Headspace
I Am Anonymous


4.5
superb

Review

by KatatoNick USER (1 Reviews)
June 17th, 2012 | 15 replies | 6,446 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Headspace may feel anonymous now, but hopefully after this effort, they won’t for much longer.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Many would agree that progressive metal is a genre that is very hit and miss. Bands such as Dream Theater have a history of losing and gaining fans and critical acclaim from album to album, this is something that is now widely regarded as coming with the territory of being a ‘serious musician’. Headspace is a band made up of members who display a wealth of experience including Damian Wilson (singer-songwriter and vocalist of Threshold), Adam Wakeman (current keyboardist with Black Sabbath) and Richard Brook (long-time live drummer for Avril Lavigne). Damian Wilson defines I Am Anonymous as an album about “you and your relationship with humanity, ultimately the battles fought within the mind from child to man”. It is clear then that even with the presence of Brook this is not meant to be a simple venture into pop-rock.


The album is instead progressive from the get-go, combining elements of both classic and modern metal. The opener “Stalled Armageddon” creeps in with a slow doomy riff, before exploding into a series of subtle, groove-laden polyrhythms, then rests into a mixture of power-metal inspired vocals, and guitar solos reminiscent of Dream Theater’s more focused material. This succeeds in being a fine example of how to make elements of metal that have been around for decades sound fresh and exciting once more, and in doing helps give Headspace the individuality they so clearly seek.


Experimentation continues to run rife throughout the album; this is highlighted most by “In Hell’s Name”, which throws practically everything but the kitchen sink at the listener. It begins with a dark ambient atmosphere, complete with organ, choir and lyrics surrounding fear and death. This depressive wall of sound then erupts and we are suddenly thrown into the Orient, a sitar dances along with a groove-laden bass-line, and is accompanied by a strong performance on drums by Brooke. The band puts forward this unusual song structure with such confidence that it ignites the listener’s anticipation for the rest of the album (which consequently delivers in spades), an admirable achievement for any band.



Overall, clocking in at 73 minutes, this eight track odyssey is one that demands a serious attention span and a few listens to fully appreciate. However, those who are used to songs of eight-plus minutes are bound to find many things in I Am Anonymous to keep them interested and connected to the music. For instance, for me the dissonant guitar tone and riff structures in parts of “Die With A Bullet” occasionally remind me of In Mourning’s recent release The Weight of Oceans, whilst Wilson’s vocals in “Fall of America” occasionally bring forth a whisper of Akerfeldt from Opeth’s classic “Benighted”.

In a genre cluttered with almosts and not-quiets, this is an example of how progressive music should sound; engaging, adventurous and most importantly, memorable.


user ratings (32)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
KatatoNick
June 16th 2012



128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Die With A Bullet: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-_t0GqJiIo

CaptainDooRight
June 17th 2012



28300 Comments


I enjoyed your first review pos. I listened to the link you provided and unfortunately, being a major fan of progressive music, I didn't enjoy it one not. I felt the song wasn't memorable and vocal approach was a turn off for me. I'm very picky when it comes to progressive music and vocal styles. The musical compositions were ok but did nothing to evoke a sense of enjoyment within myself. I probably won't be looking any further into these guys.

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2012



1978 Comments


Sounds interesting! I might just check this out.

Well-written, too. Have a pos.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2012



1978 Comments


I kind of like the vocals and some of the early keyboard play, but the guitars sounded wretchedly repetitive for being as high in the mix as they were. But for as much as I used to love bands like this, I think I'm also kinda over them. Damian sounds better with Star One, at least.

Dreamflight
June 17th 2012



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea review is great. As for the album I still don't know what to think of it. Love the slow parts with Damien's soothing voice, but there's lots of boring moments too imo.

jybt
July 17th 2012



342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I bought this after reading what "Daddy Fucking Loves You" was about. While I'm not in a family of veterans, many of us understand how much our fathers sacrifice to express something we can't express in words, and so I knew exactly what this song was going to do to me before I heard it; I sobbed for five minutes afterwards and patched things up with my dad. Even the morning after, I can feel this pure expression of love just as vividly. This is my favorite song of the year now, and the remaining music solidifies I Am Anonymous as my current favorite disc of the year.

KatatoNick
August 4th 2012



128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ I didn't have your emotional response to that track, but I can appreciate how powerful the song can be to someone who has. The album is in my top 5 of the year so far.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2012



7306 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm in the middle of listening to it. Die With A Bullet is certainly a great song.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

jybt
October 29th 2012



342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ Cannot stop listening to that earthquaking opening riff; this is one of the reasons I love progressive METAL. The wispy, half-apocalyptic piano interlude is also an album highlight.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2012



7306 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Die With A Bullet is my favorite song on here. I can't say I love the entire album, but this is most definitely a rock solid debut.

KatatoNick
November 1st 2012



128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree, Die With A Bullet rocks like Fred Flintstone. Re-listening once again, right now.

TheNotrap
December 23rd 2012



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Pretty enjoyable.


pillowhard
January 18th 2013



23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The instrumental style is great. The singer's voice is sick. Most bands are ruined by their singers.

dannyboy89
February 9th 2013



11903 Comments


I personally dislike DT because i find them too copious of other bands. I might check this out, provided that it doesn't run in the same vein.

Detritivore
May 2nd 2013



267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good....but if not for Damian Wilson on vocals this could have been an average album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy