Okkervil River
Down the River of Golden Dreams


4.5
superb

Review

by SnazSpaz USER (1 Reviews)
June 8th, 2012 | 22 replies | 1,103 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Every song seems to build up charm.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Emotion is a powerful thing. How songs even when they are not technically remarkable, can still remain to mean even more, even if they are only a few simple cords. Some whole albums are based off this principle, and when done right, the albums obvious flaws manage to become it's strengths.

At its core Down the River of Golden Dreams is essentially a folk album. From its lyrics, to its vocals, and its stripped down instrumentation, every song seems to build up charm. Through out every wavering vocal, and every new clever story from Will Sheiff, the album becomes more human and more relatable. Through the amazing one two punch, of The War Criminal Rises and Speaks, and The Velocity of Saul At The Time of His Conversion, everything seems to fit and flow perfectly. And this album continues this way for 11 songs, and when it does hit a road block, it is nothing to condemning, and almost seems to make it more human.

Another huge attraction to this album is the lyrics. Will Sheiff, is a true modern day word smith, and knows how to pull on your heart strings. If you listen to any of his albums it is easy to tell he originally went to college for a creative writing degree, and this album showcases his best work. With poetic lines like Main Island lovers, If you really want to love me/Then just do it, and the for-mentioned War Criminal, I’d restore their lives/and then give back my own. But Sheiffs true talent is not in one liners, but is his ability to tell a story, which is essentially want the album is a collection of stores. For an example take this of their song Yellow, which is about divorce, and the effect it has on kids.

"And I really do think that there's probably more good
Than anger or selfishness, sickness, or sadness
Would ever completely allow us to have in this life,
think I'm sure.

But that doesn't mean it's bad.
We were walking towards our dad,
While getting out of that school bus,
And he just said
"I love you,"
And he reached out to us."

In the end this album is very powerful yet very simple, it knows how to play off its strengths, and is a true indie folk masterpiece. The lyrics are perfect, and the music is simply amazing, and overall a compelling listen.


user ratings (111)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (5)
Deep and personable, it hits uncomfortable close to home and softly demands attention....


Comments:Add a Comment 
SnazSpaz
June 8th 2012



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First review, probably sucks

SnazSpaz
June 8th 2012



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sure is


StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
June 8th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

What Baseline means to say is that this album is fucking insane.

SnazSpaz
June 8th 2012



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh, then this is not the album for you


robin
Emeritus
June 8th 2012



4248 Comments


now he's rising and not denying

SnazSpaz
June 8th 2012



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am gonna go back and edit later, but the editor seems to be down, comments are appreciated

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
June 8th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

No one's been able to edit for a while. I think the admin is MIA, which is a shame.

GuanoBumbershoot
June 8th 2012



1447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this record. These guys were a great find.

robin
Emeritus
June 8th 2012



4248 Comments


the only band for me anymore

SnazSpaz
June 8th 2012



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ok, well, eventually I will go back and make it a lot better, but for right now I am pretty happy with it, for a first review.

SnazSpaz
June 8th 2012



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is probably in my top ten albums

GuanoBumbershoot
June 8th 2012



1447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it has top 10 potential for me aswell. Just need to let it settle in for the next year or two to see where it stands.

SnazSpaz
June 8th 2012



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, this might be a five for me someday.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
June 8th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This was pretty much an insta-5 for me. I don't think I've ever had an album that I've bumped up to a 5. Plenty the other way, though.

SnazSpaz
June 8th 2012



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

really, it was a pretty big grower for me

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
June 8th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I haven't really had to wait for an album to grow on me for a while, I think it's a thing that tends to go after a couple of years. I don't usually change my opinions on albums too much after first hearing them. It's a case of knowing how you react to gimmicks etc.

SnazSpaz
June 8th 2012



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ok, thats interesting

Graveyard
June 8th 2012



5699 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I don't usually change my opinions on albums too much after first hearing them. It's a case of knowing how you react to gimmicks etc."

this is terrible ideology


Digging: Total Control - Typical System

Blackbelt54
June 8th 2012



4269 Comments


pree good for first review have a pos

album rules

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
June 9th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"this is terrible ideology"

It's not an ideology, just something I've noticed. Though thanks for the input!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy