Van der Graaf Generator
Godbluff


5.0
classic

Review

by AllGabrielsAreGlass USER (4 Reviews)
June 6th, 2012 | 137 replies | 7,685 views


Release Date: 1975 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Three reasons why Van Der Graaf Generator never quite managed to make the same impact on the general public of the 70’s as Genesis, Pink Floyd and Yes did

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Reason 1:Van Der Graaf Generator are a band that defines the darker side of progressive rock. Each of the four tracks on the album tells their own tale of tortured minds, ancient battles and dark fantasies. The lyrical work from Peter Hammil is one of the core aspects of the music and embodies each track with a feeling of individuality. Each of the lyrics in turn hold their own literary merit and are reminiscent of looking into the mind of a madman.

Reason 2: The music here is just as dark as it’s subject matter. Herein lies one of the albums biggest strengths: How the music supports Peter Hammil’s vision. If for instance he is singing about a dark twisted world on the edge of our conscious as he does on “The Sleep Walkers”, the music will transport you there. Other examples that can be found are the ending of scorched earth with its wailing and screaming keyboards, as though to signify the death of a warrior in battle, and the melancholic atmospherics of “The Undercover Man” which take you back to the pain of growing up and accepting adulthood.

Reason 3: Godbluff differs from a traditional progressive rock album, in that it is not a concept album and there is little to no use of electric guitar. The band instead opts to make the Saxophone and Keyboards as their main instruments of choice and this manages to succeed in ways that the electric guitar would simply not be able to. In “Arrow” a wailing saxophone plays over an eerie drumbeat and sounds desperate, almost tortured. Because the lyrics involve both of these emotions by the bucket load, it succeeds in supporting the music by magnifying the emotions conveyed.

If there is a track that sums up the album as a whole in one package, so to speak, it would definetly be “The Sleepwalkers” Here everything the band has been trying to achieve works. From the emotion and atmosphere and the lyrics that speak of a dark twisted fantasy world. The same ingredients are used on all the other tracks and the result is a progressive rock classic and the definition of more Avant Garde progressive music done right.


user ratings (180)
Chart.
4.4
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
AllGabrielsAreGlass
June 6th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album needed reviewing superbadly. To those waiting for it sorry this took so long, the review was a bitch to write.

Killerhit
June 6th 2012



5249 Comments


Fucking awesome album, was planning to review it later.

good job.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
June 6th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
June 6th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And yeah this rules hard.

Killerhit
June 6th 2012



5249 Comments


Just as a side note, the whole 'Reason' list is a bit pointless. You review flows rather nicely, but it should make it look like you've been writing down what you've listened to and learned, not what you've observed.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
June 6th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks. I was hoping to go for a different format than the last 3 reviews I've done cause I notice that I can get a bit repetitive. But if this forrmat here doesnt work I'll bear that in mind for the future.

MO
June 6th 2012



18522 Comments


rules

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 6th 2012



20451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yes, glad you got round to reviewing this. Good job, pos'd.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
June 6th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks Jamie, it's guy's like you that make reviewing on here worth it. Again my apoligies it took so long, I found it really, really difficult to review. I was trying to find my spark.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 6th 2012



20451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No need to apologise, I know what you mean. I'm planning on reviewing a lot more over the next few months as I should have a bit more time and there's quite a few albums I've been wanting to write reviews for, one of which I did a few days ago.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
June 6th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You gonna review that Cressida band?

Jethro42
June 6th 2012



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album rules. I was supposed to eventually cover that album with my ProgJect account and finally did Still Life instead. Excellent review for a superb album.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 6th 2012



20451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Gabriels: Yeah that's probably the next review I'm gonna do.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
June 6th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Cool good luck with it. Thanks Jethro!

Jethro42
June 6th 2012



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Side one P/ hard

Nagrarok
June 6th 2012



8197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love this and Pawn Hearts.

Jethro42
June 6th 2012



12402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey, here's Nag, my ProgJect' colleague!
^Yeah, since it contains Man Erg.
And there's also Still Life, mate.

KILL
June 6th 2012



71482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rule

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Nagrarok
June 6th 2012



8197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And there's also Still Life, mate.


Of course, this and PH are my favourites though.

AllGabrielsAreGlass
June 6th 2012



431 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pawn Hearts has A Plague Of Lighthouse Keepers already making it a candidate for some of the best prog ever...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy