Six Feet Under
Undead


2.0
poor

Review

by TBliss2 USER (24 Reviews)
June 13th, 2012 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 'Undead' regrettably seems content to settle itself into a lifeless mid tempo groove and remain there until it has seen out its running time.


Since his departure from founding death metal legends Cannibal Corpse, vocalist Chris Barnes has trodden a rather unremarkable path with his latest outfit Six Feet Under. Churning out some solid yet utterly formulaic material, it is fair to say that Barnes continues to be overshadowed by the relentlessly superb output of his former band, and indeed the glut of young hopefuls which look to push traditional extremity into broader, more exciting territory.

Unfortunately, 'Undead' does much to re-enforce this viewpoint. Despite an injection of fresh blood (guitarist Rob Arnold and drummer Kevin Talley of Chimaira fame join the fold), the songwriting here just feels so confusingly languid and apathetic it takes no little time for the album to become an absolute chore to listen to. '18 Days' clambers along on a bed of recycled riffing and quite simply tiresome and directionless guttural vocals, and 'Formaldehyde' relies on some monotonous tremelo picking and colourless drum patterns.

The problem is that the tracks just dont go anywhere. Chugging and blasting may be all very well, but as extreme as it is death metal is dependant, as all other genres, on songwriting aptitude, and 'Undead' regrettably seems content to settle itself into a lifeless mid tempo groove and remain there until it has seen out its running time. Devoid of hooks, energy, invention or spirit, this release demonstrates just how the new breed of death-heads are proving to reinvigorate a genre which without them would seemingly be fatally flagging.



Recent reviews by this author
Sacrilegious Throne Eternal ApostasyObscene Entity Obscene Entity
The Burial In The Taking Of FleshLower Than Atlantis Changing Tune
Martyr Defiled In ShadowsEveryone Dies In Utah Polarities (+//-)
user ratings (94)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
ImTheOnlyThugInTheBuildin (4)
Six Feet Under FINALLY release top quality album...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TBliss2
June 13th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Cheers for the pos's guys

MyWife
June 13th 2012


367 Comments


i disagree


in my opinion, Six Feet Under FINALLY release top quality album

Shuyin
June 13th 2012


11708 Comments


the opinion of my wife is irrelevant.

great review

band sucks

have a pos

Digging: Django Reinhardt - Djangology

TBliss2
June 13th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haha, agreed with that man. Thanks for the pos.

MyWife
June 13th 2012


367 Comments


Overall, this is a decent, consistent, solid album. It is worth a listening, as it is possibly their best album to date. Check out 18 Days or Blood On My Hands before picking up the album to make your mind up

TBliss2
June 13th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I dont need to man, I've heard them multiple times, thus reviewing the album.

glezz
June 13th 2012


235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This the best album they have ever done. Granted, they are not tech metal, but the production and songwriting is finally in line with their groove thang.
A lot of folks who do not like 6 Feet Under have been pleasantly surprise by the album. I have never been a fan, even destroying Warpath after i bought it it was so dumb, but this one grabs my ears.

I do believe it is a little better than 2 under any circumstances, whether you hate Barnes or not. The vocals are actually improved here.

I can't give this review a thumb up. I don't believe the album is devoid of hooks and songwriting and that the songs go nowhere. I think this is more of a i hate 6FU deal.

TBliss2
June 13th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I dont hate them by any means, they have just nothing in their career so far that is in anyway above average, and this album is no exception. I've listened to it a few times and could not for the life of me remember a single riff or melody from this, the songs are dull and lack dynamics and ultimately do nothing. The vocals are monotonous and pretty weak in my opinion. Thats my reasons for not liking this (already pointed out in the review by the way)

TheRedPen
June 13th 2012


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

A good review, highlighting both the unfortunate stagnation of modern death metal and the scene's overall dilution, typified in Six Feet Under I feel, and also the inherent weaknesses of one of the genre's most flawed bands. Have a pos, my friend.

TBliss2
June 13th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

thanks alot dude

KILL
June 13th 2012


71856 Comments


sweet

Digging: A Guy Called Gerald - Black Secret Technology

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2012


50458 Comments


Of course someone with such a stupid avatar would like this shit

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

glezz
June 13th 2012


235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Having nothing in their career that impresses you means nothing.
Once again, you reference the past. You are reviewing THIS CD, on it's own merits, and once again, i disagree with your methods.

There is much that is groovy and besides, it is better than 2 by any standards.
As a Death Metal album, it is a at least 2.5 or 3.

glezz
June 13th 2012


235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Let's not bring avatars in as a gauge, else people talk about your avatar.
And it ain't gonna be pretty.

TBliss2
June 14th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You said you thought the review was based on me hating the band as a whole. I was just pointing out that I dont. I dont care if you disagree with my methods, I have stated clearly why I dont think this album is good, and to me it is poor, and therefore a 2.

glezz
June 14th 2012


235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What you did say about the album isn't even true. It is not totally devoid of good riffs, hooks, songwriting... I bet you barely listened to this.

TBliss2
June 14th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yes it is. My opinion isnt the same as yours, just get over it. I've backed up what I think about this enough. This is really sub par death metal in my view.

mangamusicfan
November 14th 2012


22 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

best cd of this band.
band sucks in my opinion but this album is pretty good




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy