Linkin Park
Living Things


1.5
very poor

Review

by Ian USER (108 Reviews)
June 19th, 2012 | 104 replies | 6,238 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don't let people have you expecting a return to old Linkin Park. Living Things is a bands attempt to further their evolving style.

15 of 42 thought this review was well written

Hybrid Theory and Meteora didn't neccessarily bring anything new to the table, but they were still fun and at times unpredictable, featuring angst laden outbursts of genuine singing and screaming from Chester Bennington and rapping from Mike Shinoda. That's why it's confusing the direction Linkin Park has taken lately. Am I listening to a tame Enter Shikari? Am I listening to a cheap 30 Seconds to Mars? It's 2012 and two vastly mediocre mainstream albums since the bands peak has accompanied Linkin Park with even bigger success (that's how it works sometimes). The band seems almost interested in only writing fairy tale feeling hits. This would make it real easy for Linkin Park to poop more doo doo out and have a trilogy of mediocre albums. Sadly, this would also be reality. The 'nu-metal' is gone, replaced by indecipherable, tucked away guitar riffs that are majorly supported/replaced by an enormous ammount of programming/effects that even Tom Delonge would ask if it was going overboard. "Lies Greed Misery" exemplifies this in an alarmingly bad way.

It's like the band is trying to sell cheese and that cheese tastes awfully bland (and American too). The band is literally attempting to sound '21st century' and more advanced than everyone else, which only leads to feelings of frustration for me to still be listening. Mike Shinoda's presence is a joke and that provides one of the worst turns on Living Things. Chester Bennington is so busy trying to be Tom Delonge, or Jared Leto that Shinoda's influence is pushed to the side and when he does take over...well...I'm embarassed to have even liked Fort Minor knowing this is the same guy. Mikes performance on "Until It Breaks" encapsulates the joke album that is Living Things. The opening nearly rips off Aqua Teen Hunger Force's theme song and then Shinoda is rapping to the degree of the most generic, modernized mainstream rapper stereotype without any kind of fun involved. Lyrics not provided due to reviewer wanting to protect reader(and I like ***ty lyrics at times!). Of course when the song is half through Chester comes swooping in trying to provide an uplifting atmosphere to an extremely stale track that had already crumbled, making it too late to make a difference. It's as if Linkin Park is content not challenging themselves. They appear perfectly fine with casting a veil of futuristic songwriting by providing a gloss and sheen over their SLOW jams. The heavy segments where the band could really have unloaded some aggression is faked and nothing exciting tops a song off...ever. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust, Living Things, is a bust.



Recent reviews by this author
Z-Ro CocaineEmery The Weak's End
Papa Roach Old Friends from Young YearsWolves & Machines Ailments
Krizz Kaliko Kickin' and Screamin'Madina Lake From Them, Through Us, To You
user ratings (1003)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
June 19th 2012



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

It's finally of age!!!

TooManyFriends
June 19th 2012



388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is OK to post now?

Storm In A Teacup
June 19th 2012



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

yup

Storm In A Teacup
June 19th 2012



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

oh gosh the haters hatin' on that haterade already.

IgneousPrime
June 19th 2012



14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

1) It's not okay to post yet, earliest release date is the 20th in Japan.

2) You're entitled to your opinion about the album, and I'm fine with that, but this is terribly written. I've looked at your other reviews and they're fine, but you purposefully dumbed yourself down when you wrote this one.

Must be cool to troll just because it's a band you don't like.

hybridxero31
June 19th 2012



2 Comments


You are the definition of someone who can't accept a bands evolution. This truly is a horrible review,
no definition to it whatsoever. If your going to waste peoples time, stop letting your "personal
feelings" get in the way of a review. Learn how to write.

macadoolahicky
June 19th 2012



1835 Comments


I really disliked the singles on this, but I really enjoyed the last album. Will give this a shot.

Storm In A Teacup
June 19th 2012



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"It's not okay to post yet"

lol yes it is. It's legally streaming free right now.

"I've looked at your other reviews and they're fine, but you purposefully dumbed yourself down when you wrote this one. "

lol I didn't try to do anything like that. You're extremely paranoid or something.


"Must be cool to troll just because it's a band you don't like"

I'm not trollling at all this is a 100% serious review. I wish I liked the album and I like other albums from them. You're assuming an awful lot.

Storm In A Teacup
June 19th 2012



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"You are the definition of someone who can't accept a bands evolution. This truly is a horrible review,
no definition to it whatsoever. If your going to waste peoples time, stop letting your "personal
feelings" get in the way of a review. Learn how to write."

LOL you're also assuming way too much. Learn how to not be butthurt. This album is terrible and that's all there is to it. I wanted to review it because I had something to say about it.

IgneousPrime
June 19th 2012



14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Lol, my apologies then. Didn't know it was legally streaming now.

Also, I guess I was paranoid. Your review came off a bit trollish compared to your other ones, so I apologize for coming across as a dick.

Meh.

Storm In A Teacup
June 19th 2012



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

cheers :-)

Gyromania
June 19th 2012



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

featuring angst laiden


laden*

That's why it's confusing the direction Linkin Park has taken lately.


restructure this sentence, because it reads like you're suggesting something is confusing the direction LP have taken, which makes no sense. try: "The direction LP have taken is confusing"?

and two vastly mediocre mainstream suck up albums


throw a hyphen in-between suck and up.

The band seems almost interested in only writing fairy tale feeling hits. This would make it real easy for Linkin Park to poop more doo doo out and have a trilogy of mediocre albums.


what? fairy-tale feeling hits? uh..

This would also be reality, so it's time to put your Pineapple Express away, get up, and suck today's d!cK!


*cringes*

The band is literally attempting to sound '21st century' and more advanced than everyone else


:S

change your summary btw - it suggests that it's bad because it isn't like their older stuff.



Storm In A Teacup
June 19th 2012



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"Summary: Nothing like Meteroa or Hybrid Theory.

Shows right off the bat that you went into this review with bias. Also your points are scattered.
Neg"

I wrote that over 24 hours after I wrote the review I put that there because A LOT of media is saying this is a return to that form. The main reason I wanted to write this review is so people don't go into it expecting to hear that and maybe they won't form an opinion based off what others have said. So you're also assuming to much. Everybody right now thinks they're so clever when they're straight up wrong lol

Gyromania
June 19th 2012



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

oh, and omit the the last comma at the end of your review.

Storm In A Teacup
June 19th 2012



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

It's all snideremark good you gotta live up to your username somehow lol.

And thanks gyro. I've changed it up and I will again probably. Got rid of the summary and changed it to the message I was wanting to get through.

Apollo
June 19th 2012



10083 Comments


dude, I like you and the reviews you have written, but this just terrible

Gyromania
June 19th 2012



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

storm: no worries, i'll check it out again after you revise it

Storm In A Teacup
June 19th 2012



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I'm not used to reviewing/writing again I guess lol. I have done like 3 reviews now in the last 3 years or something.

InvertTheInverted
June 19th 2012



614 Comments


You sure complain a lot, Storm.

InvertTheInverted
June 19th 2012



614 Comments


You sure complain a lot, Storm....



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy