For Today
Immortal


1.5
very poor

Review

by TBliss2 USER (22 Reviews)
June 21st, 2012 | 35 replies | 1,872 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ‘Immortal’ is an absolute chore to get through, and it is difficult to see how anyone could tolerate either the mediocre sound or having religion forced down their throat.

5 of 10 thought this review was well written

With so many fantastic Christian bands making music today, it is undeniably apparent that, for the majority of outfits, religion may perhaps fuel the band to do what they do, but their faith has little impact on the quality of the music. Yet, in a small amount of cases, the overt preaching and transparent attempt to influence an audiences beliefs only serves to prove massively detrimental to a bands overall appeal. For Today are one such band.

At a standard forty minutes in length, ‘Immortal’ all too quickly drags, playing out like a rather aggressive sermon put to a back drop of ultra derivative metalcore. Opener ‘Fearless’ limps from rehashed breakdown to monotonous chorus melody, the title track is a feast of recycled riffing and the faux call to arms of ‘Under God’ is so hackneyed and dreary it really is unforgivable.

Not that this utterly dull collection of cut and paste tracks is not enough to endure, but the constant advocating of Christian teaching manages to sap any minuscule amount of fun that this album might have contained. The band even decided that the relentlessly moralizing lyrics were not sufficient to do the job, and took it upon themselves to include two songs composed entirely of over dramatic, apocalyptically fire and brimstone sound bites, which of course are entirely redundant and pad out an already lingering run time.

According to the band themselves ‘For Today will stop at nothing until the name of Christ is proclaimed to the entire world.’ Which makes it all the more bewildering that they were would employ such a stale, tired and rather unattractive form of music to achieve their ridiculous goal. ‘Immortal’ is an absolute chore to get through, and it is difficult to see how anyone could tolerate either the mediocre sound or having religion forced down their throat.



Recent reviews by this author
The Burial In The Taking Of FleshLower Than Atlantis Changing Tune
Martyr Defiled In ShadowsEveryone Dies In Utah Polarities (+//-)
Oceans Ate Alaska Into The DeepSix Feet Under Undead
user ratings (143)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
DragonHeartstring (4)
A very hard hitting dose of metalcore that is not overly original but is heavy as hell and has some ...

G.M.B. (2)
In their fourth full-length, For Today do what they've already done, and remove all the interesting ...

AtBRareform (3.5)
"So I laid down my life for the world to see. There was only one who could break the chains that bou...


Comments:Add a Comment 
IntellectualMind
June 21st 2012



36 Comments


Your review is kinda pointless. I'm not even gonna read it. We already have two low rating reviews and an overall low rating from users. Why do you feel the need to post another pointless review for this?

TBliss2
June 21st 2012



501 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Theres one low rating review, and mine is rated lower than that, suggesting I have other things to say about it, therefore making the review not pointless. Not that you can tell me what I can and cannot write a review of.

IntellectualMind
June 21st 2012



36 Comments


Your review kind of drags on. You talk about the album dragging on but you're a hypocrite. All your review is saying this isn't and it drags on. All I'm reading is a bunch of redundancy.

However, your review was good enough and much better than the crap I've been reading today so have a pos.

TBliss2
June 21st 2012



501 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Haha, you dont make any sense at all. Especially for someone calling themselves IntellectualMind.

IntellectualMind
June 21st 2012



36 Comments


"in a small amount of cases, the overt preaching and transparent attempt to influence an audiences beliefs only serves to prove massively detrimental to a bands overall appeal"

this line was subjective and your review is actually very weak compared to your past work. Neg.

TBliss2
June 21st 2012



501 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

haha you are a moron

IntellectualMind
June 21st 2012



36 Comments


Maybe but I'm honest. I'll have a review up soon so you guy's can see how it's done.

TBliss2
June 21st 2012



501 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Its ok, I actually get paid to write dude, Im doing just fine.

IntellectualMind
June 21st 2012



36 Comments


not really funny but ok, keep yourself happy with pointless comments

Killerhit
June 21st 2012



4494 Comments


You're a living, glowing, walking, talking, shining beacon of hypocrisy ain't cha?

camaraderie
June 21st 2012



988 Comments


Band sucks, album sucks, review sucks. Nothing to see here.

IntellectualMind
June 21st 2012



36 Comments


Thank you I'm not the only who's man enough to say it.

TBliss2
June 21st 2012



501 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Your just not the only one whos wrong.

Killerhit
June 21st 2012



4494 Comments


boom

IntellectualMind
June 21st 2012



36 Comments


"Your just not the only one whos wrong"

wow the reviewer defending his own review. lol, go figure

camaraderie
June 21st 2012



988 Comments


"Your just not the only one whos wrong."

*you're
*who's

You get paid to write? Impressive, we got the new Stephanie Meyer over here.

TBliss2
June 21st 2012



501 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

haha inventive retort. intellectual mind indeed.

Killerhit
June 21st 2012



4494 Comments


Fuck this, I got better things to do

TBliss2
June 21st 2012



501 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

if i got paid to write on here mabye i would care less :D

IntellectualMind
June 21st 2012



36 Comments


"haha inventive retort. intellectual mind indeed"

says the guy who can't spell

"Fuck this, I got better things to do"

and yet you're still here, be gone





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy