworthy accomplishment.

Thanks to their 2008 documentary The Story Of Anvil, the band has enjoyed ever since a critical and commercial success they didn’t found even during their most active years. Juggernaut Of Justice their 14th studio work came in May 2011 to hit the stores. The first thing you may notice is the symbolic, revealing artwork which depicts a representation of the bands name parting the seas like Moses himself, an answer to all the misfortunes they encountered throughout their career. The actual album, from start to finish, screams high quality "Heavy Metal". The most amazing aspect of this album are the frenzy, energetic performances delievered by the members. Let’s not forget that 2 of them, Steve Kudlow and Robb Reiner are over their fifties, but still that doesn’t seem to be a problem. They sound like they have just entered the naïve period of adolescence. Everything you love about traditional Heavy Metal is founded here: dynamic rhythms, tight, sharp riffs, aggressive solos which are all executed perfectly, intense tempos, all the ingredients are here. You won’t find any soft ballads. You won’t find any songs talking about love or any other relative themes. You won’t find any generosity. Just pure aggression. If you are one of those guys who like this kind of delivered musical honesty this is the album for you.

Most of the compositions are timed between three and four minutes, so the album flows perfectly and you will not feel bored if you choose to dedicate 45 minutes of your time to sit down and listen to it. The length would be much shorter if it wasn’t for the seven minutes epic doom-like Paranormal. The track bears some resemblance to Sabbath’s titled song and manages to offer something different from the previous tracks. However it’s not anything special. As an idea this song isn’t bad at all, but it’s not carefully orchestrated. Lips’s repeated shouts "paranormal”, “paranormal” over the chorus sound annoying and the main riff is played over and over again in a slow tempo for seven minutes. But I think that’s the only dissonance you may find here. Another similar song is New Orleans Voodoo, which is also slow and has a haunting vibe but it’s shorter and better executed. The closing instrumental is one of the most interesting songs the band has ever wrote. Flirting with Jazz structures and even integrating a horn section, it may sound as a filler song, but I think that a little experimentation won’t hurt at all. It would be nice to see them writing and experimenting again, in their future studio efforts, with different constructed compositions, while retaing their musical core and applying at the same time some different elements outside of Metal.


To sum up my thoughts, Anvil needs our support. They’ve earned it. They have been on the road for a very long time and despite their classic early releases, only just until recently they managed to make their breakthrough. Whether you like them or not, you must admit that they deserve our respect for doing what they did all these years with honesty love and passion, and for all the good music they have bought to us.

Listen to their albums.


Recommended tracks:

Juggernaut Of Justice
When Hell Breaks Loose
New Orleans Voodoo
On Fire
Swing Thing



Recent reviews by this author
Windhand SomaWindhand Windhand
Candlemass Candlemass - LiveCandlemass Tales Of Creation
Avatarium AvatariumScorpions Blackout
user ratings (38)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
June 23rd 2012



70284 Comments


sweet

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

rockandmetaljunkie
June 23rd 2012



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Third review guys.
I'm open to any constructive criticism.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2012



5894 Comments


Good review, pos.


Some suggestions:

In the mid 90’s, and most specifically in 1996 and 1997, during the time when Alternative Rock had a mainstream popularity, they released 2 albums respectively, titled “Plugged In Permanent” and “Absolutely No Alternative” to hint what they profess.

The whole phrase could be deleted, in my opinion.



The actual album, from start to finish, screams “Heavy Metal” and it’s filled with qualities

screams high quality "Heavy Metal".



You won’t find any generosity. Just pure aggression

I would write: You won't find the band watering down its aggressiveness throughout the whole record.



If you are one of those guys who like this kind of delievered musical honesty this is the album for you.

delivered

Digging: Electric Citizen - Sateen

rockandmetaljunkie
June 23rd 2012



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man !!
I will make some corrections.

YUJOS
June 23rd 2012



913 Comments


Never heard anything from the band.May check this album though. Good review RMJ.

Digging: Misery Index - The Killing Gods

TheNotrap
June 23rd 2012



7954 Comments


Nice work man, have a pos.

Well let's say their debut was very influential. I respect this band but they're not my cup of tea.

Digging: Gazpacho - Demon

KILL
June 23rd 2012



70284 Comments


metal on metal is bezt

TheNotrap
June 23rd 2012



7954 Comments


Yeah was talking about Metal on Metal. I keep forgetting they have a previous one.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2012



4372 Comments


Rockandmetal review? instant POS! good review, mate.

ThrashTillDeath94
June 23rd 2012



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review, might just check this out.

rockandmetaljunkie
June 23rd 2012



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@YUJOS
Yeah they don't have a reputation worthy of their skills unfortunately. Check out their first 3 awesome albums.

@Notrap
Sure man !! To each his own, but i find it hard to believe that someone who loves Metal will reject these guys.

@PaperbackWriter
I appreciate your kind words man, but i would rather you to read it first and then pos'd if you like it. Not just because i wrote it. And if you have any recommendation for me, or if there is something you would change just tell me. I love listening to different opinions.

@ThrashTillDeath94
If you haven't heard these guys, this album is a good starting point. But their first 3 albums are a must for every metalhead.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2012



4372 Comments


@Rockandmetal
Oh no, I read it first mate. You did a fine job. But as you know, I've read your previous work and you always bring good stuff to the table- and that's why i enjoy reading your stuff, because i always go in assuming its going to be good and it always is.

rockandmetaljunkie
June 23rd 2012



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh okay, thanks again.
I'm glad you enjoy reading my reviews, but i myself will feel satisfied only when i reach your professional level. You have a delicate skill my firend.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2012



4372 Comments


Thanks, thats very kind of you to say. Keep the reviews coming!

rockandmetaljunkie
June 23rd 2012



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I will !!!
I have already written 2 fresh reviews and i'll upload them within the next 2 days. I still have to make some corrections though.

WhiteNoise
June 24th 2012



3036 Comments


Cool review...After watching the Anvil movie I just couldn't stand these guys and their music doesn't really do it for me.

Digging: Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work)

lostforwords
June 24th 2012



443 Comments


Very good review, pos. Made me go check the title track and When all Hell Breaks Loose and think to myself that Forged in Fire needs badly a review, so sit down and get to work!

Also, while I'm not their biggest fan, I respect them and find them enjoyable, so I feel that movie did them justice.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 24th 2012



19887 Comments


Great review man.

One thing I would change:

All the compositions are timed between three and four minutes, so the album flows perfectly and you will not feel bored if you choose to dedicate 45 minutes of your time to sit down and listen to it. The length would be much shorter if it wasn’t for the seven minutes epic doom-like “Paranormal”.

I would have put "most of the compositions..." bacuase by saying "all" you end up kind of contradicting yourself by saying that one of the tracks is 7 minutes long.

Other than that great job dude. pos'd.



rockandmetaljunkie
June 24th 2012



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes, you're right Jamie, that was my mistake. I will correct this immediately.
Thank you.

ThrashTillDeath94
June 24th 2012



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah i haven't heard their first 3 albums, will have to change that. So far this album is good, but
nothing special to me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy