Hedley
Hedley


3.5
great

Review

by joemoose13 USER (3 Reviews)
January 26th, 2006 | 27 replies | 11,719 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


2 of 3 thought this review was well written

With the third place winner, Jacob Hoggard from Canadian Idol as their front man, Hedley exploded into the Rock scene. Coming from Abbotsford, British Colombia, the original band named themselves after a town that was for sale named Hedley. After Hoggard finished the Canadian Idol series third, he signed with Universal Records, which replaced the original members to make the following current band:

Tommy Mac, bass
Dave Rosin, guitar(s)
Jacob Hoggards, vocals
Chris Crippin, drums

Currently touring Canada again (yes they are Canadian by the way) after their huge tour with Simple Plan, Hedley likes to keep in touch with their fans. On their website, you will find a blog which is updated regularly and you can tell Jacob is a joker. With 3 singles currently released, the first being On My Own, this album is currently platinum.

The good stuff:
- The guitar work. Even thought itís just simple guitar chords through out the album, it sounds really good. And not just all the songs are distorted; there are two acoustic songs which are pretty good, one is one of their singles, Trip and the second Gunniní. The second is a song about a guy trying to get a girl. Sounds like your typical scenario but itís a good song. Also here and there, Dave will add in a little solo, which adds a nice touch to the songs

- The songs are easy to listen to and understand. The songs are pretty fun to sing along and they are great anthems for teens. They show the reality of relationship problems along with how girls will try to control you.

- Most of the lyrics. Jacob and the band pull of rhyming words that donít even rhyme and they are pretty deep and emotional.

- The band comes together really well. In a lot of the songs, you can really hear the great bass riffs and guitar effect. Put those two together with average drum beats (could of been better) and some vocals and voila. Jacobs sound fits in nicely with the guitar and the songs flow pretty smoothly through out the album.

The bad stuff:
- What the songs are about. I found most of the songs is about breaking up with his girlfriend and not letting her take control, On My Own, Villain, 321 and I Donít Believe It, just to name a few. Now unless the band has serious girl problem, even if they do, I find that this topic shouldnít of occupied most of the album.

- Jacobs vocals. I was really disapointed with the vocals. Donít get me wrong, they are all right but I expected them to shine because when I heard that the third place winner of Canadian Idol was coming out with an album in a rock in a band, I thought it would be something huge. To me, he sounds just like any other singer, I expected some big ranges in his voice but I didnít really find any. Also I tend to hear his voice squeak a little.

- This album is relatively short, only lasting for 40 minutes. When you listen to it, the time flyís by and before you know it, it's over.

Recommended tracks:
-On My Own
-Gunniní
-I Donít Believe It
-Johnny Falls

I expected a better album then what I got but I still enjoyed it. I hope they will release a better album with better vocals. Donít get me wrong, they are a good band and I see a pretty good future for them but I donít think Iíll buy their next album unless itís something amazing. I will recommend this cd for younger teens (especially girls), if you like stuff along the lines of Simple Plan, you will most likely enjoy this album. I would rate this higher but the disappointment of Jacobs vocals really brought this rating down.

Final Rating: 3.5/5


user ratings (61)
Chart.
2.4
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
joemoose13
January 26th 2006



9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Constructive comments is appreciated, this is only my second review...

pulseczar
January 26th 2006



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

pretty good review, I think you could definitely add more on about the band's sound.

jimay333
January 26th 2006



433 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

yeah good review, crappy band

Tyler
Emeritus
January 26th 2006



7926 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

He can't sing. The only reason he got as far as he did in Canadian Idol was because he had a lip ring and wore a blue jumpsuit on one episode.

joemoose13
January 26th 2006



9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, that could be it, lol. I dont watch C.I. so I couldnt really tell for sure...

Tyler
Emeritus
January 27th 2006



7926 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I'll admit I watch those programs, but whatever. I like critiquing their vocals, ha. He was particularly easy.This Message Edited On 01.26.06

Zebra
Moderator
January 27th 2006



2647 Comments


Decent review, but not my exactly my style. I don't usually go for reviews that tell me the good and the bad, more detail about the actual sound of the album would be nice.

Judging by the review and cover art I don't think this is something I would enjoy.

Two-Headed Boy
January 27th 2006



4527 Comments


I agree with Zebra. These are really un-interesting reviews. But your's is good for what it is, so i'll vote Yes, thank you!

SyphonAss
January 31st 2006



141 Comments


i new the drummer of this band before he hooked up with hedly....ya it's a
shame becausehe was in some good bands...but hey if you want mainstream
sucesses hook up with the fag from C.I.This Message Edited On 01.31.06

bizzyD
March 21st 2006



9 Comments


there an okey band but like i dont get why bands put themselves on the album cover it like makes me not wanna buy it like seriously we dont care what they look like but ya i think there are like 1 or 2 good songs Sugar Free has got to be the only good song in my opinion awesome guitar. hes so basic at playing guitar though but it sounds good ya

sk8ter_aj
March 29th 2006



3 Comments


not bad review, i thought the good and bad was well written, but this band is horrible. His vocals are horendous, and if you watch him in any of the videos or live, he pretends to be the lead singer of Billy Talent, and shakes and stuff, but it doesnt suit the music at all. The guitar is ok, below average, better than a simple plan maybe but maybe if they put some real thought into their songs (lyrics, instruments) i could see it working out.

mybrotherthecow
March 29th 2006



79 Comments


that was an awesome comment syphonass.
and i completely agree.

guitarded_chuck
April 14th 2006



2905 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I want to punch the lead singer in the face. He is the definition of annoying.

metallicaman8
April 18th 2006



4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I agree. That guys voice is so annoying. God these guys suck I just wanna kick the lead singer in his "Hedley".

Locative
April 27th 2006



5 Comments


I kinda got my head round his vocals...I think the guitar player should be commended..although in my version of 'what smiles can't afford' the guitar was SO out of tune. I listen to it 'cos the song is quiiite awesome, but..oww..
I like the lyrics too, but I agree that they get old fast. Hopefully after this album they'll take a break and think it all through properly..

metallicaman8
April 28th 2006



4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

The lead singers lip ring kind of makes him look like he's got down-syndrome

tom79
May 1st 2006



3367 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This band makes me cringe

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

Infrared91
June 28th 2006



19 Comments


Anotehr pop-punk album in the mainstream what can you expect when people of my age think that this is real music and they go out and buy it.

Ross22
June 29th 2006



1596 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

can someone tell me waht the hell the lead singers doing when hes singing. hes like flailing his arms around it makes me wanna hurt him. the bands s*** and really annoying. ok review though

Xximxnottheone
August 15th 2006



24 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

decent review. horrible band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy