Dolorian
Voidwards


4.5
superb

Review

by no names awesome enough USER (6 Reviews)
June 15th, 2012 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Step into the Void..

There's an obvious struggle among Metal bands to create unique, original music, and while some try to develop a sound of their own, very few manage to accomplish such thing. Dolorian however, is a band that undoubtly created their own unique sound, despite the obvious similarities with Doom Metal, their offering includes a variety of other elements that can be described as Psychedelic Doom, and after two solid releases, the band presents us with Voidwards, album which is much more than an improvement over the last material, it's pure perfection.

From the first minutes of Dual - Void - Trident it becomes clear that Voidwards is far from being your typical Doom album, imagine yourself walking through a never ending, colorless hallway, desperately trying to reach for the exit and uncovering all the horrible secrets hidden in the back of your mind, as the album progresses into nothingness you too will be lost in the inner depths of your mind. The whole sound is still dark and unconforting but much more focused in a bleak atmosphere, the overall production is more clear than the usual but has a strange echo effect. The vocals are mostly whispers, which may seem weird at first but end up working perfectly here, and while most of the riffs are rather slow, there are still some perfectly headbangable moments to be found.

Ocasionally you'll hear elements of oriental music which help to create a powerfull atmosphere, this is what the album is all about, creating a strong, depressing mood and ultimatelly devoiding the listenner from reality. There's also an impressive usage of acoustic guitars in the instrumental track 'The Flow Of Seething Visions', a welcome, calm and phenomenal break from the dark journey presented by the album. Despite some obvious standout tracks, Voidwards is a much better experience when listenned as a whole, its one of those pieces of music that just doesn't work if you listen to only one track, even if said track is fantastic.

If each music album were to be a journey, then Voidwards would be a dark, disturbing trip, through the depths of your imagination and nightmares. All in all, its not Cannibal Corpse but its still good.



Recent reviews by this author
Fading Waves The Sense of SpaceThe Mire Glass Cathedrals
More Than A Thousand Vol. I: Trailers Are Always More Exciting Than MBefore The Dawn The Ghost
Universum Leto Destinatus
user ratings (20)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Shuyin
June 15th 2012


12061 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

been awhile since ive written a review, hope it doesnt suck as much as the other ones.

YankeeDudel
June 15th 2012


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"RAWR RAWR RAWR BLAST BEATS END"

Haha my saying caught on with you huh

Digging: Taj Mahal Travellers - August 1974

CaptainDooRight
June 15th 2012


30334 Comments


Sweet, POS. Good to you came through Shu, props hard bro.

CaptainDooRight
June 15th 2012


30334 Comments


For an individual who doesn't possess English as their first language you did a really fine job here. You expressed all your points well and even added a little humor at the end. Again, good job bro. I look forward to reading your future reviews Shuyin.

Shuyin
June 15th 2012


12061 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

'Haha my saying caught on with you huh'

what? im never gonna take it off hahaha

'For an individual who doesn't possess English as their first language you did a really fine job here. You expressed all your points well and even added a little humor at the end. Again, good job bro. I look forward to reading your future reviews Shuyin.'

thanks Cap, i guess i was owing this one to you. album is hard to describe but i really wanted to review this one, its a fantastic album and needed a review pretty hard, cheers man m/

Eclecticist
June 15th 2012


3863 Comments


Good stuff, downloading the album now.

Shuyin
June 15th 2012


12061 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

great, man. these guys deserve way more attention, i hope you enjoy the album.

Eclecticist
June 15th 2012


3863 Comments


I am pretty sure that I will love this. I checked out two tracks on youtube and I could already tell that the album was at least a 4

Shuyin
June 15th 2012


12061 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

cheers for the neg, whoever you are.

Wizard
June 15th 2012


19644 Comments


Fuck neggers, go back to your hateful ways hahahahaha.

Why haven't I heard these guys before? Great review, got me interested.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

MyWife
June 15th 2012


367 Comments


u sur got a lot more hilarious since the last time i insulted u wiz wiz

Shuyin
June 15th 2012


12061 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

thanks wizard, this may be right up your alley.

Shuyin
June 15th 2012


12061 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

http://roleplayerslament.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/look-at-all-the-fucks-i-give.png

Apostrophee
June 20th 2012


49 Comments


Der http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SpTxlHcbpc8&feature=youtu.be

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2012


50960 Comments


uncle dolan

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

Shuyin
June 20th 2012


12061 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

'Der http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SpTxlHcbpc8&feature=youtu.be'

DUDE!!

FUCKIN' A!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy