Oh No
Ohnomite


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS
June 11th, 2012 | 16 replies | 8,058 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Another solid addition to one of the most consistent discographies of the genre

Oxnard, California producer Oh No has spent most of his career in the shadow of older brother Otis Jackson (aka Madlib), which is unfortunate; his discography has been equally as consistent, if not as profound. Ohnomite is no exception as one of the most impressive pure producer records since Black Milk's 2008 genre statement in Tronic. The younger Jackson takes cues from Black, but also infuses a lot of east coast techniques with his own brand of west coast funk. It really is no surprise; after producing Raekwon's incredible "Every Soldier in the Hood" last year, it seems that Oh No really immersed himself in the current NYC underground scene on projects like Gangrene (with NY staple Alchemist). Fortunately, Ohnomite pulls a lot less from the latter than the former, as Gangrene's most recent offering Vodka & Ayahuasca emulated the feel of an Alchemist record in terms of production with Oh No merely along for the ride.

No, there's not an ounce of straight up, ripped-from-the-90s boom bap to found within the confines of Ohnomite, and it's much better for it. As with his recent records, there is an overall sonic concept Oh No adheres to - this time using samples from 70s blaxploitation film Dolemite. Regardless of the source, his trademark syncopated future-funk goes in full force, but with a bit of a more forceful east coast bite. No's rapping hasn't especially improved since 2006's Exodus Into Unheard Rhythms, but remains serviceable. The various featured emcees (also featured with well-drawn comic iterations on the album art) do much to enhance the lyrical component here, especially Detroit mainstays Guilty Simpson and Frank Nitty - but also the NYC connection via DOOM, Chino XL, Roc Marciano, and so on.

Ohnomite is another solid addition to a growing, consistent discography. At this rate, we may be remembering another Michael Jackson for his impact on music history, albeit not on such a colossal scale.



Recent reviews by this author
Nacho Picasso and Avatar Darko VampsterdamGorguts Colored Sands
Run The Jewels Run The JewelsThe-Dream IV Play
James Blake OvergrownTyler The Creator Wolf
user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2012



30299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How many hype trains do you catch on the way to work?

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Tyrael
June 11th 2012



20415 Comments


How many hype trains do you catch on the way to work? [2]

Dammit Dev

but yea it seems like you're enjoying 2012 a lot eh Sobhi

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

PorkchopExpress
June 11th 2012



382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I love this. Dues n Don'ts and The Hitmen are probably my favorite tracks. I don't think there's a more underrated MC than Roc Marciano at the moment.

Digging: Pure X - Angel

kingsoby1
Emeritus
June 11th 2012



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He's solid, but never has good beats to work with typically. If you couldn't tell, I'm really not impressed at all with the NYC scene as of late... Alchemist is so overrated it's ridiculous.

Yeah 2012 is awesome so far. Still have another 2x 4's and 1x 4.5 reviews in the pipeline. Does not include my krit review... lol

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins®

taylormemer
June 11th 2012



4887 Comments


So basically what you're sayin is that there's at least one more avatar change to come. Swell.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
June 11th 2012



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

at very minimum

PorkchopExpress
June 11th 2012



382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I won't disagree on his beats. I love "Marcberg", but the beats on about half of the songs could be better (Ridin' Around is so ill though). I'm still big on the NYC scene (and I've always leaned that way anyway), and I really like Alchemist (and Gangrene, and Greneberg), but I can easily see how someone wouldn't.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
June 11th 2012



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a lot of the cats there are good at playing solid late 90s style, but haven't seen much of anything fresh out of anyone but el-p.

bloc
June 11th 2012



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Didn't like this at all

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

WashboardSuds
June 12th 2012



4888 Comments


that's twice this week you've reviewed something I really really want. how long can you keep the combo going?

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins®

Inveigh
June 12th 2012



24192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sounds awesome, will definitely be checking this out. glad to see all the Sobhi activity over the last few weeks too.

Digging: Symptom - Caverns Of Katabasis

kingsoby1
Emeritus
June 12th 2012



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

figured i'd start writing more instead of working all the time. i'm thinking of starting a blog actually (not music focused completely), so writing this kind of stuff more regularly is a good warmup. i'm already at more than half the reviews i've done in the past 2 years within the past 2 months only, ha

but yeah, oh no is ridiculous as always. really liked the newish direction he took with every soldier in the hood. that song is insane... wish there were more like it on that record

deathofasalesman
June 12th 2012



5747 Comments


Haven't heard Oh No but Stones Throw releases consistently good stuff so I'll cop this.

Digging: Bango Skank - Demo

DuMont
June 13th 2012



84 Comments


Which album should I start with for this guy? Very intrigued but overwhelmed by size of discography.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
June 13th 2012



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Exodus probably. His instrumentals are all solid but oxperiment is awesome

Inveigh
June 30th 2012



24192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is really really good but I have no idea how to rate it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy