Brand New
The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me


3.0
good

Review

by yidnarc USER (18 Reviews)
June 4th, 2012 | 51 replies | 3,762 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is a great album if you remove the pop punk element

1 of 16 thought this review was well written

If there's one thing I've never understood, it's pop punk. I mean I get it's purpose; it was made in the 90s for kids to dance to, basically. But why the need for a comeback? I can appreciate Brand New's love for the music even if I don't especially appreciate it, but why Jesse Lacey needed to inject his interesting dark punk with it I'll never figure out the answer. The songs here for the most part are great if you strip away all the awful pop punk, they're certainly passable. Like Millstone has the darkest bassline of all time that would give even Flea a run for his money. But the whole album has a poppy background that I can't ignore, it's like when a fly flies right into your ear and you have to spend twenty minutes trying to get it out.

Now to be fair all the instruments are played well and Lacey is quite the talented singer vocally. But his screaming and lyrics annoy me to no end; he's not even a screamer so why pretend like he is? Its the same reason Keith Urban gets on my nerves, you're from Australia, not rural Tennessee! And Lacey, you're a crooner not a screamer, so act like it. Lyrically he's not much better. What is Luca supposed to mean anyway? I get that he's a guy from the Godfather, but what is "drink up the entire ocean" even supposed to mean? He just picked words that sounded cool; pretty lazy if you ask me, Lacey.

There are a couple highlights though: the choir, effect in You Won't Know's verse is very well-done, so props on that one. It adds a much needed coolness to the dark pop punky sound of the rest of the album. Jesus Christ has some pretty great lyrics but is ruined by an annoying guitar line that repeats and runs through the entire song, and for Sowing Season, the opposite is true: the music is great, but the lyrics are confusing as all hell. I don't know what's even going on in the verses, the lyrics are a mess. Overall, it's a pretty decent album, but nothing I'd go out of my way to listen to, and only listen to it if you can look past annoying pop punk droning and bad screaming from time to time.



Recent reviews by this author
Defeater TravelsGlassjaw Worship and Tribute
Glassjaw Everything You Ever Wanted To Know...Letlive. Fake History
Weezer Death to False MetalWeezer Hurley
user ratings (4405)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
yidnarc
June 4th 2012



147 Comments


i did my hardest

recommends are welcome

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
June 4th 2012



1785 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review of the year

Hep Kat
June 4th 2012



15345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

damb nigga

Digging: Botany Boyz - Forever Botany

taxidermist
June 4th 2012



7202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

gay review

sixdegrees
June 4th 2012



16917 Comments


okay, what is pop punk about this?

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

FearThyEvil
June 4th 2012



12480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This screams alt rock.

TooLateToGoBack
June 4th 2012



1762 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what the fuck.

Digging: Pianos Become the Teeth - Keep You

zxlkho
June 4th 2012



3461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Shit review, Incredible album.

Tyrael
June 4th 2012



20824 Comments


okay, what is pop punk about this? [∞]

ILJ
June 4th 2012



6662 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"it's like when a fly flies right into your ear and you have to spend twenty minutes trying to get it out."

wut

ILJ
June 4th 2012



6662 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"but what is "drink up the entire ocean" even supposed to mean?"

It's called a metaphor.

"Jesus Christ has some pretty great lyrics but is ruined by an annoying guitar line that repeats and runs through the entire song"

That fucking riff is gorgeous.


Terrible review. Go take a lap.

Gwynbleiddsfang
June 4th 2012



363 Comments


""recommends are welcome" review something that half the user base hasn't already covered to death.
"

Or learn how to review.

ConcubinaryCode
June 4th 2012



2064 Comments


pretty sure this is Crandynewman. or at least someone trying really hard to be him.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 4th 2012



50088 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

my god these 5's

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

H61
June 4th 2012



270 Comments


but youre above all that by giving it a 4

ChaseCha
June 4th 2012



138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You're being very very silly.

wacknizzle
June 4th 2012



12968 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Deja Entendu is a great album if you remove all the pop-punk, are you sure this was meant to be a Devil & God review?

Digging: Amenra - Mass V

ThroneOfAgony
June 4th 2012



3485 Comments


good review


agree completely

wacknizzle
June 4th 2012



12968 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I walked out on Brand New when they played with Thrice a couple years ago, my quote as Sowing Season started, "Oh god, it's about to get real gay and emo up in here" and even then I would think this review is absolute shit.

Spec
June 4th 2012



27136 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

taxi how the fuck did you post such a colourful comment?

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy